We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #151 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Super location in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Ambassador is perfectly situated for a visit to Vienna. It has an exit onto the main pedestrian street of Vienna, Kärntner Strasse, and a back entrance with a conveniently located taxi stand at the back. The rooms here are quite large (for Europe I would say enormous) and with a ceiling height of well over 10 feet you get a very spacious feeling. Add to this that you can get quite good rates and you have an excellent combination.We didn't bother with the hotel breakfast since there are many places surrounding the hotel that serves
excellent breakfast at good prices. The staff was very service minded and fixed everything we asked for. The hotel's limo service to the airport was an extra treat well worth the few extra Euros above a regular taxi. The hotel bar is quite nice, although as many bars in Austria
it allows smoking. To my mind that was the only negative thing I could find about our 4 day visit to the Ambassador Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ptm27,

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback about your recent stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

It is a pleasure to read that our staff provided excellent service and made your stay memorable. We are delighted that you liked our central location and your room. All our hotel rooms are very spacious indeed.

We sincerely hope you consider the Ambassador Hotel again for your next trip to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    217
    64
    16
    15
See reviews for
111
236
42
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel location is great. It is very close to the opera and it is on the main shopping street. Many restaurants and shops.
The hotel is clear, housekeeping is on a high level.
The restaurant in the hotel could be better. Some of the staff were not very polite, though mostly nice service!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arnold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear ArnMH,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our restaurant and some of our staff.
Your feedback is highly valued as it helps us in our efforts to improve and develop our services.

If you plan to visit Vienna again, it would be pleasure to have you as our guest again.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel clearly has a perfect location. To be more specific (and nerdy), it is almost located at the centroid of top 30 attractions in Vienna. In a range of 2 km, you will see most of touristic and cultural spots. We even didnt need to use the public transport during our stay.

Rooms are spacious, approximately 40 sq meter, with 3+ meter ceilings (we stayed at room 125). However, the decoration and the accessories are relatively poor for a 5* hotel.
Sound insulation is poor. You can easily hear other guests in the nest room snoaring, talking, walking, etc. Wasnt a big issue for us.

We didnt try the food in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gyucel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Gyucel,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We feel more than happy that the Ambassador Hotel offered the perfect location for you. Indeed, the city's major sights and cultural attractions are within easy reach of our hotel.

We are sorry that you did not like the decor and amenities of your room. The Ambassador offers five room types with different styles – from traditional Viennese to a more modern design.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you as our guest again. Our reception gladly provides you with more details on our room categories and assists you with the reservation.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel during Christmas season, and my experience was nothing less than amazing. Location of the hotel could not be better, everything is close. St Stephen's cathedral is 2 minutes away,Hotel Sacher is few minutes away... You have a shopping mole across the hotel, so if you like to shop,you don't have to carry your bags for a long distance. Rooms are big and clean, bathroom is spotless, the view from the rooms is amazing,overall it is an exquisite hotel.Inside of the hotel, architecture is exquisite! There are a lot of stunning paintings and the furniture is beautiful. Staff is nice,almost invisible. This is definitely one of the most amazing hotels I've ever been to. There is no doubt that I will come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathiehearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I couldn't believe how fancy this place was. Marble columns in the hallways, chandeliers in every room, a sitting area and tapestries in the bedroom... I very much enjoyed my stay. I was particularly happy with the modern bathroom, to include a full-power hairdryer. I only had two complaints: the hotel allows smoking and even though my room didn't smell of stale smoke, I could smell fresh smoke if folks nearby were smoking. Also, the street noise woke me up on a couple occasions...to include garbage pickup at around 2am. But all that said, I would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahlynn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Bounded on one side by the main pedestrian-shopping street, Kartner Strasse, and Neue Markt, an upscale street complete with a beautiful fountain, the Ambassador occupies a perfect location. Whatever noise there may be outside, the soundproofing is efficient. Rooms like 411 and 314 are very large with lovely views. The restaurant and bar are just fine. The room service is excellent and reception service is efficient and polite. Its a lovely small hotel that, on a small yet more than adequate scale provides excellent service at a reasonable price that . The beds are comfy and the bathrooms are just fine. While it lacks the glitz of the several world famous hotels that Vienna offers, it beats their location, does so with class and comfort and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor facing the Kartner Strasse can be a bit larger than the already large room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Charles M,

Thank you for choosing the Ambassador Hotel for your recent business trip to Vienna. It was a pleasure welcoming you as our guest.

We are thrilled about your lovely words and will share your feedback with the entire team.

We hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My girlfriend and I ate in the restaurant on Sunday 16th February and the experience was superb. The gentleman running the restaurant spoke very good English (a good job as my German is not the best) and was charming and helpful throughout. From the amuse bouche of beef Carpaccio through the starters (veal cheeks and smoked fish) and main courses (duck) to the cheese board and dessert (chocolate souffle with walnut cream filling and vanilla ice cream) everything was exceptional and then we come to the little chocolate selection that ended the meal. My girlfriend (a lifelong non-smoker) said they were so good she needed a cigarette after the first one, I know how she feels! No question I'd eat there again, and at restaurantwoche prices food this good was a bargain!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshire_Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#32 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#183 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#110 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing