We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location !!”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #163 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel - it was most comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the location is great! Our room overlooked the square and was quiet. The only downside was the expensive breakfast - so we ventured out - it's a shame more hotels don't include the breakfast in the rate as it would encourage people to try the bar, other facilities etc thereby earning more revenues! We had a problem with our sink but this was sorted out straight away. Also many hotels only have one case stand in a double room when most people travel with more than one bag!! We'll certainly stay again when we return to Vienna!!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor overlooking the square - it was a longer walk from the lift but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for choosing the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and reviewing your stay.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences with your bathroom sink. However, we are glad that those troubles got handled immediately by our staff.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you plan your next trip to Vienna. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel has beautiful rooms. It is very centrally located next to the main shopping centre and 5-10 minutes walk from all the central sites. The "but" is don't believe everything the concierges tell you. For example he told us to go to the Spanish Riding School to buy the tickets at time when the booking office was closed. It was much easier to book online from one's room - especially as my wife was on crutches! And this was not the only misinformation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MDH19VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear MDH19VS,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We apologize for the inconveniences and lack of service you experienced. Please rest assured that we will discuss your comment with the responsible manager. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

We appreciate your honest feedback and sincerely hope you will consider the Ambassador Hotel again for your next trip to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel. Room 123 was perfect situated right above the street so could take a glance at the road and see the crowd walking by.
When windows were closed, it was perfectly calm and together with the great bed, this was a very good environment for high quality sleeping.

We also tried the restaurant which was absolutely fabolous compared to the price.

All togetherm the hotel is highly recommendable when staying in Vienna.

There is no pool or gym so we have not rated this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roger-zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Roger-Zh,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and your visit to the Ambassador Restaurant.

We are thrilled about your wonderful feedback as well as the recommendation and hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Kind regards to Switzerland

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location and the construction of this hotel are both amazing. Unfortunately, it desperately needs maintainance, very old rugs, torn sheets, old TV's. This could easily be one of the best places to stay in Vienna but it fails because of administration. The staff is very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Salvador S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Salvador,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna in August 2013.

We regret that the amenities of our hotel did not meet your expectations. However, it is great to read that our staff provided excellent service.

We thank you for your honest feedback and sincerely hope you will give us another chance.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A real Old School hotel! Original artwork on the walls, beautiful bar with marble pillars, large rooms with high ceilings and chandeliers, yet with modern bathroom facilities, TV and free wifi. Very clean and comfortable rooms. We did not eat breakfast here (too pricey for our budget) but did have drinks in the bar. Very attentive staff, who remembered us no matter what time we came and went. Our room overlooked Karntnerstrasse, and could be noisy in the evening, but the great location balances that.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank therese l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Therese,

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read your review. We are delighted that you liked the combination of tradition and history with modern amenities and that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope you had a pleasant journey back to the United States and look forward to having you as our guest again.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My stay at The Ambassador in May was exceptional. I was impressed with its old classic beauty and charm which has stood the test of time. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. My room was breathtaking and quite spacious. It's elegance was uplifting and ambience comfortable. The location couldn't be better for shopping, seeing sights and strolling around Vienna. I felt quite at home and very welcome and would love to return on my next visit. Thank you for making my stay a very special one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Lynne14,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor and completing our guest survey.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I used to be thrilled when going to this hotel: top location, historical building, chic and cosy. Unfortunatelly, my latest stay, which ended yesterday, brought me a bitter taste: understaffed is the word. One can understand the crisis, the savings, etc, but the tourist paying some 250 euro b&b expects at least a prompt service. Instead, we've got a poor dinner in around one hour and I really felt sorry for the waiter running between the restaurant and the bar, covering both places by himself... The management should consider once more their new staff policy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MihaelaMatei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Ms. Matei,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your last stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We sincerely apologize for what happened during your visit in our restaurant. Due to some unexpected occurences, there was only one waiter on duty that evening.

We are deeply sorry that your stay resulted in a great disappointment. We would be very grateful if we had the pleasure to welcome you again to regain your trust in our quality.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
932 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 359 in Vienna
901 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#118 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £125 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing