We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #151 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Excellent location in walking distance of main attractions and restaurants. Very close to subway station as well. The room was spacious and clean. One downside was the noise level from other rooms. It's an old building and you can easily hear your neighbours. Didn't eat at the hotel. For breakfast you can find small local cafe's and a startbucks close by.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square behind the hotel are quiter than rooms facing the main (walking) street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    217
    64
    16
    15
See reviews for
111
236
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador in August 2012 and had a marvellous holiday.
The room was grand and spacious (room 105) with three large windows overlooking the spectacular street below. We got a good deal through Expedia with no meals. We ate out - breakfast at any one of a dozen locations, within 5 minutes, was approx 5-8 euros a piece. There is a wonderful seclection of places to eat and Vienna was not expensive - approx 15-25 euros for a nice meal.
Thoroughly recommended hotel and city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluewater1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Location, location and location this is the only outstanding feature of this hotel. It was a good base to explore old town of Vienna - walking distance to everything. However, I would not give this hotel a five start rating or 6 stars - this is how many you'll find on the hotel logo itself.
One of the obvious minuses is the service in the hotel: always absent concierge, not available staff to help you with luggage, to get a taxi for you... not really a 5 star hotel experience.
and the sleeping experience: beds are not good - very stiff mattresses and small pillows - you just don't feel rested after the night in this hotel.
Finally, there is no complimentary water or coffee/tea options in the room, weak water stream in the shower.
I'd recommend to stay in this hotel purely because of location and the value (my pre-paid and non-refundable rate was 150 EUR) but would manage your expectation about the level of service and quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitryvulkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hotel was fabulous!!! Best short Holiday stay I had!! Beautiful decor, comfortable beds, awesome location, staff very helpful, elegant, peaceful, very very classy hotel!! Steps from the door is the wonderful Vienna!! St. Stephens cathedral, State Opera, shops, dinning. So many fine places to try out & eat, taste wines. Riding school was beautiful!! Our night to the Opera was an awesome experience!!!!!! Quaint little coffee shops!! It was a short visit however I am returning very very soon. so much more to see & do!! I cant wait!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherCat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

After Rome, I visited Vienna, I stayed at Hotel Ambassador. There, the room (No. 209) is spacious enough and gorgeous with a chandelier, but there's no desk. Then I couldn't put guide books, food, beverage and so on, and to write. I asked hotel people why there's no desk, and the answer was a room is not for a business man. I've stayed at several hundred hotels in the world (I visited aroubd 70 countries and always stay at more than four-star hotels), but it's my first experience. If they arrange a room, there's enough space to put a big desk. I think it's a duty also for guests for sightseeing of Vinna.
(I have photos of the room, but I can't add them)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadahiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I spent 2 night in Wien in March in this hotel and i definitely come back. The hotel is located in the hearth of Jarntner Strasse, few min walking to Stephansdom and it's perfect for business as taxi and metro are just behing your eyes.
Rooms are very big, modern, clean and quite.
Breakfast is superb and there are also some "private" rooms if you wanna organize breakfast meetings with clients.
I would definitely come back there

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiM0StOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Very good hotel, rooms a little under whelming for such a prestige hotel. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#36 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#185 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#111 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing