We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely bad and unprofessional services”
Review of Das Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Das Capri
Ranked #17 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Extremely bad and unprofessional services”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My family and me stayed in hotel Capri last week, that's the most terrible services that we experienced.
The hotel is good. However the staff is not nice, rude, not helpful, no experience, and don't help to solve problems.

I made a booking through hotels.com, when I made the reservation, it says extra bed available, we have 5 persons and we have booked 2 rooms and write in booking that we require an extra bed. We understand that there are extra charge for the extra bed and we are willing to pay for that. As a family, we would like to stay together instead of booking an extra room for single person. However, the girl in front desk telling me that this is the LAW in Vienna that third person is not allowed, the girls then try to call the manager but the manager insist not allowing us to go into the room even we agree to pay for the extra money without the extra bed provided.

Also, the girl at the front desk told me that she has called Expedia/ hotel.com to check. However we were doubt that the girl even didn't call but pretend to call and say that they have no control on bookings with Expedia.

Finally we have no choice but to pay for an extra one room for the 5th person. We have talked to the front desk girl for an hour but we are still getting unsatisfactory result. So disappointed!!!! Also on the next day, there is another rude staff telling us something ridiculous. Suggest the hotel to train the staff again about customer services and how to make the customer happy.

Although the hotel is okay with the price, with the bad service, this is not recommended to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Crystal0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capriwien, Ass. Front Office Manager at Das Capri, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Crystal0327,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day and giving us your Feedback!

We are very sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfying impression of our staff!

As you mentioned, your booking was made for only two people. We provide extra beds upon availability. Unfortunately the time period of your stay in Vienna was the peak season for travelling families and therefore all our family rooms were occupied and all extra beds booked.

We tried to phone you and inform you about this situation in advance – but regrettably the phone number you quoted at your Expedia-booking was not correct. That’s why we were not able to reach you. Our receptionist was in touch with me and with Expedia the night you arrived, but unfortunately that could not change the situation as there were no triple rooms available.

I´m really sorry that you didn't feel that we were doing the best we could - not even after you moved to a family room the next day, at the soonest possible time when a family room was available again.

Our family rooms and suites provide a lot of space and comfort for all family members and I am sure if you had requested a family room or suite in the first place we could have avoided all complications and you would have an enjoyable and satisfying stay.

Dear Crystal, we would be glad to welcome you and your family back again and that you give us the opportunity to show you that we provide an excellent service and know how to make our customers happy.

Kind regards

Ivana and the Capri team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    492
    60
    12
    4
See reviews for
313
741
102
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Out of 3 hotels I've been to in Vienna this is my favourite. Good location for business in the VIC, walking distance to the airport train, and (longer) walking distance to the city centre. 'Excellent' rating due to good price.

Hugely sized room facing the courtyard. Very quiet. Very clean bathroom. Breakfast options are good (although there could be a bit more choice).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTraveller0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent here our Valentine's day, a 2 nights stay. The hotel is average, however a very good choice if you are not looking for luxury. I find it a good and very clean solution for a short stay in Wien.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy County, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our family of four including two teenagers stayed at this hotel for a three night city break. We were given a family suite on floor four which overlooked the back of the hotel and proved to be very quiet. The suite consisted of two rooms - one with twin beds and a huge double containing a sitting area and a large bathroom fitted to a very high standard. Breakfast was plentiful and had a good continental variety. Walking to the city centre takes a maximum of ten minutes but there are also several good restaurants in the neighbourhood. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and genuinely wanted us to enjoy our stay. We have stayed in many European city hotels and we would rate this as one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good, which a selection of pastries, breads, fruit, cheese, meats, sausages. The location across street from subway. A number of very good cafes with outdoor seating within a 2 block walk. Rooms prices were very reasonable for Europe. Would stay there again

Room Tip: We had room on backside of hotel much quieter. The street in front is a a busy one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights from 22/7/14 until 25/7/14. Our room was on the third floor at the front of the hotel, it was well proportioned, modern, in very good condition and kept very clean throughout our stay. Bathroom facilities were modern and spot-less, breakfast was good and varied and the there is a good sized safe. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is in an excellent location within really easy access to the Nestroyplatz U-Bahn station, within one or two stops of the centre of Vienna. Eateries and other small shops are within walking distance to the hotel and are handy if you don't want to go into the centre. There was a fan in our room, although we did miss air-conditioning we found it good to leave the door to our balcony open as it was really warm but the traffic noise can be a little disturbing during the night.

Room Tip: Each floor of the hotel has it's own theme we stayed on the third floor which was nature, other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibop1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore india
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were three of us who stayed at this hotel and they promised us a nice 3 bedded family room but when we landed there we were in for a pleasant surprise. They upgraded us to a family room which had two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and another with2 single beds. The weather was very hot and we were given only one pedestal fan but when we asked housekeeping for an additional fan for the other bedroom, they gladly provided us another fan.
Very polite front desk staff who told us how to get around and which restaurants to go to.
Very close to the U1 underground station , only 2 minutes walk so that was also a no us to move around.
Breakfast was a huge spread with different varieties of cheese , freshly baked croissants and bread , juices fruits and excellent Viennese coffee.
Umbrellas are provided at the front desk .
On days when the temperatures are above 30 degrees C , free ice cream too.
All in all, a great experience and would recommend to anyone visiting ViennA.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,439 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 360 in Vienna
2,163 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Property: Das Capri
Address: Praterstrasse 44-46 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#19 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna. Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna's subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing