We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, modern hotel in Vienna's first district - recommended for business or leisure travel”
Review of Le Meridien Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Vienna
Ranked #72 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Hotel: Very good, modern hotel in Vienna's first district (Innere Stadt), steps away from the Ringstraße & tram that encircle it. The hotel is situated on a beautiful tree lined street and is mere several minutes' walk from historic sites in the Innere Stadt - e.g., the Vienna State Opera and the Museumsquartier. Many restaurants, sites and shops very close. Also, well situated for business.

While the exterior facade is more classic, the interior is very stylish with great modern decor, lighting and artwork in the Lobby, Restaurant & Bar, and the very cool street-side Champagne & Chocolate Bar / Cafe. Taxi stand outside, and public transport with mere feet of the front door ensure great transportation options should you desire.

The Room: Very nice, moderately sized King room. The modern decor carries from the lobby and main areas into the room - which has great modern decor, lighting, and is well appointed. Nice king bed, which was firm, but comfortable with good linen. There were a small upholstered chaise and upholstered chair, with a small table between, the table had glasses and a large bottle of still water. A small, modern desk, with phone and wall mounted flat-screen television above sat across the room from the bed. There were a small closet safe, a small refrigerator stocked with drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic), and a small closet with robes, slippers. Very nice and varied lighting. Two full size windows which opened - nice on cool evening as ventilation was inadequate.

The bath was very well appointed, also in modern, clean lines, with a stand-alone shower, a freestanding bathtub, and a single sink vanity. Sundries were provided (Le Meridien labeled) - incl shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap. Very modern, multi-head shower. Quite nice, if poorly lit for shaving, etc. - though shaving mirror helps with last item. High marks for room, and appointment within same. Internet Service was complimentary, though a for-fee high-speed option was also available and worked quite well. Typical asst of television and movie options. Room Service was Prompt, effusively friendly. All in all, excellent room.

The Staff: From Front Desk, to Concierge, to Room Service the staff was excellent; they were professional, prompt, friendly throughout my stay. When I failed to pick up for 3am wake up call, front desk sent someone up to wake me - greatly appreciated. Concierge recommended two local restaurants - both excellent.

The Practicalities: King Room was just over US$530 for two nights stay.

The Verdict: Absolutely recommended for business or leisure travel in central Vienna.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothee C, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear “Dave_from_MN” ,
it is fantastic to read your extensive feedback about your stay at Le Meridien Vienna! Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your various experiences. The great comments that you gave on our location, the room, our services and the interior was certainly shared with our associates – it is always a great pleasure to receive such great feedback as it shows that our daily work and enthusiasm is being appreciated. Vienna also indeed offers a variety of extraordinary restaurants – we are happy that our concierge was able to pick some suitable options for you. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Vienna and at Le Meridien one day – there is a lot more to discover!
In case you need any recommendations prior to your arrival, please let us know any time – we will be more than happy to assist you!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 2,999 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

The location is great and close to many Viennese attractions. The room service menu is tasty and the service is very convenient and professional. Breakfast was OK as far as value for money goes. I imagine most guests eat there for free if they're Starwood members. Le Meridien can't otherwise charging all guests $40 for breakfast. This hotel must improve on maintenance and housekeeping. Those two departments are not at the 5-star level. They should stop charging for Wi-Fi because it's pointless in this day of age to not offer this service for free. If you fancy design music and art, then you might enjoy the elevator music and quirky art. We didn't care for it much! One more thing, change the mattress in the room as it is uncomfortable. I expected a heavenly bed, but I guess that's only in Westin :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anincid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothee C, Front Office Supervisor at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear “Anincid”,

Many thanks for your detailed review on your recent stay at Le Méridien Vienna. As we can learn from your comments, you did benefit from our great location and professional service, however had some negative experiences during your time with us as well. We are deeply sorry that we could not meet your expectations in every way – as a guest of our property you should be able to benefit from all our services and amenities and enjoy a very comfortable and unforgettable stay.

In regards of the breakfast we would like to let you know that it is not complementary for all members of Starwood per se – it is true that all members that have reached the Platinum level are given the choice of a free breakfast, but can also chose from other benefits. All other guests who decide to join the breakfast buffet will be charged either €32.- or €25.-.The latter if they chose the breakfast package during the Check-in process. According to your comment you were not entirely content with our rich breakfast offer – maybe you could be so kind as to indicate where possible enhancements could be made in your opinion. The many options to assort your breakfast with us is usually being appreciated by our guests as we do not only offer a variety of cold but also hot dishes, an assortment of bread, pastry and cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurt and much more. In addition our very own “Signature breakfast” creations are being offered, which were especially created by our chef - presenting traditional breakfast dishes with a new and exciting face. If we can provide you with more details regarding this topic, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Also concerning the mentioned necessary improvements of our housekeeping service and maintenance we would be grateful for further details in order to allocate possible defects and inform the responsible heads of department.

We are furthermore sorry for any possible misunderstanding regarding our internet connection – we do offer a free Wi-Fi Connection for all our guests, which they can feel free to use in their rooms or elsewhere in the hotel. Please ask for assistance any time at your next visit, our associates will be more than happy to help you.

Despite some inconveniences who were apparently faced with during your stay we would be very pleased to welcome you back at Le Méridien Vienna, not only to make up for any shortcomings but to be given the possibility to assure you our professional service and of our continuous ambition to create a positive experience for all our guests

Therefore we remain at your disposal for any requests and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon with us!

Warm regards to Bregana,
Nicole Kirchbaumer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Le Meridien is a uniquely modern property although located, like many of the stuffier hotel-palaces, right on the Ring. It goes for an artsy and edgier vibe, which interestingly reflects Vienna's evolution in recent years from a dusty museum-piece city wallowing in its Hapsburg memories. The hotel's restaurants/bars aim for a correspondingly artsy local crowd, and do seem to get local fashionista/hipsters as their customers. (Be warned about Vienna generally - smoking in bars and restaurants is both permitted and ubiquitous! I fled more than one restaurant after reaching my limit on second-hand smoke.)

The location is quite simply perfect, between old and new Vienna. It's kitty corner to the Opera and the Karnterstrasse shopping district, a few hundred yards from the Kunsthistorisches Museum and the Hofburg; across the street from the old city, and almost as close in the opposite direction to the Karlsplatz and its abundance of public transportation options, and beyond that the Naschmarkt, and the Technische Universitat. The staff is uniformly young and eager to please, without the snootiness of the Imperial or the Bristol. I had a suitcase whose bottom panel broke on my arrival, and a maintenance man generously took it for the day and returned it patched and repaired sufficiently to make it back to NYC, asking nothing in return though of course I tipped him generously for it. The hotel has a gym (accessible any time to guests) with a small pool (accessible only during attended hours but still an amazing perk for an urban hotel in Europe!) and with both an interior courtyard and rooms facing an adjacent park in front of the Kunstakademie next door, it has lots of quiet room options despite the frontage on the clanging, banging Ringstrasse.

Why my reservations? The conversion to a hotel from the 19th century palais was poorly done. The rooms are large but done in a fairly stark Scandinavian/industrial style, and so lacking in a sense of creature comfort. It was meant to fit in with the trendy/arty ethos, but it flopped as a design concept. The chairs are not particularly comfortable, the blond wood floors already show considerable scuffing. The closet is just space covered by one sliding glass panel which in any event leaves most of the hanging space exposed at any given time. There is a lot of dead open space in the room, but no dressers or cabinets, just a couple of small rolling cubes with open storage space inside them that have no obvious function. The "coffee table" in the seating arrangement is stocked with art and design books, again instead of providing real storage space for clothes and personal effects. The heating/ventilation system made clanking sounds which maintenance immediately recognized and repaired on being called, but it took me two nights of trying to sleep through it before I decided that this was not just a function of being in a historic Viennese building. It was quickly and immediately repaired - which was great; except that it told me that this was a problem of which the hotel was aware and yet not on top of. The very top floor rooms are in the eaves of the building and have skylights instead of windows if you don't mind having no view; on the next floor down, the Executive rooms are smaller, with less furniture, and lower ceilings, than their identically-priced counterparts on the floors below; and they have windows placed so high on the walls that you can't even reach them to look out if you are of an average height. They feel like prison walls and windows. I was very disappointed on being shown to one of these at check-in, as it looked nothing like the website photo of the room class and was distinctly claustrophobic; but was then shown a couple of others which were a considerable improvement, with a daybed (missing upstairs in the smaller configuration) and large windows which opened but were still totally soundproofed. I managed to make the move with minimal inconvenience, so don't settle until you're happy.

The large bathrooms are a problem. They do have huge walk-in showers and separate soaking tubs; but once again, there is no space for more than minimal toiletries by the sink - or anywhere but the floor for that matter. Note too that the hotel is replacing shower doors in some of the rooms as they were designed attractively - but foolishly - with no seal at floor level and no angled drainage away from the door. Every time I took a shower the entire bathroom floor became a lake; and there is absolutely no way to prevent this from happening - I tried creating a seal with every towel in the place, and had to make sure that NOTHING was on the floor before I took a shower or it would be soaked through. The hotel knows this is a serious design flaw and is apparently working on correcting it, but until it's done, make sure that the room you are given has a strip blocking the shower door from the floor of the bathroom - DO NOT accept a room that has not been fixed in this regard.

Overall, however, and subject to my caveats about the rooms themselves, I would go back to this property again for the location, the reasonable rates, and the simpatico and eager-to-please staff. I would definitely check the shower before settling into any room though!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothee C, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Mark M,
thank you so much for your extensive and accurate review regarding your stay at Le Meridien Vienna and for sharing the various impressions with us.
As it seems you were able to enjoy your time a tour property and could benefit from our service quality and high level standards.
Your comments about our property’s condition are being handled with much care and are discussed continously with the respective departments.
We of course constantly bestir ourselves to keep our property in perfect conditions, regarding technical state of the art equipment as well as our f&b outlets and the general appearance of the hotel. The most important overall is the comfort and satisfaction of our guests and that we are constantly offering the best service quality and surrounding possible.
As we could meet your expectations regarding service standards of our staff members, we are very much hoping to welcome you back at out hotel in the nearer future. We are convinced that we can create an unforgettable stay for you Therefore please feel free to contact us regarding any requests or particular preferences; we will be happy to assist you any time!
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Amazing Hotel, the hotel´s location is wonderful, very close to subway station, street car and bus lines.
The staff was always helpful and polite, the room was clean and in excellent condition.
There was a Brazilian Barbecue Restaurant very close.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flsluque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothee C, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear << Flsluque >>
Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review. We appreciate that you have taken your time to share your impressions with us and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our location is truly a nice benefit but for us it is even more important that you felt comfortable at Le Meridien Vienna and that our staff members were responsive to your needs.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future and I always rest on your disposal for any kind of requests.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A really great example of a perfectly well-run hotel. The rooms are spacious and beds are incredibly comfortable. Wonderful bathroom facilities too. Each and every member of staff was so helpful and polite.

My only complaint was the €9.50 a bottle charge for sparkling water in the restaurant, we didn't ask for more but it kept being poured, we spent €40 on water!!!

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms have great balconies :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olibartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothee C, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear << Olibartle >>,
thank you for your great feedback regarding the experience you made with our team and the room facilities. It makes us very happy to hear that our associates were accomodating and responsive to your needs and that you felt very comfortable during your stay at Le Meridien Vienna. The cost of d sparkling water in the restaurant might be in a higher price range; however we would like to mention our free bottle of water and the free refreshment center and in all our guest rooms in this context.
We very much hope that your travels will bring you back to Vienna and we’ll have the chance of being your host again!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent three nights at the hotel and highly recommend the hotel. The staff was extremely warm and provided top notch service. Rooms are extremely comfortable and the location is perfect for all the tourist spots.

On top of it all they even have a free minibar.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothee C, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Steven,
many thanks for your excited review; it is wonderful that you could benefit from our excellent location as well as the many amenities of our rooms such as free refreshment center. Your kind comments regarding our top service will certainly be shared with our team – it is always a great motivator to receive such positive feedback and it shows that our efforts are being appreciated.
If there is anything else I can do for you for one of your next stays please don’t hesitate to contact me any time!
Best regards,

D. Cooreman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great location!

Croissants and coffee for the super early risers. The staff is outstanding. Nice rooms, free wifi and free minibar.

There ONLY major issue I had was with the pool hours on the weekends. After spending the day around the city, you would want a swim or a sit in the hot tub. It closed at 7:00 P.M.

Minor was the TV selection. Not much to choose from and their Movies on Demand were way outdated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothee C, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear “TX/NY Girl”,

Thank your for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Le Meridien Vienna.
We understand that pool opening hours were not to your utmost convenience, we apologize therefore. Also your feedback regarding our movies on demand has been forwarded to our IT department so that this service can be improved.

Warn regards to New York,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#62 of 358 in Vienna
1,863 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,354 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 358 in Vienna
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Vienna

Address: Opernring 13, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#29 Business Hotel in Vienna
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £156 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Vienna is an art hotel in Vienna that conveys modern European design and lifestyle but is yet typically Viennese.Discover more than meets the eye; transition from the outside world into the world of Le Méridien. Experience our Unlock ArtTM programme, keys that open more than just guest room doors. Elevate your senses during your stay in Vienna.Between two historical parks and encompassed by art and architecture, the design hotel Le Méridien Vienna marks the front edge of the historic Ringstrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Vienna Hotel Vienna
Le Meridien Hotel Vienna
Vienna Le Meridien
Meridien Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing