We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good four star hotel”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #153 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good four star hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Location, location and location this is the only outstanding feature of this hotel. It was a good base to explore old town of Vienna - walking distance to everything. However, I would not give this hotel a five start rating or 6 stars - this is how many you'll find on the hotel logo itself.
One of the obvious minuses is the service in the hotel: always absent concierge, not available staff to help you with luggage, to get a taxi for you... not really a 5 star hotel experience.
and the sleeping experience: beds are not good - very stiff mattresses and small pillows - you just don't feel rested after the night in this hotel.
Finally, there is no complimentary water or coffee/tea options in the room, weak water stream in the shower.
I'd recommend to stay in this hotel purely because of location and the value (my pre-paid and non-refundable rate was 150 EUR) but would manage your expectation about the level of service and quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitryvulkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    221
    65
    16
    18
See reviews for
117
243
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hotel was fabulous!!! Best short Holiday stay I had!! Beautiful decor, comfortable beds, awesome location, staff very helpful, elegant, peaceful, very very classy hotel!! Steps from the door is the wonderful Vienna!! St. Stephens cathedral, State Opera, shops, dinning. So many fine places to try out & eat, taste wines. Riding school was beautiful!! Our night to the Opera was an awesome experience!!!!!! Quaint little coffee shops!! It was a short visit however I am returning very very soon. so much more to see & do!! I cant wait!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherCat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

After Rome, I visited Vienna, I stayed at Hotel Ambassador. There, the room (No. 209) is spacious enough and gorgeous with a chandelier, but there's no desk. Then I couldn't put guide books, food, beverage and so on, and to write. I asked hotel people why there's no desk, and the answer was a room is not for a business man. I've stayed at several hundred hotels in the world (I visited aroubd 70 countries and always stay at more than four-star hotels), but it's my first experience. If they arrange a room, there's enough space to put a big desk. I think it's a duty also for guests for sightseeing of Vinna.
(I have photos of the room, but I can't add them)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadahiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I spent 2 night in Wien in March in this hotel and i definitely come back. The hotel is located in the hearth of Jarntner Strasse, few min walking to Stephansdom and it's perfect for business as taxi and metro are just behing your eyes.
Rooms are very big, modern, clean and quite.
Breakfast is superb and there are also some "private" rooms if you wanna organize breakfast meetings with clients.
I would definitely come back there

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiM0StOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kerry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Very good hotel, rooms a little under whelming for such a prestige hotel. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The hotel is situated in the centre of Vienna, so as for location is fantastic. We did not use any amenities of the hotel so I can not comment. The room was clean, large and the only disappointment was the choice of pay tv, most films were old releases. The receptionists were helpful. Free internet.

Room Tip: Make sure you book with breakfast included otherwise it is around 25 euro per person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DimitrisT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Nice room in an excellent location. The back door opens on to a fun pedestrian street, which is the central street in the old town. Service was helpful and friendly, and they gave us some good suggestions for neighborhood restaurants, including Italic and Medusa. Both were Italian and in our view, way superior to the typical Austrian food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#57 of 361 in Vienna
689 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#75 of 361 in Vienna
458 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#111 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing