We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful location and not 4 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tourotel Mariahilf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tourotel Mariahilf
Ranked #242 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Tallinn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“awful location and not 4 star hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Have stayed there for 1 night 20-21.04 First of all i was happy to get with that price 4 star hotel in Vienna, location by the map seem to be good, but in the evening i understood what was the point. In the beginning it was strange why the do not offer reception service from noon, u should just open the door by card, for 4 star its strange. Only plus was size of room was qiute big and from my window was good view to qiute garden, but the reason i could not sleep was, that exactly on this street there are a lots of womans selling themselfes, when i came from tube to hotel, near every building were standing few of them, and some of them using this hotel for this service, i couldnt sleep at all in this hotel, because there were going there and back all night...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meranda777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    155
    85
    41
    23
See reviews for
61
145
52
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We were in Wien just for three days in the middle of december 2009.
The hotel is located at the end of Mariahilferstrasse, not so far away from the center (45 minutes of walking and looking at the stores). The tram and the subway are just near the hotel, they can also call a cab from the reception (we recommend the subway - cheaper and very good).
We stayed in a large "room" (it was a two rooms apartment), with a view to the main street. It was very clean and warm.
The breakfast was very good (the lunch not so good).
Overall - good experience.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greeceno1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

If you can get a discount rate on a travel website, the value is hard to beat for central Vienna. Unlike some of the negative reviews, there was absolutely nothing wrong with my stay - quiet/clean room (away from the street), very helpful staff, extremely convenient location (close to a major train terminal and subway, pub with free internet around the corner). The bed was on the small side, but reasonable enough for a solo traveler and nothing out of the ordinary by European standards.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vladb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We chose this hotel based solely on price & proximity to Westbahnhof where we were leaving by night train so we wanted to leave our bags at a close hotel for the day after we checked out. The room was quite large, it was clean, it worked out well. If staying for awhile in Vienna, it would have been nice to have a refrigerator or some other amenities (like wifi) but for the price, this hotel was just fine. Plenty of shops, bars, cafes very close by too.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amypelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Hotel was to a good standard and good value for money. It was very clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel has a nice feel to it and the rooms are kept tidy. Our room was cleaned everyday as expected. You aren't provided any of the luxuries you get at some other hotels like shampoo etc. so take your own. You are provided with hand wash and shower gel. We did not eat at the restaurant so unable to comment on it. There are plenty of places to eat near the hotel if you walk further down past Westbanof station and cross the tram lines.

The hotel is outside of the city centre but the transport links are good. To get from the airport to the hotel take the Postbus to Westbanof station. The journey is 35 minutes and if you get a Vienna 72hr travel card at the airport at the baggage reclaim area the single ticket is 5 Euros. From Westbanof station it is a 5 minute walk. I got lost because I didn't print a map out and took the wrong road. Turn around once you are off the coach and you will see the station behind you. Walk through there and you will end up on the main road on the other side.

If you don't mind the travel to the city centre then this is a good hotel. From the hotel it is a 5 minute walk to Westbanof underground station (where you are dropped off from the airport). Taking the underground takes about 15 minutes to reach St Stephen's Cathedral stop and you are literally in the centre when you go outside.

Vienna is quite pricey and you will find most places even cafes are rather highly priced.

Hotel was good (working out the funny key entry into your room is fun to!). I would recommend this hotel if you don't mind not being in the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed at Hotel Tourotel for two nights. The staff was very friendly and had a great manner. The rooms are very big and so clean and bed was very comfortable. The area was quiet and very close to undeground and trams. The breakfast was very good and delicious, we could choose from variety of vegetable and fruit, I enjoyed a breakfast in hotel Tourotel. The internet access in the lobby was a nice feature. I would certainly return to this hotel in the future, I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Vienna is an expensive city, so it is a good news to find a decent hotel for 50 euros a night. True enough, just across the road there is a hostel, Wombat - great for those who do not mind sharing a room - but, as I like my privacy and comfort, the extra money for a single room are worth it. Back to Tourotel Mariahilf: the only issue was that, once I entered the room, for the first seconds or so I could smell the tobacco smoke from previous visitors. Otherwise, good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exoplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Dobling
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#269 of 362 in Vienna
290 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Furstenhof
Hotel Furstenhof
#205 of 362 in Vienna
201 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourotel Mariahilf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourotel Mariahilf

Property: Tourotel Mariahilf
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 156, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#150 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tourotel Mariahilf 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tourotel Mariahilf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourotel Mariahilf Vienna
Tourotel Mariahilf Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing