We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, the staff make it even more special ...”
Review of Das Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Das Capri
Ranked #18 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Skiathos, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, the staff make it even more special ...”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome from reception team, after a fraught journey. Cannot praise the staff enough, from Front of house, Breakfast room, Housekeeping and Maintenance man, A great team.

We had a problem with our daughters buggy that had been damaged in transit. A quick word with Janine, at reception, Christoph the maintenance man was called and within 10 minutes we were on our way. Ladies in the breakfast room were happy to allow us to wash the baby bottles after breakfast for us. They could not do enough to assist us and it was much appreciated.

The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, there is a great buffet breakfast, well stocked and great coffee from the 'Bean to cup' machine (Try the macchiato latte) or instant if you prefer.
Buy your Vienna card from reception, and in three days you will more than cover your travel costs whilst seeing the sights.

From the airport take the S-Bahn to Vienna mitte station its much cheaper than the CAT express train. The U-bahn at Landstraße (U3) is 50 metres away. Change at Stephensplatz for the U1

Note - There is no U-bahn at the airport.

The hotel is located two stops from the centre (Stephensplatz) on the U-bahn (U1) at Nestroyplatz. The lift from the platform level emerges on the centre reservation right outside the hotel.

Plenty of nice restaurants in the area, There is an italian just to the left as you exit the hotel. It was very good, and great value for money.

If you want a nice hotel, great staff and ease of location - this is the one for you ...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SkiathosLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    496
    60
    12
    4
See reviews for
321
760
102
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed for two nights, absolutely delighted and will return.
It's about a 20 minute easy, pleasant walk from Stephensplatz. The rooms are being modernised and we stopped in one of the new rooms - clean, simple, comfortable, great beds, small but nice bathroom, absolutely no complaints. Breakfast - lots of choice fresh food and nice breakfast room. The staff are very helpful and want you to have a good stay.
We ate at 3/4 Takt just one minutes walk along the road - smoky but very good food at excellent prices. Had a lunch at Cafe Mozart just off Albertinastrasse which was super.
If you want to get the train from the airport to the main station in Vienna, then the hotel is an easy fast walk from it. No need to take a taxi, unless you have a lot of luggage, or have problems walking.
I think this is a really good hotel that represents excellent value for money.
M

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzyandblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Just spent 3 nights at Capri Hotel. Whilst not part of the old city and just outside the Ringstrasse, it's actually about 10 minutes walk from the historic museums and palaces. The subway on U1 line is literally a stone's throw away from the hotel. So it is extremely well placed if you are happy to be just outside the city on a fairly main road.

Room was very clean and of a reasonable size. Bathroom, whilst not high end luxurious (and why should it be for the money) worked well with hot water at all times and thoroughly cleaned. Our room was on Praterstrasse and was a bit noisy, so I would ask for a quieter room away from the main street.

Buffet breakfast was generous, with a range of savouries (meat, cheese), fresh fruit, dried fruit, cereals and wonderful breads. Self-service coffee from a fancy machine was excellent.

Staff at the desk were helpful at all times.

So, a small hotel with caring service. Good value for money in an expensive city.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeordieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leusden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A good hotel, friendly staff and check-in desk, with a group of 10 people, went well and really fast. The rooms are quite large, wireless internet works fine. Modern TV.
Room decor, bed I found very little, reminded me of an Ibis. Functional but not luxury.
And something small but useful bathroom. Slightly to moderately towels, both size and number, and soap from a squeeze bottle on the wall, no other extras.
Location is very good underground line U1 opposite. But walking to the center, can also, a great fifteen minutes.
Breakfast is decent, sandwiches, boiled eggs, all kinds of fillings, savory and sweet, some fruit, coffee and tea, yogurt and cereals. Dining room at a hotel full of a little small, but around this time (Silvester) was more than reasonable charge occupied.
In short do you sleep and you do not expect luxury then this prime location hotel
Hotel has no restaurant

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredvdFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel is in a great location for those who want to visit Vienna. A lift just across from the Hotel takes you down to the U Bahn from where all the major attractions & sites can be reached. at the end of the Praterstrasse to the right as you leave the hotel after the train station is Prater Park which has a Madame Tussauds as well as the famous Ferris wheel. I used the Qando app on my iphone and all you have to do is put in your destination and it will give you all the travel details. Whether its u, bahn,train, tram or bus.
We had a large spacious, comfortable room overlooking the Praterstrasse, the traffic did not affect us as we visited in mid December and we kept the windows shut.. The front desk Personnel go out of their way to help you with any queries. There was plenty of choice for Breakfast, The only suggestion I would make is that the wifi signal, really needs to be boosted on the respective floors as it was very weak on the 6th floor otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed in hotel Capri in mid july 2011 and all i have to say it was perfect ,

Room Tip: try and book on the lower floors , the lift is a bit slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Friendly helpfull service with no extra fees for late bookout for a family of seven. Outstanding rooms - neat and tidy with exceptional service especially during a very busy breakfast in Christmas - New Year season. Thank you once again Hotel Capri

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 389DirkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 361 in Vienna
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,303 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Property: Das Capri
Address: Praterstrasse 44-46 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#19 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna. Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna's subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing