We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not on the best part of mariahilfer street”
Review of Tourotel Mariahilf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tourotel Mariahilf
Ranked #257 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not on the best part of mariahilfer street”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

the location is convenient as its so close to the west bahnhoff (train station) and the metro but this part of the street can be a little sketchy at night...the rooms are spacious and clean..but the corridors and the reception need to be renovated..the breakfast in the news cafe which is a block away from the hotel is amazing!! serves all day too!
i recommend this hotel if you don't mind having to use transportation to get to wherever .The 72 hour Vienna card makes it easier as it offers free access to all public transportation and discounts on a lot of museum tickets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    157
    86
    42
    25
See reviews for
61
147
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is conveniently located close to trams and metro. It's also close to one of the major shopping streets.
The room was clean, the interior dated and beds kind of uncomfortable... But it´s "OK" value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

If only management would care.]
The hotel is conveniently located 3 blocks away from the metro station, so you can go anywhere in Vienna from that location. The hotel room and bathroom was very clean. The and even though I had a parking lot view with nice trees, we slept very well, with comfortable beds and no noise. There is no coffee available in the room but you can see is that the employees do their job cleaning the room extremely well. The Hotel has great bones, but you can feel that management does not want to put a dime to take care of details. It has a great vintage staircase but needs a good cleaning and buffing, the flowers in the staircase that are dusty and seemed to be there since they open the hotel. They have two major assets in the reception Mio and Maria Angeles, they are extremely helpful and nice. Mio delivered a champagne bottle and chocolates himself to our room since he knew it was our 25 wedding anniversary-suspect he bought those items himself. Julia on the other side is unhelpful and obnoxious, when we got there she did not gave us information such as: we need to insert a card in the room to get electricity or breakfast. She also gave us wrong directions to a bakery we wanted to go, she was a disaster! The hotel has great bones if management would care, and pay attention to detail: hotel amenities, coffee machine in the rooms, cleanliness and care of the decorations of the hotel to make the guest feel you are suppose to be in a four star hotel. I would recommend the hotel if you only need a clean room and bathroom with a convenient location but that's it! Do not expect anything else.

Room Tip: Recommendable only if you need good location three blocks from the metro station and very clean bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beticita09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel has no air condition!! It was very hot on July. The bed sheets were dirty!!!!!!! I wasn't feeling comfortable. Also it is very far from the city center if you go by foot. The only good thing is the staff, they are very friendly people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marievie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel was conveniently situated next to the railway station which meant it was only a quick ride into the centre of Vienna. However, there were plenty of places to eat and drink near by and further along Maria Hilfer Strasse.

Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were well maintained. For the price I don't think you could do better in an expensive city such as Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamesider_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel is about 500 yards from Westbahnhof station - and also 500 yards from where the smart end of Mariahilfer Strasse starts. The immediate area is well supplied with takeaways and cafes but nothing that remotely resembles 'fine dining'. The more memorable bits of Vienna are 3 stops away on the UBahn from Westbahnhof or, if you are feeling fit, a 25 minute downhill stroll on Mariahhilfer Strasse to the Museum Quarter. The hotel is fine for a short stay and our room was large enough to be comfortable but with rather spartan furnishings which had seen better days. The only 'extra' was a hairdryer in the bathroom. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and WiFi could only be accessed from the lobby. The bed was too soft for my liking, but the bathroom was OK - large bath, strong shower and instant and plentiful hot water. The staff were excellent - polite and helpful at all times and well worth consulting about any aspect of Vienna. They all spoke fluent English. The hotel does do a buffet breakfast, but it is on the expensive side and there are plenty of alternative options close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Don't often have cause to criticise hotels and I do think that a lot of the critical reviews on TA are based upon unrealistic expectations but I was not happy that what I thought was a 4* hotel was no better than 2* in my opinion.

The staff were courteous and very helpful so no complaints there.

My main gripe is the room which was very small, scruffy and uncomfortable. The beds were far too soft and uncomfortable. The room was really small - this was disappointing I we had read online that the rooms were large. Judging by the plan on the back of the door, our room wasn't even the smallest.

I suppose it was fine for 2 nights but I would not have liked to stay any longer than this.

The door lock/key thingy is 'interesting' but Ok once you get the hang of it.

The best thing about the hotel was its location - only a 5 minute walk from the metro station/main railway station. There are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity.

We bought 48 hour metro tickets which cost about €12 and were great value giving us unlimited access to the network for 2 days.

Loved Vienna and highly recommend doing a bike tour which we did one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Furstenhof
Hotel Furstenhof
#193 of 360 in Vienna
214 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Hotel Lucia
#55 of 360 in Vienna
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#165 of 360 in Vienna
351 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Odeon
Hotel Odeon
#270 of 360 in Vienna
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourotel Mariahilf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourotel Mariahilf

Property: Tourotel Mariahilf
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 156, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tourotel Mariahilf 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tourotel Mariahilf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourotel Mariahilf Vienna
Tourotel Mariahilf Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing