We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cafe”
Review of Cafe Oper Wien

Cafe Oper Wien
Ranked #43 of 104 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: Café Oper Wien is a unique Melange made of music, culture and coffeehouse atmosphere directly located in the Vienna State Opera. Let us take you on a journey through the Vienna coffeehouse culture.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good cafe”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This cafe has a great setting, right in the opera house. The cardinal torte was gorgeous and the waiter was helpful in explaining the different cakes. We felt it was reasonable value in comparison to the (many) other cake and coffee stops we had in Vienna.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank QueenMarieOfRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    61
    24
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ate here everyday for a week”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just arrived back from Vienna, stayed at the lovely Bristol Hotel, made even better by having the Café Oper Wien right across the road from our room. The hotel breakfasts were very expensive so we had breakfast every day (and sometimes 3 meals in 1 day!!) at the Café Oper Wien.
The staff were great and chatty, very efficient and the meals were excellent. Breakfast was wonderful, sitting outside in balmy weather watching the world go by (very slowly).
The meals were very much café rather than full restaurant but that doesn't diminish their quality. They serve all of the usual Viennese fare (Goulash soup, strudel, Sacher cake, EXCELLENT coffee and the Early Grey tea (German Earl Grey !!) is especially good.
Vienna was a wonderful city, the Hotel was excellent BUT the Café Oper Wien was the highlight of the holiday!
Bizarrely they would be my main reason for returning to Vienna.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Coffee Stop”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

While walking around Vienna spotted the café at the Opera House and decided to try our first melange coffee. The weather was pleasant and we were able to sit outside and enjoy the wonderful location. The service was quick and friendly and price was reasonable for a good coffee in an excellent location.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wandering-Gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor service ”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The weather, location and chocolate with cream we tried could be the best allies for a great review however the service was so poor that it ruined the whole thing

Helpful?
1 Thank Dannytz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friedrich C, Inhaber at Cafe Oper Wien, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear customer,

I am very sorry for the poor Service during your visit. We worked hard to improve our quality and service, so it is very disappointing for me to hear from such an incident. I would be very grateful if you get in touch with me, so I can compensate the incident and solve the situation. Once again I appologize for the poor service during your visit and thank you for helping us to improve our quality and service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilling on a winter saturday noon/afternoon in Vienna”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellent atmosphere in an amazing location, and this in beautiful Vienna. Menu of the day is really good value for money and the menu choice has a bit of Belgian-Namurois influence, as the Host/Maitre d'hôtel is Belgian. For my birthday, all our 80 guests were impressed with the service and the food and drinks. In addition to the excellent cakes, the "Leberkaese" snacks went away like hot cakes. Especially our international guests like them more than anything.
And the live music performance of an Opera Bariton, just made it an unforgettable experience for me and all my/our birthday guests.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RudyVandenSteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Oper Wien also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Oper Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing