We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and good value”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #173 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Fantastic location close to Stephensplatz but within walking distance of all the sights in central Vienna. Rooms spacious and of a good standard. Didn't eat in the restaurant as there are lots of cafes nearby for breakfast / lunch and restaurants for dinner. Staff friendly and helpful. Strongly recommend for a city break.

Only criticism is that coffee/ tea not available in room. We asked for and got a kettle!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

My mother, husband and I stayed for five nights at the Ambassador Hotel and could not have been happier with our choice. The hotel's location is simply SUPERB allowing you easy access - even on foot - to all the important spots whether for sightseeing, shopping, eating or simply taking nice relaxing walks. The rooms are clean and spacious, especially by European standards, and equipped with all needed amenities. Beds are really comfortable and the bath, though small, is more than adequate. We booked the room on a pre-paid basis and as such were able to get an excellent rate, but minus the breakfast and therefore cannot comment on the quality of the breakfast. Did not use any of the restaurants but tried the bar once. I have to say that for a five star hotel, the service was surprising. Ordering beer and wine, we did not get any nuts or chips to accompany - very strange especially when you compare it to other five star hotels. The following night, we went to the Marriott's bar, and the service was quite different. Also, the bar closes relatively early and you find yourself looking for a place to unwind after a day of exploring the lovely city especially if you do not want to turn in early. Moreover, the lobby is so tiny that having more than two people sitting there makes you feel cramped. The hotel has two entrances, which is a plus and right across from one of them is a taxi stand. Tip: Go to Henry's (which shares a couple of stories with Billa) for breakfast and brunch - they offer excellent food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Very nice accommodation in the heart of Vienna. I stayed at the Hotel Ambassador 2 days during the weekend.
All the major attractions are at walking distance and underground is very close (<2 minute walk).
A classical style hotel with classical furniture.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Large bathroom with all comforts.
I didn't try the restaurant so I cannot comment about it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavio_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights in this very old hotel. The hotel is very good condition with big rooms. Good service, very good variety at breakfast. Check in was very quick. Hotel has free WiFi in all of its territory.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marxius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed 4 nights at Ambassador. Couldn't ask for a better location - right in the middle of the shopping street. Room is large and clean. Furnitures are a bit dated. Fast free wifi which is great. There is construction going on at the hotel and on the second day we were woken at 730 am. But we were out most day so the noise did not really bother us. We had 3 meals at Nautilus Fischestaurant in Naschtmarkt approximately 20 walks from the hotel. Must try the fish soup and grilled octopus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Right on Kartner Strasse, the pedestrian street that connects Stephansplatz to the Opera, you can't get a better location. The hotel has 2 addresses because there are entrances on both sides of the Hotel - the car entrance is the one on Neuer Markt, a lovely square with fountain and an interesting french style inexpensive cafe called the Bol. I lived in Vienna for 2 years, have stayed at the Hotel twice, love the renovated 100 year old large rooms and the traditional but modern decor. Breakfast is 25 Euros (worth it) but there are many places nearby. The Nordsee Restaurant across the street on Kartner is self serve, very high quality and very reasonable for lunch or Dinner. Peek and Clopenberg, 6 floors of spectacular shopping, is directly across on Kartner. The only thing that is small is the cozy lobby.

Room Tip: You can ask for rooms overlooking the square or Kartner Strasse (my favourite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This was my second time in Vienna (which I love, and I was on the Ringstrasse last time. I won't mention the hotel name here last time but it was nice and a good experience). This time I wanted to stay a little closer to Stephansplatz, so I kind of booked big on location, although the photos looked beautiful and the reviews were great.

LOVED this hotel. Very elegant, on a great cobblestone street. Saying the Ambassador is "close to everything" would be a huge understatement. You could very easily find yourself walking down Kaertner Strasse and thinking "I would love it if my hotel was on this street". -- guess what -- this one is.

And their rates are extremely good for the quality of this hotel. I will definitely stay here my next trip to Vienna. I can't give them 5 stars but 4 definitely

Room Tip: Ask for a room, if you can, facing Kaertner Strasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand
Grand Ferdinand
#117 of 359 in Vienna
525 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#68 of 359 in Vienna
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,559 reviews
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 359 in Vienna
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Vienna
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#77 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#123 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £125 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing