We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #6 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It was a pleasure staying at the Altstadt... delicious buffet breakfast, wonderful rooms with great decor, really large luxurious shower and afternoon cake and tea was a nice touch too! Really glad that we made the choice to stay here... would definitely recommend for a romantic getaway, and would definitely come back :)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NatashaLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear NatashaLa!

We thank you very much for having chosen the Altstadt Vienna as your residence during your recent visit to Vienna.

Great to hear, that you have enjoyed the rooms, the breakfast and the complimentary afternoon tea. Thats how it should be!

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review and yes, you definitely have to come back!

Greetings to London
Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 2,590 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Excellent choice! You feel welcome, even before you arrive. Communication regarding details was fast and very friendly. The hotel is an old townhouse (it would seem as if there still were 'normal' apartments), redecorated in an original and colourful style. Our family was distributed in three, very differently decorated and spacious rooms, a rarity in the hotel world. Excellent breakfast with fresh bread, fresh fruit (including freshly made fruit salad), a variety of delicious preserves and free tea and cake in front of a warming fire on a cold January day makes you feel cared for in a special way. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel part of the 'Altstadt' family from the moment you step in. Thanks for the 'Bettmümpferl', I hadn't seen it in years.
I most warmly recommend it, if you wish to make your Vienna trip extra special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23Sylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear 23Sylvie!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our house with the travel community.

I have already shared your wonderful comments with my team and we are most appreciative of your recognition.

Thank you for your support and especially for making our day!

Greetings to Odense
Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is a real one-off. Quite different from most other hotels!

I was tempted to book after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor, so took the plunge and booked for a 2-night business trip in January

This is one of the friendliest, most interesting hotels you could choose to visit. The rooms are excellent, very clean and comfortable and with some interesting and quirky art.

The staff are very friendly. Without fail, the service was impeccable but very genuine.

My favourite feature of all was the salon. Great for breakfast, fab for free tea and cake in the afternoon and a most relaxing place to sit and unwind with a glass of wine at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeamishG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear BeamishG!

On behalf of the entire Altstadt Team I would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us and the travel community.

We are thrilled to hear that you found the Altstadt Vienna to be one of the friendliest and most interesting hotels to visit. And your wonderful comments about the staff couldn't have been more motivating!

Thank you very much for your visit and for your support.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you some other time in the near future again - until then wishing you all the best!

Greetings to Warrington
Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Great hotel with high-ceilinged, well-furnished rooms and a great buffet breakfast. It's located in what was once a working-class inner city district that has now been gentrified.

It's less than ten minutes' walk to the ring and the staff are very welcoming. There's also a good array of small bars and reasonably priced restaurants in the area, so, all in all, a winning combination of quality and location!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisSBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel must have the nicest staff ever, by far its strongest point. The room itself was nice and large, and the price is very reasonable. Note however, that this is a different type of hotel, it's a "historic" hotel, so it has a different vibe and feel in comparison to most hotels.

Breakfast was nice and while they were working on the main breakfast hall, they offered free minibar for our stay, which is a nice touch. When we told the staff we had been robbed in Vienna, they offered a few well thought gifts to try and lift our spirits, I must say they made us feel a bit better about it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felipe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Felipe R!

Thank you very much for having chosen the Altstadt Vienna as your residence during your recent visit to Vienna and for taking the time to post a review.

You already had us with your first sentence "this hotel must have the nicest staff ever, by far its strongest point"! Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for putting a big smile on every working face here!

Glad to hear, we were able to lift your spirits after the very unfortunate incident and we hope, you were able to sort things out again ...

Thank you and wishing you all the best
Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We must admit that when the taxi stopped at the Altstadt we thought we were in the wrong part of town. Our concern very quickly evaporated and here are six reasons you should consider the Altstadt.
1) Wonderful ambiance created by the artwork and creative renovation.
2) Convenient location, an easy walk to restaurants and transport.
3) Our room was quiet, creatively designed, very comfortable and large by most standards.
4) The afternoon tea provided in the sitting room was of fantastic quality and a very nice touch.
5) The service from the Altstadt team was very professional, helpful and friendly.
6) The Altstadt is a little different and a refreshing change from corporate hotels.
Brod & Helen Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brod I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Brod & Helen!

On behalf of the entire Altstadt Team a big THANK YOU for your wonderful and most motivating comments. We love your six reasons!

Thank you very much for your visit and your support.

Greetings to Sydney
Alexandra & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Could not fault this hotel! Stayed for four nights at the beginning of December for the Christmas markets as a surprise for my mum's 50th birthday and could not have chosen a better place to stay.

It was just out of the main buzz of the city traffic to sleep peacefully but not too far away as walking to most of the markets was easy. There are a number of places to eat nearby- we took a 10 minute walk to 'Fromme Helene' which served absolutely delicious goulash as well as the best Apfelstrudel I had on the whole trip.
The hotel is also located very close to the U-bahn and the receptionists were extremely helpful in telling us how to use the train to Schonbrunn palace. Not only that but they were very patient in showing us how to get around the city as well as providing maps and ringing taxi's too.

The hotel itself was charming and beautifully decorated- the perfect balance between modern chic and old worldly charm. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfy
The bathroom was cleaned very well and the complimentary shampoo and body wash were very handy for the first night as we had misplaced ours!!

The service from all of the staff from the moment we arrived was brilliant- you are all very friendly and clearly all enjoy your jobs which makes the atmosphere in the hotel even better.

The breakfasts were definitely one of the most memorable things about our stay!!! The amount of choice and variety was outstanding, for sure the best breakfast I've ever had- you could not want for more of anything (pastries, different breads, cereals, dried fruit, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses) oh, and if you think that's everything... you are then asked how you would like your egg!!
Literally could keep you going until dinner time and even then you wouldn't need it as the complimentary cake and tea was a delightful touch to the perfect stay. The saloon bar/ chilling area was very peaceful in the evening to unwind by the fire (definitely needed after a long chilly day walking around the markets!)

Thank you so much Hotel Altstadt for making my mum's 50th birthday such a memorable one :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anoushka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,598 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,958 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage Design & Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,433 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#7 of 359 in Vienna
1,020 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Romantik Hotel Altstadt Vienna)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £137 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district and next to Vienna's Museumsquarter, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, design aficionados and cultural insiders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing