We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Civilised hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #8 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Civilised hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Spent 3 nights here 28th April. It feels like a small hotel and has individual caring service and individually decorated rooms.
The free afternoon tea and cake is a welcome rest from sight seeing. Bar prices are very reasonable. Good location close to Vienna,s excellent underground system and easily walkable to major sights.
A great location for a tremendous weekend

Room Tip: Some rooms were smoking rooms, make sure you book non smoking if this is what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    338
    57
    16
    3
See reviews for
304
1,020
111
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

What was undoubtedly one of the best things about this gorgeous hotel, aside from the groovy décor, deliciously abundant breakfasts and complimentary afternoon tea was the very kind and friendly attitude of all the staff. It felt like staying in a cool friend’s house, where nothing was too much trouble and staff were natural and genuine. None of that hideously forced hospitality-speak that so many other establishments deal out to their customers while so obviously not giving a damn about them. Simple things like offering guests at check-in a much needed glass of water before getting down to business. Why, oh why, do so many other places fail to see that it is this sort of personal touch that will give us warm fuzzy feelings towards the Alstadt for many years to come.

It's also in a great location close, but not too close, to the Museum Quarter. And the beautifully crafted restaurant and café recommendations couldn't have suited us better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkyeWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loule, Portugal
Level Contributor
310 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We went here in Feb and found it to be just perfect
Each room is different and very pleasant
The staff were very friendly And helpful
They gave us a list of places to visit and eat

great breakfast with champagne

Room Tip: Make sure you ask the staff for places to visit or eat in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I loved:
The pillows and bed in general! Fabulous compared to the hotel I stayed in the previous night in Budapest and compared to the one I stayed last night still in Viena (there were no more rooms available at the alstadt for this weekend)
All bathroom goodies were from l'occitane...gotta love the smells, textures, quality...
Staff very warm and welcoming! Service was great!
Free wifi and very good quality/ variety breakfast (just made eggs)
Overall clean and well taken care of
Modern rooms (tastefully decorated) on an older looking building...loved the contrast
Good location

Didn't like:
Other colleagues complained that the M... Corridor looked like a horror movie with dark red walls...refused to go back to the room alone....i stayed on the 2nd floor so was very happy with my room! :)
Otherwise can't think of anything else...

Will come back when in viena and will recommend it! ;)

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Elena G!

We thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback concerning your experience in our house.

Your wonderful comments about our quality, such as pillows, bed, bathroom amenities, free Wifi, breakfast and the warm and welcoming staff as well as overall impression are very much appreciated. Thank you very much for your recognition.

Most certainly we also acknowledge the comment in regards to the corridor designed by Matteo Thun. On this floor we actually did have already a lot of film- and fotoshootings, fashion shows and with the rebuilt of the corridor and rooms we have been awarded with the Austrian Architectural Design Award. We would have been very happy to arrange for a room on a different corridor had we been aware of the personal perception of your collegue.

Thank you again for your support and for recommending the Altstadt, it would be a pleasure to welcoming you some other time in the near future again.

Alexandra & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I don't think I could recommend this hotel highly enough. The reception staff were extremely friendly and offered me a tour of the hotel when I got there. They also gave me loads of info and maps and so on, including a small map indicating useful local services e.g. atm, shops, and their recommended restaurants. The interior of the building is lovely. I booked a small single room but it was very nicely decorated and there were plenty of l'occitane products in the bathroom. When I got back to the room on the evening of my first day, there was a hand written note (and bar of chocolate) to say that a bigger room had just opened up if I wanted to swap to it, and that they hoped I was enjoying my stay. When I checked out, they gave me a bar of Manner "for the trip home". Couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The hotel is also a very short walk from the Museum Quarter and there were loads of nice restaurants around. There were no noise issues from my room. Good breakfast selection, free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAposter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

the staff are simply amazing,nothing was too much trouble,excellent food and bar service. The rooms were beautiful, so well equipped with good quality toiletries etc. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get out of it! The hotel is a really individual owner run luxury hotel . Would recommend it to everyone.. Amazing artwork and furniture.

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms are beautiful, but dont choose if you dont want an open plan wet room! However ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had a wonderful romantic weekend in Wien and staying at Altsatd was my best choice ever!
Highly recommended!! Very nice staff, nice big rooms and it feels like home. In our room we could listen only ourselves, silent as heaven.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Property: Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, musicians, and non-group travellers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing