We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #153 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice stay in downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Well, most of the decent hotels in Vienna are very expensive. Price for this was average, it had good service. Furniture is outdated though, as the hotel building needs a little bit upgrade and repair. Location is just excellent, few blocks from Opera house.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    217
    64
    16
    15
See reviews for
111
236
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Nice cozy hotel in the middle of the main tourist attraction area.
This was my second sray. In both stays the rooms were very spacious. The price was reasonable considering its location right on Kartner Strasse.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baghli2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed in many 5 star's hotel for last week, but there is some missing with them, such as the location or the quality of service & now with this hotel you can imagine how its look like when you'll be in the center of city hall plus good service with average value, fabulous

Helpful?
1 Thank marwanovich
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
546 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Lovely place just at the perfect starting point of a day in a city. Old apartment style with all new facilities. Windows totally mute surrounding city traffic. Welcoming staff. No complains, just perfect impression.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valkirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
185 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have just enjoyed three nights at this hotel. Staff were very welcoming when we arrived and, although we were early, our room was ready and we could have it immediately. It would appear that there had been major refurbishment in the hotel - our bedroom and bathroom were fresh & clean. With BBC World available on the TV and free Internet access, it was just fine.

On our first night, we dined in the restaurant. Although it lacked atmosphere, the food was good and the service excellent. The glazed Dining Room gave a nice view over the square.

The situation of the hotel was just perfect - cathedral, opera house, Hofburg Palace, museums etc were all in easy walking distance.

The only thing that stopped me from giving this hotel an Excellent overall rating and Excellent for Service was the breakfasts. The two young staff, when unsupervised, were far from efficient; and at times quite rude. When an elderly lady mentioned that there were no glasses next to the orange juice, it was brusquely pointed out to her that there were more glasses on the shelf above where the hot food was served - at the other end of the room! And they charge €25 per person for breakfast! The answer is to take breakfast at one of the many coffee houses nearby!

Apart from the breakfast experience, we had a first class stay at this hotel, and we shall return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift shaft, as there is an atrium and smoke drifts up from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We booked for three days and I have to say that I realised the high value of its location when I tried to make a plan for the top ten attractions that we had to see before we leave. So, Ambassador it is only 3-4 minutes walking distance from Stefansdom and Mozart house. It is also very close to the metro station U1 line.
10 minites walking from Hofburg, 7 minutes from Spanish Riding school, 20 minutes from Museum of Natural History and Kunsthistorishes.
You can reach the known coffee shops such as Hawelka, Demel, Central, Europe, in maximum 10 minutes walking distance. It is located on Karntner street which is one of the greatest commercial roads of Vienna and in 3-4 minutes you can also reach Graben street. Moreover nearby are qualitative Viennese restaurants such as Drei Husaren, Ferdinand, Frauenhuber (coffee shop-light meals) etc.
The room was a classical double (see attached photos). It was spacious and comfortable with classical decoration and romantic atmosphere. The bathroom was just good but not so luxurious for a 5-star Hotel. The personnel willing to assist any time we asked for it. One disadvantage of the room was the luck of many international and English hearing TV channels. Most of the TV programs are in German, thus if you still need to watch a movie in English you should rent it with an extra charge (5-12 Euros).
The hotel doesn't offer a spa or swimming pool, so if you are lovers of relaxation, the hotel will not meet your expectations.
Finally I can say that our accommodation was a positive experience and the highlight of the hotel is its convenient location. But I believe that real category of it, is a 4-star hotel and definitely not 5-star.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katerina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I booked this hotel for the location as we were only for one night in Vienna attending the Operaball. Location could not be better. 200 meters walk from the Wiener Staatoper, in Kartner Strasse. Kind and welcoming staff at the reception. The room was very big, but old fashioned, I did not like the decoration at all and would expect more from a 6! star hotel. There was no tea/coffee maker in the room. Bathroom looked old but clean. We got back to the hotel around 2 in the morning and thought they would have rooms service for some late night snack. Unfortunately they had not,but the guy at the reception suggested a great local place at Albertina, where a lot of Operaball guests had their famous bratwurst. All in all we had a good but not outstanding stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoellyM361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#33 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#184 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#112 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing