We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for central Viennese sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Ranked #41 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NSW
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Location for central Viennese sightseeing”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel during my first ever visit to Vienna and was very happy with the experience. The hotel is located approximately five minutes walk to the city centre, Opera, shopping district and museums. The surrounding streets are not of interest to tourists but there are plenty of shops, supermarkets and restaurants. It is only a short walk to the U-bahn and a tram line runs directly past the hotel. It was a great advantage to be able to go sightseeing in the morning, return to the hotel for a rest after lunch and then pop back into town for dinner and more entertainment later on in the day.

I did not expect Vienna to be as humid as it was and I felt that the hotel was not completely equipped for this type of weather. There was a small fan supplied in the room but there was no air conditioning and as a result the room, which was smaller than average for a single was quite hot and stuffy at night. I assume that this is only a problem for a few weeks a year but it is worth considering if you are visiting in summer.

The staff were very obliging and my room was spotlessly cleaned every day by a very lovely maid. Wifi is available for free and there is a minibar in the room. Breakfast was the usual hotel buffet and there is also a restaurant open for lunch and dinner.

I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely consider returning on future visits.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Nsw123,

We are pleased that you choose to visit Vienna on your Europe trip and thank you for booking our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer.

As you wrote from the hotel you can easy access to public transportation and so quickly achieve any goal in Vienna. Nice that you too could benefit from it.

The Hotel Erzherzog Rainer has no air-conditioning; we are sorry that this reduced the comfort and have noticed your critic.

We still hope you will keep your stay in good memory and will be happy to welcome you back.

With best regards

Linda Labschütz / internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    359
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
118
406
81
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I visited Vienna with a friend in April for 7 nights and was recommended this hotel by a colleague

At first it seems a little outside of the city centre, but once you get your bearings you realise its within minutes walk of the Naschtmark - perfect for lunches and purchases from fruit/flowers to holiday momentos; walking distance to the Museums Quarter,; 15 minutes to Karntner Strasse and for those who wish to walk a little less the nearest Metro stop is Taubstummengasse (a few paces away) on the U1 - very cheap and convenient

The hotel itself is very nicely decorated, very culturally rich and has a decent restaurant, a breakfast room and study area with a computer/internet (cheap and payable at reception).

The staff were fantastic; very inviting, very knowledgeable and down to earth - a real service! We booked a few excursions through the front desk, we were well informed and everything went very smoothly.

We were shown to our rooms, I stayed in a single, which had more than adequate space for me and my giant suitcase, very comfortable and clean. The hotel has 24/7 security and in the evening there is no problem arriving late

Breakfast was perfect, an assortment of hot and cold items, fruit, yoghurts, hot and cold meats, all the teas/coffees/juices you would want - also, they are very diet friendly! for those who are following a lactose free/soya diet

Overall, a great hotel in a great location which provided all that we required - I will definitely be returning

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idontknowwat2do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear idontknowwat2do!

We are happy that you choose to write a review and appreciate your comments.

With pleasure we noticed your compliments for our breakfast offer, the décor, the restaurant, the staff and your room. Thank you very much.

Please note that the internet use in the room and also at the internet corner is included in the hotel rate for our guests!

We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay and look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Although I only stayed at Erzherzog Rainer with my fiancee for one night, the experience was great. On arrival, I was given a room immediately, despite checking-in rather early in the day. The rooms were adequately furnished, clean, and had comfortable beds and pillows. There was also a "heating rack" in the toilet - which was great since I could warm up my towels and my clothes. Noise was also not an issue despite being given a room on the 5th floor right next to the road. The breakfast spread was also good, with a good selection of cold cuts, cheese, cereals, crossaints, breads, etc. The cappuccino and hot chocolate (which we asked for) was great! This hotel may be a little bit old-school in terms of its interior looks, but it's friendly staff, clean rooms and good location (I think it was just two stops away from Karlsplatz) makes this hotel a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear JforJason!

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay.

We are happy that you choose our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, for your one night stop in Vienna, during your Europe vacation.

We appreciate your compliments and are delighted that you have felt so comfortable with us.

It would be a great pleasure, having you with us again (maybe a bit longer?) and we would like to take this opportunity to wish you a great year 2012.

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erzenhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This hotel was fantastic. We stayed here during a trip to Vienna. The staff was very helpful and there was no problem when we arrived into Vienna very late one night. It is a few blocks to the nearest subway stop, that is the only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars. It is two blocks and at the end of the day it isn't bad at all, It has a great location overall with the city, most days my wife and I would walk all the way into the old town so the subway wasn't even a big deal.
There is a restaurant in the hotel which has excellent food and beer.
The rooms were large and spacious, very clean. We were almost as high in the building as you could get. There wasn't much of a view from our room, we could see just over the roofs of the buildings across the street but there was nothing to see still. I don't think there are many places anywhere in Vienna that are going to have an amazing view. I've definitely had worse views.
The breakfast was fantastic. There was the usual breads and cold cuts there was also some hot items, eggs, bacons, etc. It was a good way to start the day with a nice pot of coffee and a little food.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFDerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear AFDerrick!

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are very pleased to read abut your experience and we appreciate your compliments.

We hope you will soon be visiting Vienna again and look forward to welcome you back.

In the meanwhile, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rishon le zion
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

i and my wife stayed 6 days in this hotel in october 2011 , enjoying the rich cultural treasures of vienna. the hotel is an in old fashion building but very comfortable, clean and cosy. the rooms are quite large and the room facilities are sufficient. buffet breakfast is superb. the staff is helpful and patient and made our stay there very pleasing. the only shortcoming is lack of air conditioners, but since we stayed in october, it was not necessary at all. the location is very good, close to the underground and the trams and 10 minutes easy walk from karlplats and the heart of the old town. i will certainly return to this hotel in my next visit to vienna.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yehuda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear yehuda m!

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us.

We are happy to read that you will certainly return to this hotel in your next visit to Vienna and thank you for your compliments.

We wish you a nice beginning of the Christmas season and await your next booking.

With kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Beautiful charming hotel very close to city center, just 7-10 minutes walk from Karls plats and opera. Besides very nice typical austrian restaurant in the hotel therea are many cafe and restaurants close to the hotel. Nothing to say about cleaness of rooms, high quality of breakfast. They are really very good. Hotel personnel is very kind and helpful. So very-very nice impressions overall!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sep65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear sep65!

Thank you very much for your overall positive assessment.

We are very pleased to learn about your impressions and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We loved this hotel. It is a bit of a walk from the center square, Stephansplatz (about 30 minutes); and 15 minutes to Karlsplatz the Underground station (designed by Otto Wagner). This is not such a bad thing given the amount of Viennese pastry you will be eating, right? The front desk personnel, the bellhop, and maid service personnel all were the most friendly people ever. And the buffet breakfast??? To die for. So much good food, you're just tempted to delay your day of sight seeing! The restaurant with the hotel is very nice with great food as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Gretchen K!

I truly am impressed about the number of your Vienna postings but also happy that you wrote one for our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer.

We are delighted that we were able to offer you a memorable stay and would be very pleased to welcome you back soon.

In the meantime, we wish you a joyful Christmas season.

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#48 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#25 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzherzog Rainer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzherzog Rainer

Property: Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 27/29 | 1040 Vienna, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Vienna
#35 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Business Hotel in Vienna
#58 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#87 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erzherzog Rainer 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition for 100 years, Viennese charm and outstanding Austrian hospitality await guests at the 4-star Hotel Erzherzog Rainer. The central, convenient location in walking distance to the Vienna State Opera and the "Karntner Strasse", in the historic centre of Vienna, guarantees a vacation in which there is the opportunity to immerse oneself deep into the Viennese soul. 84 Comfortable rooms offer conveniences such as WLAN (free of charge) and Flat screen TVs with Sky programs. At the hotel's restaurant 'Wiener Wirtschaft' typical Viennese down-to-earth cuisine is served in a relaxed ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Erzherzog Rainer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erzherzog Rainer Hotel
Best Western Vienna
Erzherzog Rainer Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing