We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Continental
Ranked #148 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A comfortable stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is clean too. The location is convenient.
Will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    165
    46
    13
    7
See reviews for
144
114
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed five days and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The rooms were reasonably large and everything worked: A/C, bath, fridge. It is incredibly handy (30m?) to Vienna's subway system but one can also easily walk to the Old Town. The hotel is only a few blocks from the Spittelberg restaurant district. The subway also provides excellent access to the West Train Station with connections to the international airport. Although the weather was generally good, the hotel loaned us umbrellas on the rainy day. Breakfast was typical continental and the coffee was outstanding. The desk clerk was kind enough to help me wih boarding passes and kept our luggage until departure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We spent 5 nights here during June 2012.
The location: very good with ATM’s, shops and restaurants close by.
The entrance to the building is awful, somewhat sleazy looking with an uninviting smell.
Up to the 1st floor in a tiny lift able to hold 2 suitcases and 2 people in close embrace! Exit to dark dingy passageway towards the Reception area where you will be efficiently processed and given a single key to access your room and the front street door. (It was our suspicion that this was a uniform key for all rooms!)
The rooms (we occupied 2 on separate occasions) were spacious enough, clean and very well equipped in that there were enough electric sockets, chairs, coat hangers and comfy beds etc. One practical item that always impresses me is the simple addition of wall hooks! Wouldn’t you agree that it is nice to enter your room and be able to immediately rid yourself of your load - camera, handbag, hat, jacket etc? The bar fridges worked well although the same could not be said of the air conditioning. Vienna was hot whilst we were there and the air con simply did not work.
The bathrooms functioned well with hot water in supply at all times.
The breakfasts basic and monotonous, although there was plenty of everything on offer.
The staff were helpful and polite - nothing more and nothing less – therefore being somewhat impersonal and uninvolved. For instance, one has to vacate one’s room at 11am and our flight out was late that evening. Our luggage was stowed in the dining room under the watchful eye of the person on duty at reception. It was a very hot day, with a temperature well above 30 deg Celsius. We returned to the hotel mid-afternoon and literally collapsed on the couches in the reception area, tired, hot and sweaty. We must have sat there trying to cool down (the reception air con was set at 26 deg!) for about 1 ½ hours. No-one offered us a glass of cold water or even really acknowledged us! (We had already paid our bill, see!)
Upon arrival for our 2nd stay (mid afternoon) we were informed that there was no water available as the pipes were being worked on. We were told not to try and flush the toilets. Now surely, hospitality being the trade – would you not have some jugs of water ready to give to your guests so that they could at least go to their rooms and wash their hands!
As a footnote I add: Vienna is not the romantic city of our imaginings. We found the people to be generally rude and unhelpful – unlike those in neighbouring Hungary, Slovenia and Croatia etc. Our suggestion is, take a day or two to see the sights (buildings) and spend the rest of your time elsewhere where you will be made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulliversmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A previous review said, "Don't hesitate staying at this hotel". So we did stay and found it just as described. Very clean, well furnished, 10 minutes walk along the colourful Mariahilferstrasse to the Museum Quarter and the Old City. Immaculately presented breakfast in a cosy friendly room.
Staff speak English and were attentive, reliable and helpful beyond expectations. Our double room was spacious and had a high ceiling. The bathroom was clean and everything worked.
We stayed in June and the room was located on the 3rd level, serviced by a lift or alternative spiral staircase. We felt it was very reasonably priced for the location and accommodation offered.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Location : very close to U Neubaugasse stop so that u can easily and conveniently to everwhere.the hotel is at 1st floor of the building

breakfast: perfect..

room : small but extremely clean. Bathroom was so clean.

Reception: open untill 23 :00 , all the stuffs were helpfull

transport from airport: from airport with S7 sbahn untill wien Mitte (landstrasse) ,
from Wien Mitte with U3 bahn untill neubaugasse and just follow mariahilfer
strasse exit

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthensIbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We spent three nights in this small family run hotel and we didn't have any problems at all. On the contrary, the staff members were very friendly, helpful and responssive and they all spoke good English. Our double room wasn't big, but spacious enough for two people, well furnished and comfortable. In addition the view was great since our window was watching streight toward the cathedral oposite the street. The breakfast was basic but sufficient. This hotel's main value is its excellent location t. The hystorical center and all major sightseeings and museums are on walking distance while the subway is just few minutes away. There are numerous of shops, bars and restaurants close to the hotel.
It is not a hotel for somebody looking for a luxurious stay, but certainly it is the best place for all who intend to spend their time around the Vienna's beauties.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krasimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sicilia
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I spent 6 days in a single en suite room.The room was fairly cleaned, well equipped with a mini fridge a sofa, chair,desk and mirror. Two only downsides: the bathroom is a bit small,no kettel to make a cup of tea.Very good central eating.
Breakfast was ok even If there was the lack of sweets things
The location is great,It's Mariahilfingher strasse close to a big shopping centre,the underground stop a stone's throw.
I recommed It

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etna75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Pension Corvinus
Hotel Pension Corvinus
#186 of 360 in Vienna
141 reviews
Neubau
Savoy Hotel Vienna
Savoy Hotel Vienna
#157 of 360 in Vienna
351 reviews
Mariahilf
Pension Mariahilf
Pension Mariahilf
#209 of 360 in Vienna
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#87 of 360 in Vienna
1,181 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#93 of 360 in Vienna
396 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
#164 of 360 in Vienna
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Continental

Property: Hotel-Pension Continental
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 50 | Kirchengasse 1, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Vienna
#104 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#109 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Pension Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel-Pension Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Continental Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing