We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wunderbar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Apartments Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Apartments Vienna
Ranked #35 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wunderbar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

This is second year in row we have been to this apartment. The experience was wonderful. We expect to return again in November 2010.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank poodyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    38
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
60
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

These apartment are in a fabulous location right near the best food market we have ever been too which was great for sourcing food for having at the apartment. The apartment was also around the corner from a handy supermarket so you have everything you need at your fingertips. The apartment itself was very clean and spacious and was the perfect size for our little family for a short break. The kitchen had a good amount of utensils for us to cook there some nights and restaurants close by for eating out also. The metro is very close for accessing the rest of Vienna but we walked alot of the time because we were so close to many of the attractions and everything we needed. Would recommend this apartment for small families, a couple or friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malek3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

I couldn't agree more with the other positive reviews. The apartment was like a home away from home. The kitchen and bathrooms were clean and fully furnished. There is a Billa supermarket around the corner for everyday needs. The Naschmarkt is across the street for cafes, restaurants and all sorts of shopping. The subway station is a five-minute walk away, as is the historic inner circle. The owner was friendly and accommodating, and even arranged for transport to and from the airport for us. Thank you, Mr. Voshmgir, for making our first trip to Vienna an unforgettable and wonderful experience. We plan on coming back again...and again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itstuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

We stayed with CAV (Central Apartments Vienna) and were in Apartment 14. It had everything in it you could possibly want or need - it was like home from home. It was spotless. There were 4 adults staying in the apartment. There should have been 5 but one passenger did not travel. The space was perfect for 5 adults - a lot more space than you would ever be offered (per person) in a European hotel room. The location was perfect and was within walking distance to all the main attractions, shopping streets etc. I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone travelling to Vienna. Lynn - Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmbalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

We spent 6 days here - I looked for suitable hotels for ages and this seemed to work well as was within budget and also location wise it is great. It is nice to have the option to cook and also with an apt you get more space generally anyway.

We didn't use washing machine/drier so can't comment on that but did find free unlimited Internet access very useful esp to plan our day trips.

We spent a few days walking around Vienna but after a while you can get a bit fed up of museums - we did anyway! For suggestions of daytrips I recommend Baden - which is an hour away on the tram (the white and blue one from Opera) - and walking up to the castle which is in ruins. The baths were closed when we went but think they are meant to be good.

Also, get train from Wien Mestre and go to Krems SD. I think this is also an hour or so away - amazing views from the vineyards and nice to walk along the Danube etc. Lovely little place.

We generally struggled with the language and knowing what we were going to get when we ordered something in a restaurant so def take a dictionary along to help!

But as a base the apts are great value and owner, not sure of his name, useful. As far as I am aware they didn't come into the flat when we were staying there but who knows?!

The entrance area to the building looks grotty and smells of rubbish but flat is nice and cosy, we stayed in one on first floor.

The main issues we had were with shower, it was way too powerful and if we turned it down the hot water would turn off. But it was so powerful it actually hurt and I can't even bear to think about how much water gets wasted this way. Also, the curtains are not wide enough which means ppl from flats opposite can see in at night.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Mostly pretty good as described in the other reviews, but I think it needs to be maintained better. We stayed in 14 which could use paint, and the washer and iron didn't work. Noisy outside on the street at times, but probably so in most of Vienna. Location is convient and close to most of what you will want to see in the town. Really nice to have a PC and the internet in the room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottB4587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

We stayed at Central Vienna Apartments in mid-October 2009. We were originally to have apartment 14 near the top, but due to construction we were moved to an apartment on the first floor, which had a similar design.

The Good:
- Excellent location to Naschmarkt, as many have mentioned, and an easy walk to the city centre.
- Roomy and spacious.
- Internet access and washer/dryer were nice to have (although the dryer portion was awfully inefficient).
- Very good and prompt service from the moment of the request to arriving at the apartment.

Not-So-Good
- If arriving by train, can be very difficult to find due to the size of Karlsplatz station and the constant changing street names (see below for advice).
- Mattresses were only so-so, but not very firm. Then again, this has been a constant issue for me travelling in Europe (if you have read my other reviews, you likely would have noticed this).

Overall:
- We had an enjoyable stay at Central Apartments and likely would stay there again should we visit Vienna. The proximity to Naschmarkt is the biggest draw - not just the opportunity to buy fresh fruits and vegetables, meat and seafood, fresh baked goods, etc., but it is also an excellent place to meet local Viennese.

Some Advice if Arriving by Train from Westbahnoff (West Station):
- If you are taking the train to Vienna (like we did), make your way to Karlsplatz via the metro / subway (the owners will give you directions to this station depending on which train station you will be arriving).

- The owners then failed to provide the following information, which is very important since Karlsplatz is enormous and has multiple exit points.

- When arriving at Karlsplatz, you will notice two exits. One will say "Opera/Karlsplatz" and the second exit will be "Resselpark". Go in the direction of "Opera/Karlsplatz".
- At the top of the escalator, look for "Wiedner Haupstrasse". Take this exit, going up a ramp.
- When you exit, you will see a park on your left and a street with a large green building to your right. Cross the street and follow the green building.
- From here, follow the directions provided by the owner to your apartment, which is about 2 to 3 blocks away.

- If you get lost, make your way to Naschmarkt. Stay on the side where the cars are going north towards the city centre. Don't get caught in the middle of the Naschmarkt or on the side where the theatre and most of the restaurants reside.

- Look for a traffic light that has a Japanese restaurant on the left and a Japanese tea shop on the right. Cross the street here, go one block, and Muhlgasse is on your right.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Drei Kronen
Hotel Drei Kronen
#171 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Inner City
MyPlace Premium Apartments - City Centre
Wieden
Hotel Carlton Opera
Hotel Carlton Opera
#182 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Hotel Beethoven Wien
#17 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Inner City
Derag Livinghotel An der Oper
Inner City
Appartement-Hotel an der Riemergasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Apartments Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Apartments Vienna

Property: Central Apartments Vienna
Address: Muehlgasse 6, Vienna 1040, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Apartments Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Apartments Vienna (CAV): 4-Star Apartments for Rent in Prime City Location in Vienna - Austria: Family friendly holiday and vacation apartments for short or long-term accommodation within walking distance to major tourist attractions in Vienna - Wien - Vienne - Viena - Austria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Central Apartments Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Apartments Vienna Hotel Vienna
Vienna Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing