We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Continental
Ranked #74 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Nothing fancy, but clean comfortable rooms near a U-Bahn station and a shopping district. A few cool bars right down the block too. Room was small, but not cramped. Bed was quite comfortable. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a great variety of cold foods--meats and cheeses, breads, fresh fruit and veggies, hard boiled eggs, etc. Stocked mini bar in room with extra charge, but the prices are reasonable (2.50 euros for a beer). Laptop computer available to use while someone is at the front desk (7am-11pm if I remember). I would stay here again if I ever return to Vienna.

Room Tip: elevator is very small! only room for one person with a bag, so unless you are travelling alone, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franklin962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel but there was a problem with our booking.
The staff were fantastic in sorting out our problem
The hotel was full but they found us accommodation across the road at the Hotel Haydn and transferred the booking plus took us to the hotel
Thank you Anthony and colleague

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Small,relatively inexpensive family-operated hotel close to public transportation and shopping area.About fifteen minutes walking to the Museum district.Breakfast is good and always fresh.It's very important that the family who is running this hotel is very friendly,helpful, and familiar with Vienna.They can give you good advice and directions to any attraction or museum.Even though this hotel-pension is located in an apartment building,my opinion is this it is a good choice in Vienna.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kpete58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is not fancy, but clean, a great value for the money and very convenient to subway lines and shopping areas, with good restaurants close by. They also have a WONDERFUL breakfast buffet available to guests each morning that is included with your stay there, at no extra charge. The buffet offers hot and cold foods, including eggs, omelets, sausage, bacon, cheeses and sliced cold cuts, bagels and croissants, homemade rolls and breads, fresh juices, coffee and teas and homemade jams and jellies, cereals and hot oatmeal and fresh fruit.. The buffet gave us a great start before we took on the sites of Vienna.
There is a small church, Mariahhilfer just steps away from the hotel that looks very plain from the outside but is absolutely beautiful inside. Don't miss seeing it. It's free!
The hotel manager was very helpful and since our train didn't leave until late evening, but check out was 11AM, they allowed us to leave our luggage there at no charge until it was time to get our train.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msfub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Mariahhilferstrasse is an excellent location. The U bahn is steps away and we walked to most of the sites. Breakfast was good and because we had an early flight, they served us a few minutes before breakfast was to begin. The decor is dated, but comfortable and everyone was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We really enjoyed the weekend in Wienna in this hotel, it met all our needs: plesant service, good breakfast, nice rooms, close to shopping as the hotel was in the longest shopping street and close to Concert what we visited (2km by taxi...)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haba67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Myself and 3 high school friends stayed here for 3 nights. The service was excellent (about 2 weeks prior to our stay we emailed to request specific room requirements - 4 separate beds in the Apartment that we had reserved and they took care of it for us no problem). Like I said, we got an apartment - it was clean, spacious, and comfortable. There were 5 separate beds (they were single person beds, as requested); two of the beds were in a small living room area and 3 beds in a separate room. There was a kitchen area and a private bathroom and private shower. The hotel was quiet and comfortable, would definitely stay here again if I return to Vienna.

Room Tip: We emailed prior to our stay to request 4 separate beds - if you have such a requirement, email befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#37 of 359 in Vienna
489 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#123 of 359 in Vienna
429 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#115 of 359 in Vienna
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#52 of 359 in Vienna
708 reviews
Wieden
Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Pension Corvinus
Hotel Pension Corvinus
#182 of 359 in Vienna
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Continental

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 50 | Kirchengasse 1, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#102 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £53 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Pension Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel-Pension Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Continental Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing