We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Continental
Ranked #146 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is a little bit old but nothing that makes it uncomfortable. It was cheap and in an excellent location. It's basically on the high street where all the big brands are located. Breakfast is included - it has a decent selection. The entrance of the hotel however is pretty dodgy. You enter a very dark office-like confined space and you take the lift up to the hotel reception.

The cherry on top would be the amazing staff! I've genuinely not been to any hotel with such good service. The staff helped with my every little query and were such a delight! The owner (I presume) was a nice old man who made funny jokes and the two receptionists (I assume his sons) were incredibly helpful and patient (when I had a load of questions to ask).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Hotel-Pension Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

The hotel is definitely a good choice, relatively cheap, in a good position to visit the city center and the staff is kind.
The included breakfast is OK, with a choice of food which is not really wide or high quality, but still good.
What I would however recommend is to review the star classification, since this is definitely not a four stars hotel. The furniture of the room and of the bathroom is old and, at least in my room, not in perfect conditions.
Still I would recommend it to visit the beautiful Vienna.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praefectum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Nothing fancy, but clean comfortable rooms near a U-Bahn station and a shopping district. A few cool bars right down the block too. Room was small, but not cramped. Bed was quite comfortable. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a great variety of cold foods--meats and cheeses, breads, fresh fruit and veggies, hard boiled eggs, etc. Stocked mini bar in room with extra charge, but the prices are reasonable (2.50 euros for a beer). Laptop computer available to use while someone is at the front desk (7am-11pm if I remember). I would stay here again if I ever return to Vienna.

Room Tip: elevator is very small! only room for one person with a bag, so unless you are travelling alone, be...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franklin962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel but there was a problem with our booking.
The staff were fantastic in sorting out our problem
The hotel was full but they found us accommodation across the road at the Hotel Haydn and transferred the booking plus took us to the hotel
Thank you Anthony and colleague

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Small,relatively inexpensive family-operated hotel close to public transportation and shopping area.About fifteen minutes walking to the Museum district.Breakfast is good and always fresh.It's very important that the family who is running this hotel is very friendly,helpful, and familiar with Vienna.They can give you good advice and directions to any attraction or museum.Even though this hotel-pension is located in an apartment building,my opinion is this it is a good choice in Vienna.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kpete58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is not fancy, but clean, a great value for the money and very convenient to subway lines and shopping areas, with good restaurants close by. They also have a WONDERFUL breakfast buffet available to guests each morning that is included with your stay there, at no extra charge. The buffet offers hot and cold foods, including eggs, omelets, sausage, bacon, cheeses and sliced cold cuts, bagels and croissants, homemade rolls and breads, fresh juices, coffee and teas and homemade jams and jellies, cereals and hot oatmeal and fresh fruit.. The buffet gave us a great start before we took on the sites of Vienna.
There is a small church, Mariahhilfer just steps away from the hotel that looks very plain from the outside but is absolutely beautiful inside. Don't miss seeing it. It's free!
The hotel manager was very helpful and since our train didn't leave until late evening, but check out was 11AM, they allowed us to leave our luggage there at no charge until it was time to get our train.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msfub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Mariahhilferstrasse is an excellent location. The U bahn is steps away and we walked to most of the sites. Breakfast was good and because we had an early flight, they served us a few minutes before breakfast was to begin. The decor is dated, but comfortable and everyone was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Pension Corvinus
Hotel Pension Corvinus
#177 of 361 in Vienna
148 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#111 of 361 in Vienna
403 reviews
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#87 of 361 in Vienna
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Savoy Hotel Vienna
Savoy Hotel Vienna
#152 of 361 in Vienna
357 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Mariahilf
Pension Mariahilf
Pension Mariahilf
#210 of 361 in Vienna
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Continental

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 50 | Kirchengasse 1, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Vienna
#104 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#109 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £61 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Pension Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Pension Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Pension Continental Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing