We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Historic”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #151 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location & Historic”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Pleasant entrance welcomes you to the Ambassador. Located in the shopping district this fairly small hotel offers luxury, grand views, an excellent (albeit a tad expensive,) wonderful breakfast. Within minutes of many of Vienna's attractions, close to public transit this hotel has been a treat.

Room Tip: Booked through Expedia for three nights we were able to secure a reasonable rate for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmienay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jimmienay,

Thank you very much for choosing the Ambassador Hotel for your stay in Vienna.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you consider the Ambassador again when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    219
    65
    16
    16
See reviews for
114
237
42
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Went with friends to celebrate my birthday.
We couldn't have chosen a better hotel for our trip. Set in an attractive square.
It was centrally located and even though Vienna is a very large city, one could walk to most places of interest.
The accommodation was superb, staff very friendly and helpful.
The food was good.
As was the wine.

Room Tip: Our party had three double rooms and all were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackmarj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jackmarj2014,

Thank you for choosing the Ambassador Hotel Vienna to celebrate your birthday.

It is a pleasure to read your fabulous feedback regarding our hotel and restaurant.

We are very happy that we could fulfill your expectations and look forward to having you and your friends as our guests again.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a sort of heritage structure which everyone may not like but it is neatly kept and well maintained. Front desk staff is extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast is well laid out and sumptuous.

The location is superb as the hotel is located in the main market street.

The room size is good with good bathroom. Normally a balcony is attached to the room but without access to it which may not be permitted.....not sure! The paintings in the alleys are attractive making up a unique ambience!

Individual rooms are not provided with iron board and one has to go up to 3rd floor for the job. Another thing lacking is provision of electric cattle with tea/coffee sachet that cost hardly anything to the hotel but is of immense value for the guest for morning and occasional need for tea and coffee.

Over all an excellent experience !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vipul61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear vipul61,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and posting a photo of our front entrance on Neuer Markt.

We are delighted that your stay was an "excellent experience". Your feedback is highly valued as it helps us to improve our services.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you again at our property.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were there for a conference and stayed in the hotel for 6 days. The location is central, right in front of the shops and is walkable to the Opera house and close to the subway. The hotel music lounge is centrally located and was rather quiet even over the weekend which is probably because there are rooms around it. The hotel is much older then it looks on the website but is clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

The Ambassador has been a hotel for 116 years and is one of the most historic and traditional buildings in the city. It features the typical Viennese charme, combined with modern amenities.

Our location is indeed very convenient and unique. Thank you for pointing that out to other travelers.

We hope you consider the Ambassador Hotel again when your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was here on business trip but i think hotel ambassador for price 200 eur for night what i payed with breakfast and parking was verry good price becouse you are in centrum in heart of wien and hotel is in classic style but nice clean really good choice for 200 euro....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Milan,

Thank you for choosing the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and posting this fantastic review.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next business or leisure trip to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 days. It was our first visit to Vienna the hotel worked very well for us. The location of the hotel could not be better. Located in the pedestrian only part of Karntner street, when we did not feel like going out we just opened our window and enjoyed the music of the street players. Of course this meant that we could not keep our windows open at night as the square is quiet only between 4-6 in the morning. However once we shut the window, the street noise is completely shut off. It is also walking distance from all museums, opera house and the music hall.
Shopping and dining was just outside the door. The room was not big but was reasonable. The wall paper and furniture were tasteful. Unfortunately the beds were too hard, we did not have comfortable sleep. If it was not for the hard beds, i would have said we had a perfect stay.
We did not have breakfast included in our package. We did not chose to eat in the hotel as there were many other options around.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62june2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear 62june2012,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that your stay at the Ambassador Hotel was to your satisfaction. However, we are sorry to read that you did not sleep well in your bed.

Some of our rooms are facing Kärntner Straße, Vienna's exclusive shopping street and pedestrian area. As you mentioned in your review, you don't need to leave the hotel to experience the city - just open the windows and enjoy the atmosphere of bustling Vienna.

We hope you consider the Ambassador Hotel again when you plan your next trip to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned from spending 6 nights in Vienna staying at the Ambassador Hotel. We were allocated excellent accommodation on the second floor at the front of the hotel. It was very comfortable, clean and spacious. We would recommend this hotel as it is in an excellent area, mostly pedestrianised and near to the Cathedral and historic sites. We found the staff at the desk to be most helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAmbassadorWien, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Kathleen,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review. It was a pleasure having you as our guests at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna.

We are glad that you felt comfortable in your room and had a wonderful week in Vienna.
Thank you for commenting so nicely on our staff.

We hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Vienna.

Kind regards

Ambassador Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#44 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#185 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Vienna
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#78 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#111 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is a luxurious business hotel, located in the heart of Vienna, directly on the Kärntner Strasse shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Wien Hotel
Ambassador Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing