We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location to city, good service”
Review of Sommerhotel Wieden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sommerhotel Wieden
Ranked #218 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a quiet location but not far from the train station or the city. The room was a good size and was clean. The buffet breakfast provided a good choice and the dining room was cosy. There was no bar open but were friendly bars close by. The staff were helpful and efficient. My stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claireym50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Sommerhotel Wieden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Booked a room for 2 for 2 nights
It was great!
The rooms are clean
The location is great! Close to the main train station and to stephan platz
Breakfast is limited but it was okay.
Staff is really nice and friendly
Internet is not available in the rooms, only in the reception

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank JudeO92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here last summer, in August and there is nothing negative that can be said about this hotel.
The accommodation was adequate for the price, simple, but clean and functional.
Breakfast has everything you need, we did not missed a thing.
We used the external parking offered by the hotel, which is little bit away from the hotel (about 7-10 minutes walking), only issue was that nobody at the hotel knew, what parking slot and where belongs to hotel. So we took the risk and just left our car on some parking slot :)
The city centre is in the walking distance and the hotel surroundings are not bad. Though we had our food always in the city centre, so I cannot share much about closer amenities.
I recommend this hotel, especially to those who travel on budget and want some clean and decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jana_von_Hijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I was a guest in Sommerhotel Weiden 7 months ago, with my friends from Serbia. We had a breakfast everyday and food was excellent, service was great and everybody was very generous. Hotel is OK, monumental building, and the interiour design is OK, like any other. Food was very tasty. Every day, for breakfast, we had a buffet.The rooms were cleaned everyday, and chambermaid was very polite and always with a smile.

3rd-5th July 2013. Conference "Empowering young people-connecting Europe"

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dusan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

i stayed for couple of days in this hotel. It was very economical hotel with neat and clean environment. Good breakfast and located near the subway. My overall opinion about this hotel is quite positive. Compared to the price, it gives you good environment. I would recommend if you are a traveller, want to explore Vienna and need a reasonable place to stay.

Room Tip: Single rooms are bit small. the bed is quite small then a normal size single bed. The wifi does not...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilyas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is very nice hotel. It is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. It us licated about 3-5 min walk to U-bahn station "Südtiroler Platz", which is the direct line to "Karlsplatz" (State Opera) and "Stephan Platz" (Stephansdom). It is also around 10-15 min walk from Belvedere. Rhe breakfasts served are pretty good too.

The only disadvantage is that it does not have many cafes or grocery stores nearby. However, on the last day of our stay we learned that there are some stores on Favoritenstrasse. Also, this hotel turns into a student dorm for several months. During that time, it is closed for regular tourists. Overall, it is a nice hotel for a reasonable price and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Photolana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The price for Vienna was very reasonable. The Breakfast was very good. Centre of town not too far away. Just a few train stops away. Staff were very friendly. Wi-Fi is only available in the foyer.Rooms were basic but comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen37_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Kolbeck
#228 of 361 in Vienna
223 reviews
Wieden
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Wieden
Ibis Wien Hauptbahnhof
Ibis Wien Hauptbahnhof
#181 of 361 in Vienna
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#185 of 361 in Vienna
697 reviews
Wieden
Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sommerhotel Wieden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sommerhotel Wieden

Address: Schelleingasse 36, Vienna 1040, Austria (Formerly Rosen Hotel Wieden )
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £44 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sommerhotel Wieden 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sommerhotel Wieden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing