We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Das Capri. Ihr Wiener Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Odeon(Vienna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,793)
Filter reviews
1,793 results
Traveller rating
1,188
525
62
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,188
525
62
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnestroyplatz stationcity centrefamily suitegreat hotelprater parkboiled eggsferris wheelexcellent breakfastsuperior roomminute walkdanube canalbreakfast roommetro stopthe hotel staffhotel entrancetea and coffee making facilitiesbreakfast staff
Filter
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 1,793 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Back in 2011, we spent 7 days in this hotel and it was quite terrific. We chose the hotel on hotels.com due to reviews and pricing. We traveled to Vienna after a week in Prague. I was a bit skeptical when we first arrived in the middle of the night. The hotel does not make a grand external impression. However, once inside, the customer service of the staff and the rooms more than make up for that. As a bonus, my room was automatically upgraded (I did not even ask for this benefit) to a room on the top floor of the hotel. The room was very nicely laid out with modern decor and was well maintained. The bed was awesome. The rooms we had also had a terrace that you could walk out on to get some air. We also had the front desk book our day trips to Budapest and Salzburg. Both trips were fantastic and the company we used had us with a terrific group for each trip. Although the hotel is not down in the main square, you have the train within a 2 minute walk of the hotel and the main bus depot is a 7 minute walk up the street. You have sit down restaurants and fast food places in the immediate area. Right next door is a nice little lounge/bar where you can drink, order light dishes, and chat for a while. It's a cool place to hang out with friends and meet new people. My overall rating is a 3.5.

Room Tip: book a room with a terrace.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbouknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week in Vienna. The Hotel Capri helped to make it a wonderful trip! This hotel is not right in the city center, but is only about a 10 minute walk. Also, the subway is just outside the hotel and can take you anywhere you want to go. The hotel was very reasonably priced yet our room was one of the largest we have ever had in Europe. Cleanliness was exceptional, the bathroom was gleaming! The breakfast was great too. All of the staff were both friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Hotel Capri if you are looking for a moderately priced place to stay in Vienna. The only disappointing thing about our experience was their policy of charging 20 Euros for an early check-in. My husband and I have traveled a great deal in Europe and almost always arrive in the morning. This is the first time we have been charged to get into our room early. This is a small thing, but I thought I should share. Don't miss the city of Vienna, it is beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned the exterior of this hotel might turn you off but you are pleasantly surprised when you enter your room. We booked a superior room and it was very spacious with a nice balcony. However it does not matter how nice the room was - the lack of air conditioning spoiled our enjoyment. We had two fans in our room and it was still uncomfortable with 28-30 degree Celsius heat. We had to avoid returning to our room in the middle of the day. We had a very late flight and paid for an extra day and then couldn't use our room because it was too hot - ended up hanging out at a sidewalk cafe hoping for a breeze. We have stayed in many small 'boutique' type hotels in Europe - many in buildings hundreds of years older than this one and they had AC. It was my fault for not paying attention to this fact - but it is also this fact that would stop me from staying here again. It doesn't matter how nice the staff are or how much you enjoy the breakfast if you are uncomfortably hot all the time in the warm weather months. Possibly stay here from Nov to Mar but certainly not later than that - otherwise there are several smaller hotels in the same price bracket that do have AC - we were just too lazy to bother packing up and moving. Location was fine and close to the metro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the Main Street. There is no view from any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 541plaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capriwien, Manager at Das Capri. Ihr Wiener Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear 541 plaid!
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. We were glad to read that you liked our spcious room with the balconies and the location of our hotel close to he metro.
Yes you are right, we do not have an AC at the moment. AC are still not state of the art in Austrian hotels. But WE WILL GET ONE after this summer. It will be a special solution with a heat pump (I hope this ist he right word in english for this new technical solution) – very ecofriendly and so fitting to us as an certified enviromental friendly hotel.
Soon we will start to make the warm summer enjoyable for our guests: With FREE ICE CREAM if the temperature on Stephansplatz is rising over 30 degree Celsius and FREE DRINKING WATER in the rooms.
So if you come to Vienna again next year you will enjoy our breakfast, our nice service and a cool room.
We hope to see you again ;-)
Best regards
Your Capri Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Good prices, excellent staff and not to forget that the design is very unique here. The breakfast is very healthy, nicely decorated and always fresh. The wifi is absolutely the fastest I have ever experienced. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Actin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

...about the environment! Let's start with that first: At the sumptious, extensive breakfast buffet, the Capri serves free-range eggs and "fair-trade" tea (if you don't understand, look the latter up. Short story: Poor farmers in even poorer countries get a "fair" price for their hard work). While you make your way to the bright, sunny breakfast, pay attention to the photos featuring all of their employees in "civilian" clothes -- while highlighting some of the cities' best tourist sites. Oh, yeah, forgot: Our room was WONDERFUL! Huge -- had a small foyer with lots of closet space and a substantial bathroom on the right. Beyond the foyer door was a lovely, large living room with a desk, HD TV, queen-sized bed, and HUGE windows overlooking the street below. We stayed here for 4 days and, honestly? It felt like home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CO_Mtn_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews