We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sky bar without view”
Review of Sky Bar

Sky Bar
Ranked #16 of 138 Nightlife in Vienna
Attraction details
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sky bar without view”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Absolutely dissapointing visit. You see only roofs around - very close and absolutely unpleaseant - and St.Stefan roof. Overpriced cocktails. That's it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anton_Moscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    84
    62
    34
    53
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Markgroeningen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“On the top of Vienna”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very yound and dynamic staff, as far as we observed they really did their best to place all the guests coming to the Sky Bar.Nevertheless during the week-ends I would recommand to make a reservation to be sure. Cocktails are not cheap at all (at least 12€), beers around 6€, despite of that this place is definitely not so snobish like the Sky bar from th Do&Co hotel in Vienna. On Friday evening there was a female singer who did a great performance. Unfortunately it was too cold to sit outside but the view on the Dom and the city are very nice. You can smoke in the bar, so if you can't stand the smoke, dont even try this bar. All in all we spent two great evenings in this bar. On the opposite side of the bar there is a restaurant also with great view on the city but we did not test it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ompile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
“Sky Restaurant - our experience”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Little bit complicated access by two lifts (or by a lift and then stairs) through the shopping passage. Restaurant itself has a nice interior and a terrace with view towards the St. Stephan´s Cathedral. There´s a limited number of the seats on the terrace, so prior reservation is recommended, if you would like to enjoy the view.

Our experience:
We´re welcomed by the manager and seated inside (as all tables on the terrace were occupied at the moment), but we´ve asked to be seated on the terrace once one of the tables will become available. From the time we´re seated, nobody paid any attention to us, nobody brought the menus or even a drink menus... So, after waiting for roughly 5 minutes, I´ve called the manager and asked for menus. We´ve ordered, food was really excellent, but at the same time little bit overpriced. While we´re eating, several tables on the terrace have become empty, but other people were seated there, so I´ve asked the waiters to relocate us to the terrace (as we´ve previously agreed with them) so that we can enjoy the view. Finally, after we ate everything, they´ve relocated us to the terrace and we were considering the desserts or some more drinks, but again, from the time we were seated nobody paid any attention to us, so we have decided to leave and also to leave no tip for the service...

To sum it up: Nice restaurant with not so nice entrance, excellent food, overpriced, but, what´s the most important and really unpleasant - with unattentive and supercilious staff, which is counter effecting all of the benefits of this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Radovan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Cool bar to spend the evening”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Both times I have been there has been live music. Last night a saxophonist. Not great views as not too high but some kind of view. Nice atmosphere, great cocktail range. Somewhere to get comfy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thelostpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfe Castle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great View and Great Food”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I'd say there is confusion on this site - Sky Bar is the cocktail side and is completely separate to the adjoining Sky Restaurant. Both are on the 7th floor above a department store, reached by 2 lifts (one to the sixth floor and then another to the 7th).

We arrived at the restaurant without a booking but were shown to a nice table in an area with a great view - of snow-covered, floodlit St Stephan's, Reisenrad etc. Very attentive but easy going service and the food was absolutely lovely. We shared a starter, each had a main, then shared a pudding, plus a glass of champagne and a glass of wine, total bill 97 euro. On the steep side but food really was tasty - venison chorizo with brie and onion marmalade for starter, vegetable risotto and scallop tagliatelle for main, creme brulee with warm raspberries for pud.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sky Bar also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Sky Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing