We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Pension Hargita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Hargita
Ranked #285 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The best part of about this pension was the location - 10 minute walk from the train station, metro stop right outside the hotel. The room was hot but very clean. Breakfast was good, but only because we got it for free due to the construction being done right outside our window.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missingsomepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in a very small but clean room with its own bathroom. Mattress was lumpy and hard so our sleep wasn't the best. This wasn't helped by the street noise. The staff were polite but not over friendly and the office was only open at certain times. No payments by credit card, cash only which was a bit inconvenient.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veedee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Pension for a pleasure trip to Vienna. AMAZING place. The pension is ran by the cutest lady! Very attentive, and personally cleans the place herself! We checked in mid day after arriving on train from Salzburg. The pension is about a 10 minute walk from the train station. We did the walk with luggage and a map with no problem. The hotel is off the main strip, full of shopping, resturants, grocery stores, ect. Absolutely perfect location! No taxi cab was needed. If you live in a major city (we are from Chicago) getting around is super easy! We booked a room in the main area. double room with shower no toilet and were just fine. The bathroom is down the hallway and is always empty. There are also several other bathrooms with showers on the floor to help speed up getting ready while one person is showering in the room. Beware...there is no lift and about a 30 stair spiral staircase...it's extreme with luggage but in the end is fine...if you do not stay on the main floor/lobby, you have to climb more stairs to reach your suite, so request a mainfloor room. Very quiet and comfortable...felt more like your grandma's home then a hotel/pension! No room service or all that fancy "hotel" type stuff, just safe sleeping accomadations perfect all by itself!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCRN98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stay in lots of b&b/pensions and our room here was very small by any standard. No elevator so be sure you're in shape if you get rooms on 3rd floor as we did. The best part is the proximity to the metro stop - essentially outside your door. It was hot and windows open to a very busy main street - good for finding food, shops, not so much for sleeping. Owners weren't very friendly - odd for a b& b. Breakfast was fine. Don't count on their free internet - slowest connection I've seen in years.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank restandrelax84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Found the pension in Rick Steves' Austria/Tyrol guide book, and made reservations via email (written in my rusty German with the aid of the Google Translator). Emails returned promptly, in English, and were very clear in terms of rooms available, amenities, breakfast policy, and that payment was required in advance, in cash. Upon arrival at the Westbahnhof, took the U-bahn to the Zieglergasse haltestelle, and it was a quick block and "um die Ecke" to the pension. The appearance on the outside is a bit intimidating, as is the entry foyer (obviously an old building) but our knock was promptly answered (BE SURE to warn them if you are going to be late!) and our room was large, airy, overlooking the busy Mariahilferstrasse shopping district. <HINT: Those bothered by street noise, caution. We were there in September and could close the windows at night, but in the summer that might be a problem. The pension is in the middle of a busy city, where the "real" Viennese live, and so there is traffic and street noise. My wife was more bothered than I was, and if the windows are shut there was no issue at all, but summer travellers should consider this before making reservations.> We took the room with the in-suite shower, toilet down the hall which worked very well for us. Two twin beds, a couple of desks/chairs, sink, towels, and the shower with armoire in a room with 15 ft ceilings. Ceiling fan in the room, but it didn't work when we were there. Breakfast was extra (and a little expensive, frankly) so we elected to eat "on the street". There is a Hofer supermarket, and a McCafe right across the street (cheapest coffee you'll find in Vienna and it's actually ok, not the usual stuff Micky-D's serves). Staff pleasant, but distant and consummately professional. Room was spotless, shower squeaked it was so clean. Was able to pay in cash because Mr. Steves warned us that in order to get the best rate in these smaller establishments, expect to pay in cash - plus it was in their email. Location is very good - you are about 10 mins U-Bahn ride to Museumsquartier U-bahn stop (right on the ring near the Kunsthistorisches Museum) so the location is ideal. Mariahilferstrasse is a good budget option for shopping - my wife and I spent a very enjoyable afternoon strolling the street, looking at where "real Viennese" do their shopping. No tourist prices, here! While not a 5-star, world class place, as a clean budget option for sleeping in Vienna we were well pleased. The very popular "Schnitzelwirt" restaurant (fantastic, HUGE schnitzels at very reasonable prices) was about a 20 min walk from the Pension (down Mariahilferstrasse towards city centre, to Neubaugasse and left, onwards several blocks until the small sign on the right). Highly recommend this restaurant - good, simple Austrian food served with a smile, with all the locals smiling quietly at my halting German.

Room Tip: Let them know if you're checking in late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We are 3 Vietnamese tourist who were referred to Hargita by another pensione in Vienna. We just walked in late evening on 6th October 2010 and had a short but warm welcome by the receptionist/owner. The room was clean with streetview, but it was quite quiet for a good night's sleep. We especialy enjoyed the convenient location of Hargita (close to underground, shopping, main attractions..) and the price is just right too.

We will recommend Hargita to our friends who travel to Vienna.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaDT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My family of 5 stayed here for 2 nights (intending to stay 4). The rooms smelled strongly of cleaner that gave my wife a headache almost instantly. The coffee made both my wife and oldest daughter sick.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank H2ODawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
#220 of 359 in Vienna
102 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Furstenhof
Hotel Furstenhof
#202 of 359 in Vienna
232 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Odeon
Hotel Odeon
#271 of 359 in Vienna
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kolbeck
#234 of 359 in Vienna
223 reviews
Neubau
Haydn Hotel Vienna
Haydn Hotel Vienna
#279 of 359 in Vienna
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hargita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hargita

Address: Andreasgasse 1, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £34 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Hargita 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pension Hargita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hargita Hotel Vienna
Hargita Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing