We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westend City Hostel
Ranked #35 of 194 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's very basic”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I won't go back there if I have a choice, simply because I've known better places in Vienna. It's not crappy though.
The lift wasn't working

Location 9/10 : 3 min walking from Vienna Westbahnof (West train station and subways).
Price 7/10 : Normal for the quality of the place
Clean 7/10 : It was ok. Maybe I don't rate better because there were other folks in the room
Quiet 8/10 : Some people don't respect what is written (Do not speak loud after 11pm)
Living room 6/10 : A small kitchen for breakfast
Personel 7/10 : Open all night
Beautiful 5/10 : It's a very basic place
Internet 6/10 : Free but no internet in the rooms, only in the hall. You'll need a code from the receptionist. Asked a code but didn't used it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    80
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
5
16
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

On the good side, the reception staff are friendly and helpful, but...

... the hostel doesn't feel good value for money and I wouldn't recommend it for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Sorry but there are much nicer hostels in the same area.

I paid 25 euros for one night in a dorm, which included a free breakfast. It was the most tasteless, awful breakfast I've ever had at a hostel, nasty muesli, white rolls and instant coffee. I'd have rather opted out but booking online gave me no option to do this. Stuff like juice, cheese, eggs, etc cost extra, no way was I paying for anything more considering the quality of the basic stuff.

The dorm room was very basic and passable, though with a slightly dirty bathroom. There were lockers but no locks were provided. People in my room just slept where they wanted and the reception staff just allowed this, despite assigning you a specific bed when you'd paid. Okay, but a bit pointless then...

The worst thing is, after sleeping one night here I had a small cluster of extremely itchy, lingering bites on my stomach. I didn't see anything creeping in my bed and I was provided with clean sheets. But I really think these were bed bug bites. I've encountered those nasties before and I know what the bites look and feel like. Obviously this just happens in hostels sometimes, but it can be an indicator of lax cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG_137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afsaneh N, General Manager at Westend City Hostel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest, hygiene is extremely important to us . The rooms are cleaned daily by our housekeeping. In case of problems guests can come at any time to the reception. If there are bed bugs in the room, we would ask you to announce it immediately at the reception. In such a case, the exterminator will be notified immediately and the room is locked. There was no note neither by you nor by other guests at the front desk, and we do not even know in which room you were. You probably have taken the bed bugs with yourself from another hostel.

For the lockers guests can use their own padlock or buy it at the reception. There are in the lounge sufficiently free guest safes .

Our free Breakfast (only for Guest booking on our Homepage) includes fresh bread, 2 sorts of jam , honey, tea butter, spread cheese, meat spread, nutella, Philadelphia cheese, cereals, tea and daily fresh prepared filter coffee. Our guests are free also to deposit their purchased sausage and cheese goods in our fridge during the stay. For 4 EUR we offer all inclusive breakfast including aditional chees, sausage and orange juice.

Our hostel is located in the center of Vienna and is surrounded by numerous of shops, restaurants and supermarkets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed for almost a week in the Westend City Hostel with two other friends while were were in Vienna with our University. We stayed in an 8-bed women's dorm, which was bright, comfortable and clean. For the most part we had good roommates, although one complaint I have is that there isn't an age limit for guests like there are in many other hostels. Our first night was spent with three older women who made frequent middle-of-the-night trips to the bathroom.

The location of the hostel is also excellent. It's a 5-minute walk from the Westbahnhof where my train came in, although my friends told me it was quite a haul to the airport.

The staff were all very friendly as well, and the room was cleaned every day.

If you have a room like we did that faces the front street, it is pretty loud. And staying there in the summer means keeping the windows open 24/7 because the rooms are stifling. We didn't try the breakfast because it costs extra, but we used the small kitchen in the common area.

Overall it was a good stay, and definitely worth the 17 Euro per night we payed.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the ground floor not facing the street because the rooms on the upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulmarra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The room was average and what we expected. The breakfast wasn't anything special all. The location wasn't bad, really close to Westbahnhof, there is also a large shopping street only a few minutes walk away. The cooking facilities were limited to a microwave and a kettle but it's enough to make do. The wifi didn't reach our room which was annoying.
There was just something about this hostel that was just a bit strange. It mostly came down to the guests, which I know is beyond the control of the staff, although the behaviour of one guest in particular definitely put a dampener on our stay and it seemed to go ignored by the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Really solid hostel close enough to the city centre to be good. Metro station 1 minute away. Hostel itself was clean, comfortable. All the staff were super friendly and willing to help when it came to finding things to do and recommending things. Decent

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank zinnia-alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We were going to be in Vienna for 3 nights, but cut our visit short partly because the weather was horrendous, but partly because we felt pretty uncomfortable in this hostel.
It is not close to the centre at all, the subway will become your best friend. We usually walk everywhere but in bad weather conditions it is a horrible walk.
The bunk bed that was left in our 10 bed dorm was one stuffed into the corner behind other beds and behind the lockers, so it was difficult to get in and out. The lockers were behind the door/beds and there wasn't anywhere for the bin to actually go.
WiFi is only available in the common area but it is good signal there. Plugs are difficult to get to in the rooms, but easy to access in the common area.
The common area is pretty nice and has sofas, a kitchen and table football. We also found that the staff were pretty friendly and helpful when we wanted to cancel our third night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EleanorJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Myself and 4 friends were taking part in a charity hitch hike called the big hitch, where we were aiming to travel from London to Budapest without spending any money. We arrived in Vienna around 10pm and did not need to leave for our next train until 6am the next morning therefore visited this hostel as a safe place to stay for a couple of hours in the night. As we were not allowed to spend any money the hostel receptionist kindly agreed to let us stay free of charge in their common room. We were all very grateful as it was raining outside and it didn't seem worthwhile getting a room for the short space of time. The hostel was in a perfect location to the westbarnoff train station with plenty places to eat and drink surrounding and the receptionist we met was very welcoming and helpful in helping us with our voyage. We did not get to check out any bedrooms but the common room we stayed in was cosy and sociable. And the hostel itself was also very clean. If we are ever back in Vienna we would definitely come back and stay properly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 194 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Neubau
Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Do Step Inn
#17 of 194 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westend City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend City Hostel

Property: Westend City Hostel
Address: Fuegergasse 3, Vienna 1060, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 194 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO WESTEND CITY HOSTEL!Our Hostel is the most centrally located youth hostel right in the heart of Vienna. Enjoy your visit in a quiet location with a stylish and charming atmosphere in a beautiful newly renovated historical building (built in 1876). We are located next to the railway and metro station “Wien Westbahnhof” and the most popularshopping street of Vienna Mariahilfer Strasse.The City Center is within 15 minutes walking distance. All major sights, museums, restaurants, cafés and discos can be reached quickly by foot or by public transportation.What we offer:breakfast buffet + free bedlinen + shower & toilet in every room + free lockers in the room and free luggagestorage+ free wifi + free map& travelguides and information + 24h reception + laundry room + Internet access + comfortable common area with satellite TV & table football + simple guest kitchen+ vending machine and coffee machine + courtyard with seats.How to find us:From “Westbahnhof“ (about 3 min):Leave the main hall of the Westbahnhof and cross the main road "Gürtel" towards"Innere Mariahilferstraße" (towards city center). On the „Christian Broda Platz“ take the first right onto "Millergasse", then the first left onto "Fügergasse".From “Wien Meidling“ (about 15 min): Take U6 to „Westbahnhof”.From the “international airport”: Take the CAT or S7 to "Wien Mitte" and then theMetro U3 direction "Ottakring", exit Westbahnhof; or take the bus from theairport to "Wien Westbahnhof".From “Südbahnhof- main train station” (about 20 min): Take the tramway 18 to “Westbahnhof“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Westend City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing