We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great rooms great breakfast”
Review of Das Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Das Capri
Ranked #17 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Very Good hotel in Vienna. The view from the 7th floor was great. Breakfast was very good. The staff was very nice, helpful and smiling. Everything was nice and new, Only minus: no air con in the room. Got really hot a summer day in July. Will probably come back!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Knut F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,699 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel is well located directly opposite Nestroyplatz U Bahn station. Clean modern hotel. Excellent wifi. Continental breakfast superb. Staff all very good, especially Melanie - Receptionist.

Public transport in Vienna very good easy & safe to use. CAT from airport excellent. Took in Bratislava on a day trip, out by train back by hydrofoil on River Danube.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YKFIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I usually stay at this hotel whenever I travel to Vienna on business. The hotel is convenient, very clean, spacious and I have given this hotel high ratings. However, two weeks ago when I checked in on a Sunday and mentioned to the clerk that I was checking out on Friday (rather than Saturday) she claimed that the hotel was still going to charge me for the unused night. To my surprise she mentioned that the hotel needed 48 hours notice PRIOR TO CHECK-IN for any change to the check out date!!! She claimed that this was hotel policy!! I have travelled all around the world and stayed in probably hundreds of hotels worldwide. No where is there such a policy that requires you to give a hotel 48 hours notice prior to check in that the checkout date may need a change. I totally understand giving 48 hours notice prior to check out that there is a change. Travelling on business requires some flexibility. Unless the hotel changes this absurd (48 hours prior to check in) policy, I will be staying somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank sdpgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capriwien, Leiter Front Office at Das Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear sdpgod,

thank you very much for your review and for your feedback.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our clean and spacious rooms and that you always had a convenient stay, whenever you stayed in our hotel in the last years. Positive feedback, especially from our regular customers, is very important to us and we feel strengthened in our actions.

On the other hand we are sorry to hear that you were confused with our cancellation policy.

Regarding this matter we were a bit surprised as you have been staying at our hotel for a few years and the cancellation policy has not changed since your first visit.

"Cancellations or changes can be accepted in written, by fax or e-mail, up to 48 hours before arrival, otherwise cancellation fees apply."

We were marveled that you have never heard about this policy, as it is a very common cancellation policy.

Due to your surprised reaction at your check-in we informed you that you would have the possibility to talk to our resident manager to clarify the situation, but unfortunately you did not contact him, while your stay in our hotel. As your reservation was made by your secretary, we additionally contacted her for clarification.

We hope that you finally were satisfied with the solution we offered and also kindly ask you, as a regular guest, who always enjoyed the stay in our hotel, to understand, that we have to hold on our hotel policies.

We would be very glad to welcoming you back to our hotel in future.

Best regards

Your Capri team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great location close to main train station and metro lines. No air conditioning and horrible WiFi service are the major draw backs. The staff is very well trained and helpful regarding tourism and needs for the room. The price is very competitive for Vienna. Short walk to main tourist sights without the crowds. I would rate very good if they could only fix the WiFi problem. Just not acceptable in this day and age when travelers need to stay connected. The breakfast is ample with plenty of excellent choices. We like to sleep in and it was nice the staff kept the breakfast open as long as guest were still coming in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ED H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Clean, modern and a good breakfast. Metro station opposite. Staff friendly and helpful. Easy to reach by train from the airport. Downside - lack of air con, room was very hot and fan was needed all night. Good place to stay for a city break. Public transport excellent.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel has balcony rooms, but so very hot because of the enclosed courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbles61_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently here and found it great in every way So close to the station made it so easy travelling to and from the airport which incidently was cheap and simple The breakfast was very generous and there was plenty of selection no matter when you ate. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was not far from a good selection of restaurants and we especially liked the Italian down the road. The walk into the city centre was pleasant and interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janethaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Hotel location is very good with many options of restaurants - Italian, Austrian, Japanese, Korean - at a walking distance. The Nestroplatz U1 station is right in the front what is quite convenient if you want to go either to downtown or Vienna International Center. Also in 5 min walk you reach the Prater, a good amusement park, with many options of ride and at least one good Austrian restaurant (open Mar-Oct). The staff is nice and quite helpful. The only problem in the mid summer is that there is no A/C what sometimes turns difficult to sleep. The breakfast is quite diverse and good quality.

Room Tip: avoid rooms in the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AldoMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,515 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 358 in Vienna
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Address: Praterstrasse 44-46 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#19 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £74 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna. Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna's subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing