We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viennese charm in a classical hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Ranked #41 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winnipeg, Manitoba
2 reviews
“Viennese charm in a classical hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I spent 11 nights here. This is an older building, maybe a century or more, but does not show its age, only its elegance. The smaller rooms lack air conditioning, a definite disadvantage in the heat of July, but I only was really uncomfortable on two nights. The staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. The large and varied breakfast buffet nearly justifies the visit on its own. Be careful! You may not be able to handle lunch. My room was clean, elegant, well laid out, and just big enough for one person. The public areas include a charming sitting room, a really nice breakfast room, and a fish pond! The hotel is located a short walk outside Vienna's central core, with excellent access to both the underground (U-Bahn) and the streetcar service, so everything of interest is no more than 15 to 30 minutes away. The immediate area is not of much interest, but this is of no consequence. Overall, the value for money is very high: charming building, exceptional staff, good location, all for a good price. I will certainly put this hotel at the top of my list for a subsequent visit.

Room Tip: In the summer, you may want to book a room with air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear T K,

Thank you for submitting your review and posting it on TripAdvisor. We are glad to learn about your impressions and appreciate your comments.

We noticed your important feedback and improvement suggestion and thank you for helping us, to optimize our offer.

The Hotel Erzherzog Rainer is situated in the 4th district of Vienna and really close to the Opera and transport connection, if you prefer to take the Underground or the tram. Do not hesitate to ask us on site about the best connection or footpaths; we will be pleased to advise you.

We are delighted to be on the top of your list for a subsequent visit and look forward to welcome you back soon.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    346
    62
    16
    8
See reviews for
114
394
76
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very clean, safe area. walking distance to every thing. Although my visit to Vienna was brief, I was traveling and needed a clean, safe, nice hotel within walking distance from the major sites. I got everything with this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear ashmm1,

We are very happy to read that our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer fulfilled all your expectations and therefore you fully enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in future and look forward to your next holidays in Vienna.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
284 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel Erzherzog Rainer is a great choice for all-purpose sight-seeing. It's an older hotel (in the good sense, i.e., even under its new brand it doesn't feel like a chain hotel) and "feels" more expensive than it is. I stayed three nights in one of its simpler rooms (at less than 100 Euro/night): no air-conditioning, but a fan, flat-screen tv, and free wi-fi. My lower-floor room fronted a side street, and with the windows open the streetcar noise was pretty loud; but at night, with the window closed and the fan running, I slept soundly. Front-desk personnel were uniformly friendly and helpful. A fine breakfast buffet is included in the price, and taken in an attractive room - I especially appreciated the various newspapers (including NY Times) that were made available each morning. The hotel restaurant can also be recommended for a good meal.
The hotel's location is handy: a nearby tram stop makes it easy to get anywhere else in the city. And by all means get a Netzkarte for the streetcars/subway: the three-day version costs about $20, and lets you ride as often as you want - I used mine at least twenty times, and rarely waited even 5 minutes for a tram to come by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ranke,

We are glad to learn that you experienced a nice time in Vienna and were very satisfied with your stay. We really appreciate your compliments and detailed description of your impressions.

We send you sunny regards from Vienna and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalston, London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed for two nights - 21st to 23rd June this year. From the time I arrived the staff could not have been more helpful. My room was larger than I expected for the price, clean and very well presented. As others have said the location is great - outside the centre but close enough to walk or take the frequent trams to the Ringstrasse. The breakfast was excellent with a great variety of hot and cold food to cater for all tastes. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vienna for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: My room- 215 - overlooked a small light well and therefore very quiet- no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Patgriffin,

We are delighted to read about your experience at our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer and thank you very much for your compliments.

We are happy we could offer you a memorable stay and appreciate your recommendation to further travellers.

Wishing you a nice summer continuation, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

very good location, 10 minutes walk from karlplatz and ringstrasse.Nice and clean room, free wi-fi (a little slow... but o.k). Very good breakfast. Polite and friendly staff helped me book my trasnfer to the airport at a very good price.i wii definetly prefer this hotel if i ever come back to Vienna

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zissis_Daglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Zissis_Daglis,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. With pleasure we already send your nice comments to our entire team.

We hope that you will soon visit Vienna again and would be very happy to welcome you back.

In the meantime, we remain,

with sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, Lancashire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for a long weekend and thought the hotel was just right. It has lovely clean rooms with a fan which we found ok even though it was quite hot outside. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was delicious. It is really central for sightseeing and as others have said the transport system is handy and efficient. We did think it was slightly tricky to find so to help others, here is the route from the airport....take the Cat train or s7 train to the centre (station Wien Mitte) then change to the U4 underground line travelling in the direction of Hutteldorf, get off at Karlsplatz. Change to the U1 line direction Reumannplatz and get off at Taubstummengasse. As you exit the train, turn left on the platform to the Taubstummengasse exit. Once up the steps keep left towards the exit. This brings you out onto the Main Street with Hotel Johann Strauss in view in front of you. Walk past the front of this hotel and turn left straight after it down Motzartgasse. The hotel is just down there on the right. It sounds complicated but it really isn't, it's very easy. We also found it better value to buy just a public transport 72 hour ticket rather than the Vienna Card. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fabulous hotel

Room Tip: As others have said, ask for a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear jilly48,

We are very glad to read about your stay at our Hotel Erzherzog Rainer and thank you for your nice compliments and comments.

We think it's very kind of you, that you also use your review to write a detailed description for future Vienna travelers. Thus we say in their and our name, thanks.

We wish you a great summer and send best regards to Rossendale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you like nice staff, great service and good breakfast, it's a hotel to stay in, 20 minutes walk city center. The only problem is a noisy main street near by and some rooms having a view to the main street, It's also very warm - rooms are small. But the service and breakfast somehow compensate the bad sleep. The parking space near by is also OK and the area itself is really pleasant.

Room Tip: Room not looking to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Erzherzog Rainer, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Natalija G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community.

We hope you had a nice journey back home and would be pleased to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#48 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erzherzog Rainer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erzherzog Rainer

Property: Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 27/29 | 1040 Vienna, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Vienna
#35 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Business Hotel in Vienna
#58 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#87 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erzherzog Rainer 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition for 100 years, Viennese charm and outstanding Austrian hospitality await guests at the 4-star Hotel Erzherzog Rainer. The central, convenient location in walking distance to the Vienna State Opera and the "Karntner Strasse", in the historic centre of Vienna, guarantees a vacation in which there is the opportunity to immerse oneself deep into the Viennese soul. 84 Comfortable rooms offer conveniences such as WLAN (free of charge) and Flat screen TVs with Sky programs. At the hotel's restaurant 'Wiener Wirtschaft' typical Viennese down-to-earth cuisine is served in a relaxed ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Erzherzog Rainer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erzherzog Rainer Hotel
Best Western Vienna
Erzherzog Rainer Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing