We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Both of my stays here have been great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #151 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Both of my stays here have been great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel, and both times have been great. The location is excellent. It's very close to two subway lines. The near-by restaurants and stores are very nice. It's also a short walk to the Opera. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Both my rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    217
    64
    16
    15
See reviews for
111
236
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Although staying in a different part of town, we visited the hotel restaurant whilst on holiday in Vienna after we found they were participating in Vienna Restaurant Week.

The food was expertly executed, the staff friending and charming and the setting beautiful in a glass sided room with views over a quiet square just one street back from the main streets in Vienna. It's location means you can step away from the hustle and bustle and have a beautiful meal in peace and quiet.

We were welcomed by the staff and made to feel like valued customers, despite speaking no German. We were then delighted to have an amuse bouche with our aperitifs

We started with a delightful soup which came with a salmon souffle in the middle, something I've not had before but was wonderful.
Next I had Salmon for my main and my boyfriend had a lovely cut of beef fillet. Both were delicious and served with exquisite sauces.

Both sources were superseded by a delicious pudding of little apple parcels, cherry ice cream and coconut topping.

If you are in Vienna check out this restaurant for a special meal away from the tourist traps and hustle and bustle!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Stephanie M,

thank you very much for visiting the Ambassador Restaurant and for your lovely words.

We are glad that you enjoyed the evening in our restaurant with winter garden and the view on Neuer Markt. Your kind feedback regarding the food quality and restaurant service got forwarded to our F&B Manager and was really appreciated.

If your travel plans bring you back to Vienna, you might even consider staying at the Ambassador Hotel. Our restaurant offers special conditions for hotel guests.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Friendly and helpful staff greeted us with smiles. The adjoining rooms that I booked were perfect for our family. They were large and clean. The position of this hotel is great. It's a short distance to everything!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I was wary of my booking after checking the ratings of this hotel. We had taken two rooms and we were extremely happy. The rooms that we were allocated after an upgrade were large, had a high ceiling and a chandelier, with a deep blue carpet with little flowers. All very old world and palatial. The location is spectacular being a moment away from the opera, metro, tram, museum quartier, Albertina, St.Stephens. Breakfast options around the hotel range from lovely coffee shops, the Sacher Cafe to the international takeaway Henrys. The hotel is tightly staffed and at any point of time there are one/two persons at front office and one handyman. The restaurant was lovely with very reasonably priced food but we stepped out for dinner everyday. We had some problem with the plumbing in our room on day two but we were transferred to another room as soon as possible. In the interim they let us use the bathroom of a ready rom at another floor. They handled the problem very amicably and pleasantly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Indianlady,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are more than happy that we were able to fulfill your expectations and you enjoyed your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences with your bathroom. However, we are glad that those troubles got handled efficiently by our staff.

We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Kind regards,

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Good hotel, nice, clean, cosy and having big rooms, in the middle of everything, you just step out and you are already on Kartner strasse.
Don`t take the valet parking system because they day when you have to get back your car you`ll wait 40-60 minutes to get back your car.
Receptionists are not friendly but they do what they have to.
Breakfast is very good but everyday we had to ask different things what just finished to fill up and it was weird that in the middle of strawberry season at half time of breakfast the strawberry was finished. Waiters: some of them very professional, very friendly and nice, few of them most probably choose the wrong job in his life.
As we have small kid with us and pushchair we would love to have a room with easy access but we have got a room where we had to walk from the elevator actually the farest room on the floor and there is a stair as well where we had to go up and down every time with all our things: child, pushchair etc.... they should consider next time when someone goes with kid to give a room with easier access!
Good price-value ratio.
We recommend it all together!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappiestMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear HappiestMother,

thank you very much for sharing your impressions on tripadvisor.

We are sorry that some of our services did not meet your expectations.

We try our best to consider room requests or other special requests. If you travel with a small kid and need easy access to your room, we recommend to contact us prior to your stay. In high season it might be difficult to change the assigned room during the check-in process.

Our reception will gladly assist you with any future bookings. Please do not hesitate to contact us at office@ambassador.at

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Although the location is good, everything else was not worth more than 3 stars. The following items should be improved:
1) The reception is more suited for a 3-star hotel (maybe 4-star).
2) Erratic and unsatisfied employees.
3) Very difficult to open room doors.
4) No light in bathroom.
5) The shower tub is too small.
6) The toilet is too small.
7) Breakfast rates vary from day to day from €16 to €25 and there was no hot breakfast buffet.
8) No parking garage, thus required to wait up to 15 minutes for valet parking.
9) The rooms are too small.
10) The door handles keep falling off.
11) The soap & shampoo & towel amenities are the equivalent that one would have in a 3-star hotel.
12) No wellness nor indoor pool facilities, which is standard for most 5-star hotels in Croatia.
I own 4- and 5-star hotels in Dubrovnik, Croatia and am writing this to help Hotel Ambassador improve and to warn potential guests to check with the hotel prior to booking to see if these improvements have been made.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DubrovnikDalmatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Hotel is centrally located on the main shopping street and close to all sights. We were upgraded to a suite which very spacious with a beautiful bathroom and nice view. Breakfast is a bit overpriced but worth a try for the nice view.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welovetotravel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Welovetotravel1000,

thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the spacious design of our rooms and the central location on Kärntner Straße.

We look forward to welcoming you again when your travel plans bring you back to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#36 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#185 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#111 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing