We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel / Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Ranked #8 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel / Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

What can I possibly say about Hotel Altstadt that hasn't already been said.
From the moment we arrived from Australia to the moment we left the staff were amazing with their service.
We were greeted by Martina who helped us wheel our bags across the street and she even moved our hire car, found us a parking space and even reprogrammed our GPS...... is there anything she can't do???
The room was a surprise.... It was huge.
Great room for a family.
Our beds were turned down every night with surprise chocolates and they even gave our son a little teddy bear.
Surprise chocolates greeted my wife on her birthday and a little cake was organised for that night.
The breakfast staff were very helpful and attentive to our needs.
Complimentary afternoon tea and cake after a busy day sightseeing is a great way too end the day.
We wish we could have stayed longer just for the hospitality. ......
The only downside would be that if you stayed in the middle of summer the rooms do get very hot as there seems to be a lack of cooling.
Having a cold shower and a cool drink fixes that problem. :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadowvalley9, Front Office Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Jason M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write
about your experience at the Altstadt –
and even more so, we are enchanted to hear that you had a great stay
with your family to celebrate a special occasion in this lovely city.

It’s the greates feedback you can give back to our staff
that they surprised you several times with the work they accomplished.

And by the way, there is hardly anything that Martina can’t do ;)

Regarding the air-condition it is true that we had a technical issue in the first days of August and we are more than grateful that you took this downside (that took us several days to fix) with some good humour. Thank you!

We hope to be welcoming you soon again!

Kind regards,
From your personal residence in Vienna,
Lisa & the Altstadt-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    338
    57
    16
    3
See reviews for
304
1,020
111
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great hotel: lovely big rooms, nicely decorated with comfortable beds. A good breakfast and great complimentary tea that we all really enjoyed, especially the chocolates. Nicely located although a bit of a walk to the center but had some great restaurants in the area. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadowvalley9, Front Office Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear FamilyP101,

thank you very much for your great words and feedback!

Now you told everyone about the chocolates... ;)

We hope to be welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,
from your personal residence in Vienna,
Lisa & the Altstadt-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisarnya, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I recently stayed for 3 nights at The Altstadt Vienna. Great room, really spacious and good amenities. Nice and cold room, the aircon was great so was the breakfast. Stuff is excellent. If I had a chance to go back I would go. Thank u for the nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadowvalley9, Front Office Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Sammy S,

thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and the
other (future) travellers!

These reviews keep us going with a smile!

We hope to be welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,
from your personal residence in Vienna,
Lisa & the Altstadt-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I've been 4-5 times and I like the hotel. From junior suite on, rooms are very nice and big.
Breakfast could be improved, but nevertheless is good enough.
Not really in downtown and this could be a killer if you need an hotel, as I do, that does not require taxi, you have to walk around 15-20 min to get to Main Street.

Suggested.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadowvalley9, Front Office Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Alberto C,

thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts about the Altstadt with us and fellow travellers.

We will take in your comments that we can still improve our breakfast - we are always collecting ideas, so if you would like to share specific propositions of what you missed, please, let us know!

We hope to be welcoming you soon again!

Kind regards
from your personal residence in Vienna,
Lisa & the Altstadt-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed just one night in vienna but couldnt be more pleased with my time in this hotel. The reception was kind and eager to help, and all the receptionists spoke nearly flawless english. The breakfast was gourmet, with lots of delightful options. The service was quick and energetic, and the hotel was arranged in a very intelligent design. Even the breakfast was broken into rooms based on language, allowing servers fluent in that language to optimize the experience for the guests. Stay here!

Helpful?
Thank Sammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sammy W!

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community! We found it quite interesting to hear that you thought the various breakfast Salons are divided language based, this however is not the case as you may sit wherever you like ...
Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope next time you will have the opportunity to stay longer!

Thank you.
Alexandra & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The term boutique hotel has become so overused as to become redundant - but not in this case. The Hotel Altstadt, located a short walk from many of the main attractions in the city centre, is a successful fusion of aesthetic considerations with the best in home comforts. The rooms are like suites and the suites are as palatial as a befits a building steeped in so much history – at one stage after WWII for example, this former schloss (palace) was a halfway house for refugees and émigrés from all over Central Europe. You’d hardly guess so today, with its snazzy Philippe Starck and Wittman furniture and fittings, and artworks (including a genuine Warhol) on the walls. My only regret was that on the last night of our stay, our bed was so comfortable we slept through my alarm and missed out on their delicious breakfast. I certainly missed my Prosecco and mango juice, a veritable breakfast of champions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottAYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altstadtvienna, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ScottAYou!

Thank you very much for having chosen the Altstadt Vienna as your residence during your recent visit to Vienna. We thank you very much for your wonderful comments and sharing your experience. And please be assured that next time we won't let you leave without having breakfast!

Greetings to Budapest
Alexandra & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The place is a few minutes walk from the inner ring, in a funky neighborhood with a number of restaurants and bars within a stone's throw. It's an ornate building with a lot of classical touches -- high ceilings, chandeliers, winding hallways. The rooms are all very different
and pretty quirky. I'm familiar with open kitchens, but I was surprised (but not disturbed) to see that my room had an "open bathroom" (although you could privatize it a bit
with a screen). Still, it was a beautiful room, with lots of space and great light. Best of all in the heart of the Austrian summer, this 19th century hotel room had a crucial modern feature: air conditioning. The hotel faces a small side street and is extremely quiet. Throw in a solid breakfast (with seating spread out over several bright parlors and tea rooms near the reception) and great service, and you get a very unique and pleasant stay.

My only ultra-minor gripe is about the wifi. It's free, and it always works, but it does time out often, and forces one to repeatedly log back in. Still, don't let this stop you from booking this place, even if you're in town for business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mondrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadowvalley9, Front Office Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mondrian,

thank you very much for your feedback and
for sharing your experience with other travellers!

We will take in your comments to further improve our
services such as the wifi-login-function.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Kind regards,
from your personal residence in Vienna,
Lisa & the Altstadt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altstadt Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altstadt Vienna

Property: Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Address: Kirchengasse 41, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vienna
#2 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altstadt Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the city’s 7th district, behind the splendid façade of an old patrician house, one finds the Hotel Altstadt Vienna. Since its opening in 1991 the stylish 4-star hotel has been a favourite hideaway for art-lovers, musicians, and non-group travellers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Altstadt Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Vienna Hotel Vienna
Altstadt Hotel Vienna
Vienna Altstadt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing