We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Ranked #1 of 114 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Homely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

After a long and adventurous train journey due to the flood, we arrived late at Spiess & Spiess. We were so worried about their check-in counter closing but luckily we called them and were assured by them that they will wait for us. The direction given to us were apprehensive and the apartment is just 2 minutes away from the metro station - Rochugasse. When we finally reached, we were glad to be informed that we were upgraded to the garden suite.

Upon entering, we felt at ease with the feeling that we have returned home. The deco is simple yet everything you wanted is present - nice bathtub for 2 person and nice toiletries, clean toilet, very comfortable bed and most importantly, the boss (Philip) is thoughtful. We didn't even noticed that the air-con was switched to the heater mode and yet when they did house-keeping, they rectified it for us. However, wifi was slightly affected after closing the room, which can be easily reconnected when you open the door.

Breakfast was simple but the egg freshly prepared by chef is nicely done. Tired different style of egg for different days - my fav is sunny-side up.

The apartment is so close to the metro station and yet it is within a few stops away from city center. It is so easily accessible.

All in all, I love spiess & spiess apartment.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vivi_tty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    67
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
137
284
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Great location, just steps from the Metro on a quiet street. We could not have asked for more in terms of service, helping with take-out orders, advice on what to do and how to do it. And, breakfast each morning was very enjoyable and tasty. Our accommodations were bright, clean and welcoming. And, there were no unpleasant surprises regarding our booking as a triple. We arrived early from our trans-atlantic flight. We were able to change from our airplane clothes and get started with our vacation immediately, which also helped with adjusting to the 6-hour time difference. We left our bags in their lock-up. The staff took our bags to our room when it was ready, so all was set for our return in the evening. We have no hesitation at all to give Spiess & Spiess our highest recommendation and thanks! Tip for Vienna newbies, take a cab from the airport. The base fare was less than S&S indicated on their webpage. With a generous tip, our fare was 40 Euros. If we had taken the airport train (the CAT), our fare would have been 39 Euros, and we avoided the hassel of figuring out the train system in our post-flight brain fog.

Room Tip: Our room, #14, was on the back of the property, with a view towards Prater Park--we could just see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Tuscans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was a terrific find for us during a recent visit to Vienna. The place is beautiful, well maintained, with amenities and spaciousness. Lots of attention to detail and comfort! And kind, gracious, helpful hosts and an inviting breakfast room and delicious menu! Really a gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer building and it was a beautiful, luxurious space with a balcony too. Elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This B & B is ideally located. Easy few minutes to subway then few stops to city. Couldn't be easier. Room good. Portable air-conditioner outlet through window as it was windy. Easily fixed by jamming in small towel. Did ask reception for a water heater (kettle?) to assist my wife's medical condition. Said it would arrive next morning. Nope. Asked again for next morning. Still forgot. Still overall stay was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WPS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPIESS-Team, Geschäftsführer at Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your feedback! We appreciate your review.
I am very sorry to read about the mishap with the water kettle! Of course it is usually absolutely no problem to provide a water kettle (for free of course). We will internally evaluate what happened and how to avoid this in the future. We strive to make your stay most enjoyable!
By the way, we are currently equipping all our rooms with a set consisting of a stylish water kettle and an assortment of premium bagged teas and tea glasses for our guest to enjoy - this added service will be free of additional charge in all our rooms. Currently we have 8 of our 21 rooms equipped with these tea-sets. By the end of July 2013 we will have all our rooms featuring this service.
Best regards and thank you,
Jean-Philipp SPIESS, owner and manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was not a disappointment.
(1) It might not be the dead center of Vienna, but its proximity to the subway station cannot be beat. Compare this to what my hubby reserved in Prague...a 15-min uphill walk from station, you basically can see the place (70 meters) once you exit Rochugasse.
(2) Despite its closeness to the station, it's on a very quiet residential street. Noise was not a problem at all even though our room was facing the street side.
(3) We had the "superior room". Please see PHOTOS. Bright, sparkly clean, cheerful. One cutest (and smallest) sink in the universe, and a generous size sink and tub. It even had "Lather" bath salt! (a boutique skincare from near home, Pasadena).
(4) Please see breakfast buffet PHOTOS. Lovely room, nice food, hot coffee/tea, and they make scramble egg for you. Simple and filling.
(5) Staff were very friendly. The only caviar--they are not there 24 hrs. We decided to leave really early for train to Prague and had to pay by credit card instead of cash since they wouldn't get there until 7 AM. Of course we could have checked the day before and paid, so just plan accordingly.
(6) Several restaurants near by. There is a tiny alleyway with a Chinese grocery and a Taiwanese restaurant! OK, the bigger restaurant is Greek, and it was pretty packed (we didn't eat there so can't comment).

Room Tip: Like I said, even our room facing the street was quiet, but there are rooms facing the courtyard whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtlemeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

All former reviews found out to be true. The hotel is most friendly, convenient, well located, well kept...
Free fast WiFi is availeable all around.
Breakfast is very rich and tasty.
most recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Spiess & Spiess is not inexpensive but well worth the cost. We stayed in a "superior" room, which was not only commodious and attractively furnished, but provided a powder room separate from the large bathroom, an unusual feature in a B&B and one with obvious advantages. The location, only yards from the Rochusgasse station of the U3, is 3 short stops from the center of town, or you can walk it in about 20 minutes.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HaddonfieldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Property: Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Address: Hainburger Strasse 19 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned boutique hotel / B&B in the hearth of Vienna. Spacious, bright, and elegantly furnished rooms of timeless beauty with heated stoneware flooring and large bath tubs in all rooms are what makes us special. Very comfortable beds, Air-conditioning, and included breakfast are standard. In one of the best residential areas of Vienna, located in a quiet back street in a (in 2002) remodeled old (originally built just before 1900) house of classical style, yet directly at an underground stop just a few minutes away from all important places in Vienna, we are the perfect place for your stay in Vienna - no matter if for business or pleasure (or both). Allergy friendly hotel according to ECARF-Standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiess And Spiess Appartement
Spiess & Spiess Appartement Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing