We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay in center of Vienna”
Review of Pension Hargita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Hargita
Ranked #252 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay in center of Vienna”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights an we were really satisfied. The rooms, although tiny, were very clean and comfortable; good and generous breakfast.
We enjoyed the most the location (5 meters from Mariahilfe, 30 seconds from the metro station) and the staff (friendly and helpful, thank you Magda!)
It is indeed a good place to stay in Vienna, in the center, close to the Museums Quartier and other points of interest and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cami_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    44
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
43
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed here last weekend in a single private room (so I had my own bathroom). The room is typically European = tiny, but it was clean and comfortable. The location is fantastic: right in front of the metro stop Zieglergasse, with loads of shops and cafes. However, all the cafes close around 6pm and you have to hunt for restaurants that are still open. They don't have free wi-fi, but there is a public computer with Internet in the registration room. I didn't find free wi-fi anywhere in Vienna, though I refrained from going to Starbucks. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If your room is facing the main street, there could be some noise from the traffic below. As long as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apu_gal98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We found this budget option at 68 Euro a night a good one for Vienna. The rooms are dorm-style and ours had twin beds. A subway stop is very nearby so you can be in the Stephansplatz area in minutes. The hotel is within walking distance of the major museums. We also found a convenient laundromat very near-by. We paid extra for breakfast one morning but with so many other options in the neighborhood, we wouldn't recommend paying additional for breakfast. They only replace towels and sheets if your stay is more than 3 days.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I've stayed at the Pension Hargita several times and this is my first review. When I first stayed there several years ago I wanted a place that had a great location, is safe, clean works on a budget.

Firstly the Location is amazing. Literally on top of the U-bahn ( 4 stops to Stephansplatz - the centre of the city), or a 15-20min walk. Also in the other direction a 5-10 min walk to westbahnhof, where the trams leave for the Schonbrunn Palace. The Pension is located along Mariahilferstrasse, the 'Oxford Street' of Vienna which makes walking into town a great opportunity to go shopping. If you are planning to have a lazy day then the noise from the road could be an issue but we were usually up early anyway to go sightseeing so this was never an issue. As far as things to do locally there is the Sieben Stern Brewery located about 10mins walk away, an amazing Italian ice cream shop just below the pension, and if all else fails an English Cinema just across the street. There are several supermarkets close by - a Hoffer (Aldi) across the street, Zielpunkt around the corner and the more upmarket Billa a short walk towards the station or town. Also on Sundays, which is well known for all shops to be closed there is a supermarket open at westbahnhoff.

In all honestly the rooms are pretty basically kitted out, but for 50 - 60 Euro a night I wasn't expecting much in a city as expensive as Vienna. There is free internet however, which is a little slow but ok for browsing and if you sit in the main reception area you can make a skype call with no problems.

One thing is to pay cash, apparently they do accept cards but I've never tried. As I was on a budget I preferred it this way as I knew that everything was paid for.

As for the breakfast - some advice. Just get some food at the supermarket or the bakery 'Der Mann' located about 1min walk towards town There you can get a good breakfast sandwich for 2-3Euro.

All in all I am continuing to stay here as it works perfectly for me and my partner.

Room Tip: Room 6 - On the corner of the main floor so you get two sets of windows, really light. Its the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gr8GuyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The best part of about this pension was the location - 10 minute walk from the train station, metro stop right outside the hotel. The room was hot but very clean. Breakfast was good, but only because we got it for free due to the construction being done right outside our window.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missingsomepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in a very small but clean room with its own bathroom. Mattress was lumpy and hard so our sleep wasn't the best. This wasn't helped by the street noise. The staff were polite but not over friendly and the office was only open at certain times. No payments by credit card, cash only which was a bit inconvenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veedee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Pension for a pleasure trip to Vienna. AMAZING place. The pension is ran by the cutest lady! Very attentive, and personally cleans the place herself! We checked in mid day after arriving on train from Salzburg. The pension is about a 10 minute walk from the train station. We did the walk with luggage and a map with no problem. The hotel is off the main strip, full of shopping, resturants, grocery stores, ect. Absolutely perfect location! No taxi cab was needed. If you live in a major city (we are from Chicago) getting around is super easy! We booked a room in the main area. double room with shower no toilet and were just fine. The bathroom is down the hallway and is always empty. There are also several other bathrooms with showers on the floor to help speed up getting ready while one person is showering in the room. Beware...there is no lift and about a 30 stair spiral staircase...it's extreme with luggage but in the end is fine...if you do not stay on the main floor/lobby, you have to climb more stairs to reach your suite, so request a mainfloor room. Very quiet and comfortable...felt more like your grandma's home then a hotel/pension! No room service or all that fancy "hotel" type stuff, just safe sleeping accomadations perfect all by itself!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCRN98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Furstenhof
Hotel Furstenhof
#195 of 361 in Vienna
224 reviews
Wieden
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 4
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 4
#211 of 361 in Vienna
234 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Porzellaneum
Hotel Porzellaneum
#264 of 361 in Vienna
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
#213 of 361 in Vienna
97 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
#162 of 361 in Vienna
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hargita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hargita

Property: Pension Hargita
Address: Andreasgasse 1, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Hargita 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Hargita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hargita Hotel Vienna
Hargita Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing