We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an unbelievable experience...”
Review of Le Meridien Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Vienna
Ranked #78 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always an unbelievable experience...”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I have been staying in this hotel for many years already and it is my preferred choice when I travel to Vienna. The hotel is just facing the Opera, it is at the heart of the city and next to U2 subway station, which has great connectivity everywhere. The hotel is surrounded by green areas, which make it an excellent place for walks and relaxing moments.
The hotel staff is extremly nice, welcoming, always smiling, caring and will make your stay very comfortable.
The rooms are all arranged in a very specific, modern style and design. Glass and wood are the leading components and they make the room look very 'fresh'. The complimentary minibar is a very nice feature and I appreciated very much the spaciousness in all types of rooms.
The gym is outsourced to a fitness company - it is nice although it is small. The only problem are the opening hours - especially during weekends the gym and pool/spa are opened within a very small time range. The massage at Le Meridien are great, they are a bit expensive, but professionally done and very relaxing. The spa/pool area contains a pool and a jacuzzi. Additionally there are chairs for relaxing and the whole area is very neat and clean.
The continental breakfast al Le Moet is a nice alternative although I prefer to have breakfast outside of the hotel - there are several places very close by that offer even a better breakfast and you can enjoy the Viennese atmosphere.
Overall the hotel is a very moderm and stylish place and it is always a great experience for me to stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Ring might be noisy due to the traffic. Rooms on the 7th. floor have a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear “Pat K”,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about the Le Méridien Vienna. It is great to hear that our hospitality always brings you back to our hotel and it is certainly a pleasure to host you.

Your comments about our services are proofing that our daily efforts by our associates are well recognized and appreciated. As you are one of our regular guests you are very familiar with all of our amenities and we are happy that you can benefit from those. Our recreation area has indeed limited opening times on the weekends, from 09.00am to 07.30pm. But as we would like to offer our guests a healthy and fit stay throughout 24hrs, your key card can be coded for a free access to the fitness area off the opening times. Just ask for that next time upon your check-in!

Vienna has truly so many culinary sides to discover and it would be a pity if you would not try those charming old cafés with delicious Viennese breakfast. We might seduce you though next time for a great breakfast at our Shambala restaurant were you will be awaken with all your five senses :)!

I hope to see you soon back at the Le Méridien Vienna and it would be pleasure to meet you in person.

Kind regards,

Katharina Grafl
Guest Relations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,419
    938
    283
    114
    68
See reviews for
422
1,106
209
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here with my son and daughter in two separate rooms during our quick visit to Vienna. Check in was fast, informations given were clear and accurate. Our car was taken to vallet parking after we unloaded at the front of hotel without any trouble. Rooms were side by side, greatly appreciated. I first did like well organized and efficiently appointed room. My IPad connected to wi-fi without any trouble, which doesn't happen in every hotel. The bathroom is different and modern but I felt, that the pink tub took roo much room that could have been dedicated to double sink instead. Bedroom itself is very small and with couple of full size luggages it was hard to move around and feel comfortable.. The bed is rather mediocre. Hallways are long, have steps in them and carry resonating sound of closing doors.
LOCATION is the best asset of this hotel. We walked everywhere, didn't have any troubles orienting ourselves.
Although I feel that this property should be rated as 4 stars, we left satisfied.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvToTravel061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear “LuvToTravel061“,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your last stay at the Le Méridien Vienna. We were delighted to host you and your family and hope to welcome you soon back, maybe also for a longer period of time!

Generally spoken, the Le Méridien Vienna is trying to define itself over an inimitable atmosphere which is creating an inspiring environment for all different kind of characters and guests staying at our hotel. Those are the values for our personal definition of an exclusive five star ambiance.

I am happy to hear that your overall experience was up to your satisfaction and that we were able to make your stay even better with our services. Our standard rooms have a size of 30m2 where I can imagine that the space might get a little bit tight with a couple of full size luggage. Upon your request we would have certainly double checked the occupancy and offered you an upgrade to a higher room category upon availability. Not all of our rooms have a tub so for your next reservations we gladly take your preference of a double sink in consideration.

If there is anything I can do for you or for one of your next stays please do not hesitate to contact me personally via katharina.grafl@lemeridien.com. I rest on your disposal and my best wishes from Vienna.

Katharina Grafl
Guest Relations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

From the moment we checked in to the day we left, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Roman at the front desk greeted us with a warm welcome and had us checked in within minutes.
The girl at the desk in the morning made a train reservation for us and the bellman walked with me to show me where to park my car. Now that is personal service.
Loved our stay.

Room Tip: High floor with veranda are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msalhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear “msalhani”,

Thank you very much for your nice review regarding your last stay at the Le Méridien Vienna. It is great to hear that you felt our passion for our guests with a warm welcome and a sincere goodbye.

Attentive service and quality are our commitments … because luxury has a soul!
In this spirit I hope to see you soon again!

Best regards,

Katharina Grafl
Guest Relations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed over a long weekend. Had a room on 2nd floor - which was standard. The front desk were very helpful. The hotel is great to explore the old town of vienna, we walked everywhere. You also get a free mini-bar - water, coke & 1 beer. We used the pool - it is smaller than on the website, but the jacuzzi is nice. We also had breakfast included, great selection of foods, breads and drinks.
As for negatives: it perhaps trys to be too cool. The bar is pretty quiet. Its not the cheapest place in town. But we would happily go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear “LondonMiles”,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your last stay at the Le Méridien Vienna. Our guest’s opinion is always highly valued and we appreciate that you have taken the time to write us your feedback.

Indeed our hotel benefits a lot from its great location and it is the perfect venue to start an exciting day full of sightseeing. But what makes us even happier to hear is the fact that our staff was accommodating and responsive to your needs. You might find everywhere a nice hotel in a good location with great facilities but it does not mean anything without the extra touch of the staff members. The general atmosphere of the Le Méridien is truly a little bit off beat and maybe cool in an artsy way but our employees are the ones who have to give the extra portion of warmth.

We sincerely hope to welcome you soon back in Vienna where we have a second chance to not only proof our trendy but also our gentle side. If there is anything I can do for you meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me. I rest on your disposal and see you next time!

Best regards,

Katharina Grafl
Guest Relations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a result of a renovation and recovery of an old building which probably has affected the layout. The lobby is full of artworks (contemporary) which make it singular but not necessarily nice as is quite dark. Check in and out time are quite long. Rooms are ok even if, for some unknown reason, I was not given a room in the spg floor being tough a spg member. Ailes to the rooms are quite dark and narrows.
The hotel is conveniently located close to the Opera (5 min walk) Breakfast if not in the room rate is quite expensive.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Satriale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear “Satriale”,

Thank you very much for your sharing your honest feedback about your last stay at the Le Méridien Vienna. We appreciate your open words, especially as you are also one of our highly valued SPG guests, and are taking this chance to develop our quality and services.

I am very sorry to hear that some points of your stay were obviously disappointing. Certainly our hotel has a big focus on contemporary art and design elements but it saddens me that you could not identify yourself that much with this atmosphere.

Our SPG floors are located on the third and fourth level but unfortunately we do not have any club lounge on those floors. Please accept my apologies that you were given a room on a different level but please be assured that you did not lose any of your SPG benefits for that reason.

The price of the breakfast has an average price range compared to other city hotels in Vienna and we take good care of the value for money.

We would be delighted to host you another time and would seize this chance to convince you from our commitment to attentive service…because luxury has a soul at the Le Méridien Vienna.

Kind regards,

Katharina Grafl
Guest Relations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We loved the location and amenities that the hotel offered. The claw foot tub and separate shower are wonderful! Always consistent hot water and great water pressure. The free drinks in the mini bar are a nice treat too. Best hotel I've stayed at in Europe. Only complaint is the concierge service- Was given completely wrong directions that wasted an afternoon then they called a day early at 5am for our airport pickup! But other staff- front desk, housekeeping, etc was great so just stay away from the concierge desk!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear “Charlene F”,

Thank you very much for your review and nice recommendation about your last stay at the Le Méridien Vienna. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could benefit from our superb location.

We are always delighted to “spoil” our guests with some nice and maybe also unexpected treats i.e. the complimentary refreshment center in our rooms. Did you actually know that our bath tub was designed in three different colors to fit the color theme of the room?

Nonetheless I would like to apologize for the uncomfortable situation you experienced with our concierge service. It is definitely unacceptable that you were given wrong directions and we discussed your feedback already within the team to make sure that such a situation won’t occur again.

We would be delighted to host you soon again and I personally rest on your disposal for any kind of needs. Please do not hesitate to contact me via katharina.grafl@lemeridien.com for any inquiries.

Best regards,

Katharina Grafl
Guest Relations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We spend 4 days in Vienna and once more we chose "le Meridien"...We love the location and we like the hotel.We had an upgrade to executive room(large,nice room),with a view to operning street and a small balcony.
My only minor complaint is to little improve the consierge service,on Sunday,when looking to find a restaurant for lunch...they recommend us 2 restaurants,both were closed....I also believe that consierge should have a larger and updated variety of recomendations in terms of entairtaiment in all segments...

Room Tip: If you want a large room ask for an executive room,3rd and 4th floor rooms,looking the Opernring str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tekilaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear “tekilaAthens”,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your last stay at the Le Méridien Vienna. We certainly loved to have you with us and it was a pleasure to contribute with our services to your vacation.

Nonetheless I would like to apologize that the concierge service was disappointing you which I can totally understand as it was truly not up to our standards. To show our guests the hidden jewels of Vienna is our commitment and we discussed your comments already with the Ambassador team. It should definitely not happen that a recommended restaurant is closed and further actions have been taken to make sure that our team is always up to date, no matter what information is needed. This is very important and I would like to thank you for pointing that out.

We do hope that we might have the pleasure to welcome you soon back and we would seize
this chance to convince you one more time from our quality and services.

Best regards,

Katharina Grafl
Guest Relations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#27 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#77 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Vienna

Property: Le Meridien Vienna
Address: Opernring 13, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#29 Business Hotel in Vienna
#57 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#60 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#67 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Vienna is an art hotel in Vienna that conveys modern European design and lifestyle but is yet typically Viennese.Discover more than meets the eye; transition from the outside world into the world of Le Méridien. Experience our Unlock ArtTM programme, keys that open more than just guest room doors. Elevate your senses during your stay in Vienna.Between two historical parks and encompassed by art and architecture, the design hotel Le Méridien Vienna marks the front edge of the historic Ringstrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Vienna Hotel Vienna
Le Meridien Hotel Vienna
Vienna Le Meridien
Meridien Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing