We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at great location, very helpful staff”
Review of Das Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Das Capri
Ranked #17 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2012

First off, the hotel s just across the street from Nestroyplatz U-Bahn station, which is on U1 line, just 2 stations away from Stephanplatz. or in other words, very close to the center of town.
I booked 2 nights at this hotel in a single room. At my arrival i was informed that my reservation has been upgraded to a double bed room, no extra charge of course.

A special thanks goes to Janine, the receptionist. I told her simply that I want to go to Salzburg and that I needed a hotel to stay and information about transport.
Janine made the call for me and booked me a hotel in Salzburg of "PrivateCityHotels" chain, and because Hotel Capri is also a member, I got 10% discount.
Secondly, I asked her about a train ticket. A return ticket from Vienna to Salzburg, as the site said, costs 50 euros each way(!). Unsatisfied from that fair, Janine found me a cheaper price which was only 25 euros each way. Lot's of money saved.

To make a long story short,
this is a 3 star hotel, fair prices, super close to Vienna's center and its staff is helpful and friendly. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naamansaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,685 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

Many reasons for coming back: (1) perfect location in a walking distance to the centre, near the subway and railway stations (direct OBB trains from VIE airport); (2) exceptionally big, comfortable and clean rooms, with closets and separate dressing area at the entrance; (3) very functional, well designed, clean and nice bathrooms; (4) perfect selection of delicious food for breakfast buffet; (5) very moderate prices, compared to some other hotels in Vienna; (6) easy and safe car parking in the closed inner courtyard - not always available in the city centre; (7) last, but not least - friendly and very courteous staff. I have been to other hotels in Vienna, but whenever Capri has vacant rooms - this is my obvious choice in the last years, throughout which they continued to upgrade the quality of their services.

Room Tip: you can chose between rooms located on the side of the main street (however, not a real problem, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zbig_niew_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We loved this hotel....great location right by the metro so easy in and out. Really nice, helpful desk staff. Clean, modern hotel. Big room with a dressing area, closets, great sized bathroom & shower, comfortable bed and even an outside terrace! Free wifi, but it was sketchy. My friend's iPhone could see it, but mine couldn't. Breakfast was amazing! So many choices and the ladies are constantly restocking.

Room Tip: We had room 208 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A very clean nice hotel and a very pleasant staff and easy to get anyware by foot or underground.
They are up grading there wifi this week so i am told. the breakfast is very good and plenty of it, all staff
very friendly and the reception staff where excellent in advising us on many places.
This break was to meet up with family travelling from Beijing and where only here fo a short time so this hotel was already booked for them so we chose the same and wasnt disapointed, Yes do book this hotel if you are going to viena but try and book early as the price does go up as you get closer to date of departure.

Room Tip: Try room 207 plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Big, clean and comfortable rooms, decently priced and a sumptuous complimentary breakfast, that kept me going a large part of the day. Very friendly staff, even though we had some problems with the free wifi - the password was only for one device at a time. They didn't seem to have experienced this before, and I used the free computer in the reception until the last day, when we finally got two passwords... But in spite of that, I will certainly stay in this hotel again if I come back to Vienna. The location is fine, within walking distance from the centre of Vienna, and the subway station was just across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majlis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel is in a good location right next to a underground station. the price was good fro the area and free wifi and breakfast were good to see.

The room was clean, large, with basic but nice decoration. I had problems configuring wifi but the front desk sorted it for me. The breakfast on the second floor was great, better than a lot of affordable business hotels where it would be at a cost.

Nice touches include a sweet on your pillow and little pots of autumn decorations with pumpkins n each table at breakfast - something someone clearly went to effort to do and adds nice bit of soul to the hotel.

Would defiantly stay there again, kind of wish there were more hotels like this, giving everything i look for at a good price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbyblanco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 74Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,492 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#13 of 359 in Vienna
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Address: Praterstrasse 44-46 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#19 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £78 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna. Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna's subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing