We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #152 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 days. It was our first visit to Vienna the hotel worked very well for us. The location of the hotel could not be better. Located in the pedestrian only part of Karntner street, when we did not feel like going out we just opened our window and enjoyed the music of the street players. Of course this meant that we could not keep our windows open at night as the square is quiet only between 4-6 in the morning. However once we shut the window, the street noise is completely shut off. It is also walking distance from all museums, opera house and the music hall.
Shopping and dining was just outside the door. The room was not big but was reasonable. The wall paper and furniture were tasteful. Unfortunately the beds were too hard, we did not have comfortable sleep. If it was not for the hard beds, i would have said we had a perfect stay.
We did not have breakfast included in our package. We did not chose to eat in the hotel as there were many other options around.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62june2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear 62june2012,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that your stay at the Ambassador Hotel was to your satisfaction. However, we are sorry to read that you did not sleep well in your bed.

Some of our rooms are facing Kärntner Straße, Vienna's exclusive shopping street and pedestrian area. As you mentioned in your review, you don't need to leave the hotel to experience the city - just open the windows and enjoy the atmosphere of bustling Vienna.

We hope you consider the Ambassador Hotel again when you plan your next trip to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    219
    65
    16
    16
See reviews for
114
237
42
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned from spending 6 nights in Vienna staying at the Ambassador Hotel. We were allocated excellent accommodation on the second floor at the front of the hotel. It was very comfortable, clean and spacious. We would recommend this hotel as it is in an excellent area, mostly pedestrianised and near to the Cathedral and historic sites. We found the staff at the desk to be most helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Kathleen,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review. It was a pleasure having you as our guests at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We are glad that you felt comfortable in your room and had a wonderful week in Vienna.
Thank you for commenting so nicely on our staff.

We hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this beautiful hotel and loved it! For those who smoke (I know we are the minority nowadays :( ),smoking is allowed in certain rooms and in the Bar!
We were upgraded to a very quiet de luxe room on the fourth floor,overlooking the square.The room was beautifully furnished and very spacious.The only downside being a lack of personal touch, according to my opinion,such as -some flowers or a bottle of water with glasses..or coffee& tea ? !
But,the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the service excellent, both at the front desk and in the Bar!
We would highly recommend this hotel and will no doubt stay here again when in Wienna!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taso282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Taso282,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read your positive feedback and appreciate your thoughts regarding the atmosphere.
A complimentary bottle of water is provided daily in each room. We are sorry that this add-on was missing in your room.

We thank you for recommending the Ambassador Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel - it was most comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the location is great! Our room overlooked the square and was quiet. The only downside was the expensive breakfast - so we ventured out - it's a shame more hotels don't include the breakfast in the rate as it would encourage people to try the bar, other facilities etc thereby earning more revenues! We had a problem with our sink but this was sorted out straight away. Also many hotels only have one case stand in a double room when most people travel with more than one bag!! We'll certainly stay again when we return to Vienna!!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor overlooking the square - it was a longer walk from the lift but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for choosing the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and reviewing your stay.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences with your bathroom sink. However, we are glad that those troubles got handled immediately by our staff.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you plan your next trip to Vienna. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel has beautiful rooms. It is very centrally located next to the main shopping centre and 5-10 minutes walk from all the central sites. The "but" is don't believe everything the concierges tell you. For example he told us to go to the Spanish Riding School to buy the tickets at time when the booking office was closed. It was much easier to book online from one's room - especially as my wife was on crutches! And this was not the only misinformation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MDH19VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear MDH19VS,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We apologize for the inconveniences and lack of service you experienced. Please rest assured that we will discuss your comment with the responsible manager. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

We appreciate your honest feedback and sincerely hope you will consider the Ambassador Hotel again for your next trip to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel. Room 123 was perfect situated right above the street so could take a glance at the road and see the crowd walking by.
When windows were closed, it was perfectly calm and together with the great bed, this was a very good environment for high quality sleeping.

We also tried the restaurant which was absolutely fabolous compared to the price.

All togetherm the hotel is highly recommendable when staying in Vienna.

There is no pool or gym so we have not rated this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger-zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Roger-Zh,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and your visit to the Ambassador Restaurant.

We are thrilled about your wonderful feedback as well as the recommendation and hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Kind regards to Switzerland

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
273 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location and the construction of this hotel are both amazing. Unfortunately, it desperately needs maintainance, very old rugs, torn sheets, old TV's. This could easily be one of the best places to stay in Vienna but it fails because of administration. The staff is very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salvador S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Salvador,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna in August 2013.

We regret that the amenities of our hotel did not meet your expectations. However, it is great to read that our staff provided excellent service.

We thank you for your honest feedback and sincerely hope you will give us another chance.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#36 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#185 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#111 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing