We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a short trip to Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Das Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Das Capri
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short trip to Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

As usual, tripadvisor is my guide when I need a hotel. And again, I was not disappointed at all. Nearly everything was perfect. We had a large room on the back side, and had to leave a window open because the room was too warm and we couldn't set the temperature. But it didn't matter because it is a quiet neighbourhood. Bed: perfect, wifi: perfect, tv: some 100 channels, safe: present, minifridge: present, but "bring your own drinks", shower:perfect, hairdryer and shaving mirror: present. The breakfast room was a bit cramped, but the choice of "healthy food items" was great, and fried eggs and bacon can be missed. The hotel does not have a restaurant or bar, but within a five-ten minutes walking distance you can find many restaurants and bars. It is a nice walk to the city centre and the museums, but you can go by metro too as the station is just 50 meters from the hotel. Other hotels with well-known brand names are close by, but I cannot see why you should want to pay the surplus price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaapK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    487
    60
    12
    4
See reviews for
307
729
100
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations in cleanliness, convienance, moderness, and service. I have stayed at many hotels with higher star ratings that weren't as outstanding. The staff made me feel welcome, greeted me everytime I came in the door, assisted me with directions, made recommendations, and helped me set up a city tour. An example of where they also exceeded - they have umbrellas by the door for the guests to use free of charge on rainy days. The convienent location was also a huge plus! The metro entrance was out the front door and it was only two stops to the city center. The train to the airport (cheap) was just a five minute walk away, or you could jump on the metro across the street and go up one station to reach the train. Even though I bought train and metro tickets, I never used them once (I don't know why they weren't required)...people just walked on and off. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
167 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Despite it's rather lack lustre street front this hotel is absolutely fantastic! Our room was much larger than those we usually stay in within Europe and had a lounge and a table and chairs as well as a huge king size bed and very well equipped bathroom, including a shaving mirror. It also had a lovely outlook onto the street in Vienna.

It is on the other side of the river to the main attractions like the cathedral but is easily accessible via the metro which is right outside the hotel. It is also a lovely walk should you wish to do it, probably fifteen minutes to the cathedral.

I could not recommend this hotel more - the breakfast was delicious and had a vast array of different foods and lots of teas and coffees.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank sall13h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is located about one mile from the city centre - an easy walk. Failing that, the lift to the Ubahn (Nestoyplatz) is just across the road from the entrance - two stops and you're in St. Stephen's Square! A few minutes by taxi from the main arrival station at €8.50. Ubahn will be €2.10 with one change from green to red line.

Plenty of shops nearby including a couple of supermarkets for provisions. Note that everything will be closed on a Sunday, so if you want provisions head to the main railway station where the shops are open. Good restaurants nearby.

Stadtpark is about ten minute's walk away. Area felt safe but one or two beggars and unsavory characters around. Ignore them and they ignore you - but would personally avoid the Stadtpark area after dark.

The front of the hotel faces out on the main road. The back on to residential flats (quite close) so no views but this is reflected in the reasonable price you pay. I had a room at the back and it was generally quiet apart from one or two residents closing their garage doors with great gusto!

Large rooms clean and apparently freshly decorated. Bed was comfortable and even got a brand new one during my stay! Third floor is being renovated - note apologising for any noise left in the room and offering you priority in booking one of the new rooms if you decide to come again - nice touch. No complimentary bar (I can live without one!). Biggest safe I have ever seen and plenty of storage! Flat-screen TV with a multitude of channels in a vast number of languages. Good Wifi coverage (2nd floor). No aircon apparently - might be a bit stuffy on a hot summer's night? Tea and coffee facilities.

Breakfast was buffet-style and plenty of it. No hot options apart from boiled eggs but more than enough 'bio-friendly options' to compensate. Breakfast is 0700-1000 so no rush in the mornings.

Staff - excellent. Always welcoming. Clearly the staff are valued and there is a good team ethic - on each floor staff member from all roles (including the house-keeper) appear in professional photographs taken around the city explaining their favorite sites. First time I've ever seen this and it shows in their excellent customer relations. Full marks here! Also let me a small bottle of bubbly and a hand-written card on my birthday. Never had this before and again a very nice touch.

Secure luggage storage storage area available. Late checkout (beyond 1100hrs) available. Airport shuttle available at €22 one-way. Small bar available in lobby.

The height of luxury this is not; there are more expensive hotels in Vienna for this. But for what you pay, for the cleanliness and outstanding staff attitude, it comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel if you want to avoid the traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LonePhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namibia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel has a good location with easy access to the main train station and also has a stop right in front of the hotel, which will take you to most sights in 2 or 3 stops.
The reception is efficient and friendly. Rooms are very big for European standard and well appointed with great beds. You also have a big closet, which was handy as I was staying for a week.
There are lots of restaurants nearby and also a small SPAR, where you can get all you need or buy food for a night in. The rooms also has a small table a chair, so you can easily have dinner there. Otherwise is it a short hop into the city centre with the train and there are more restaurants.
One positive is that the hotel price also includes a breakfast buffet, which has lots to offer and it didn't get boring for the time I was there. I must then again say, it is typical European breakfast with lots of cheeses, cold cuts etc.
Overall one can only recommend this hotel and I'm not sure that you will find a better place for the price in the city.
The only complaint I had was that they shine a light onto the outside of the hotel, which can get a bit annoying as it creeps through small gaps in the curtains.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NamXpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I liked everything about this hotel, except for two things: the nonfunctional wifi and the availability of the iron and the ironing board. I stayed on the fourth floor and had to go and work in the lobby to get a usable wifi signal. If you want to iron your shirt, you have to take it down to the tiny utility room behind the counter in the lobby. Apart from that, the hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and the breakfast is yummy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

When i have to go for business or leisure reasons to Vieanna, I aklways stay here! Good prices, excellent staff and not to forget that the design is very unique here. The breakfast is very healthy, nicely decorated and always fresh. The emtro is just aroudn the corner, and the wifi is absolutely the fastest I have ever experienced. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstebanMetropolitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Property: Das Capri
Address: Praterstrasse 44-46 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#19 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna. Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna's subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing