We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #149 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the middle of everything. Found a great price on Expedia. Wifi in the rooms unlimited for free now. We didn't have breakfast but the room seemed smoky. Nice rooms, very clean. Our suite had two big bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etempl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Etempl,

Thank you for reviewing the Ambassador Hotel Vienna on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your room and the services offered. However, we are sorry you got the impression that the breakfast room was smoky. Breakfast - as well as lunch and dinner - is served in our non-smoking restaurant with open-view kitchen and winter garden.

We hope you will consider the Ambassador Hotel again for your next trip to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    220
    65
    16
    17
See reviews for
117
241
42
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The staff was very helpful. Our room was large with ceilings 20+/- high. The hotel is right on the pedestrian walkway so be sure you have the right street address. There is an address for the front of the hotel and the back of the hotel. You need to use the one for the back of the hotel, or like us, you will have difficulty finding the hotel. St. Stephan's church is two blocks away and the pedestrian area runs for about a mile with shops of all kinds. Area is very safe. Lots of restaurant choices within a minute or two. There is an older and a newer part of the hotel. We were in the older part overlooking the pedestrian area but there was not an issue with noise. We would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moabmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear moabmeadow,

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We are sorry you had difficulty finding the hotel. The Ambassador offers a front and a back entrance. The front entrance is on Neuer Markt 5 and can be reached by car. On the other side is Kärntner Straße, Vienna's exclusive shopping street, which is pedestrian zone.

Our rooms reflect the typical Viennese charm and offer a combination of traditional elements and modern spirit. We are glad that you liked those features.

We hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

PLUS:
1) Location on the Kartner street - 2) On the middle of shopping street - 3) Very close to the underground - 4) very close to supermarket - 5) very close to restaurant - 6) very close to HALAL restaurants (beside MacDonald's) - 7) Have interconnecting rooms - 8) Free internet

MINUS:
1) Expensive - 2) Do not offer rooms with breakfast - 3) We suffered from the smoking from the guests in the room beside us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Can't beat this location on Kartnerstrasse, close to U-bahn, most attractions, great restaurants, popular cafes and in the center of the action. We had a beautiful, large room with a view overlooking Kartnerstrasse. Window in the bathroom for extra light. Comfy beds. We ate twice in the restaurant, dinner and breakfast, and both times the food was excellent and the service perfect and thoughtful. You can order breakfast a la carte if you don't want the full buffet, which is somewhat expensive. Best thing about this hotel is the service. We had a problem with lost luggage and the hotel staff went out of their way to help solve it. In particular, we would like to thank Robert D. in reception. The staff gave us maps and directions on check in, and were friendly and responsive. Love this choice!

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the main street, Kartnerstrasse. You can watch the action, but it is still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueski1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Blueski1963,

Thank you for staying with the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and for this wonderful feedback.

The location of our hotel is indeed very central, close to the subway and all major sights.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Ambassador and that our staff made your stay memorable. We hope your luggage found its way back to you in the meantime.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you plan your next trip to Vienna. We would be very pleased to have you as our guest again.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you want a first class stay in Vienna I recommend this hotel. Its had everything. The staff was top service minded . Quick, very warm and freindly check in and out. All personal was top. Breakfast have everything, include champagne. So if you want a Perfect stay in Vienna i warmly recomenned this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 577Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear 577Dan,

thank you for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor.

It's great to hear that your stay at the Ambassador Hotel was perfect. Efficient and friendly service is very important to us and we are very happy that our staff left such good impressions.

We hope to see you again and remain

with kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Charming large light filled room. Excellent location . Short stroll to Opera House . Great breakfast cafe Le Bol across the square In Neuer Markt . Comfy large bed & opening windows. Large bathroom & separate toilet. Staff at front desk always helpful. Appreciated my birthday chocolate and card. Slight smell of stale tobacco present . I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weezacomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear weezacomin,

Thank you very much for this great review and for celebrating your birthday at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel, and both times have been great. The location is excellent. It's very close to two subway lines. The near-by restaurants and stores are very nice. It's also a short walk to the Opera. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Both my rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#51 of 360 in Vienna
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#188 of 360 in Vienna
395 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#73 of 360 in Vienna
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#110 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing