We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge and Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Ranked #1 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
delafield, WI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Huge and Awesome”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we were hoping that there would be availability at Spiess & Spiess. All that you read is true. It was a fabulous stay. We had a LARGE room with two single beds, two chairs, a desk, TV, a large outdoor porch with chairs and a table, a large bathroom with a huge tub or shower, and a separate room for the toilet. Everything was modern with white slipcovers. It was perfect and we appreciated not to sit on beds but rather on chairs.

Spiess & Spiess had two beautiful breakfast rooms where tourists enjoyed chatting. We had many choices for breakfast...pastries, Mr. Spiess famous eggs, cheeses, cold cuts, yogurts, fruit salad, coffee etc.

Spiess and Spiess is located 3 metro stops from St. Stephen's Platz. Don't let that scare you away because the metro stop was a 5 minute walk from the B&B. We also enjoyed the VERY nearby restaurants...the greek restaurant and the italian tratorria. Shopping was also great in that area. It had the same store as in the city centre, but less expensive.

While in Vienna we especially enjoyed St. Stephan's, the Matisse exhibit, an organ concert, the free walking tour from the TI, and of course the beauty of the city.

Room Tip: I don't think that you can go wrong with any room you pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    67
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
139
286
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

There are several reasons this is a very good choice for a place to stay in Vienna. It is conveniently located within 1/2 block of the Rochusgasse U-Bahn stop. There is an excellent Greek restaurant, Irodion, across the street that effectively functions as the hotel restaurant. The rooms are both clean and spacious, the staff uniformly helpful and the Hungarian room service fun and amusing. The in-hotel breakfast (served to the strains of Strauss) is excellent, with some of the best scrambled eggs I have ever had. In addition, the room we had was quiet (save a mournful cat one nice.)

We've been travelling abroad for many years and stayed in many places, but few as comfortable and welcoming as Spiess & Speiss. When I go back to Vienna I will most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer section of the hotel, looking out on the garden. I would probably suggest th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitalican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

There are a number of points that set Spiess & Spiess apart from other choices in Vienna, chief among them is the friendly staff. Everyone was very helpful. And as other reviews have mentioned, the breakfast is the best we have ever had - featuring homemade scrambled eggs by the owner himself.

One point I would like to stress - don't let the location concern you. Although the facility is not located in the center of the old town, the subway is only a 2-minute walk from the front door. Additionally, the trains arrive every 2 minutes, so there is never much of a wait to get a train to the old city center. And it's only about a 5 minute ride to St. Stephen's Cathedral, so it's really no effort at all to catch a train to the city center even if it's just to find a restaurant for dinner.

We would definitely stay here again if travelling to Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcm5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Excellent three night stay this month. Great room ,great breakfasts and friendly staff. Location convenient. Best hotel on our 18 day trip thru E Europe. Highly recommend. Trip was arranged by jay way tours who selected the hotel....excellent choice. Also a rick Steve's listing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Location was pretty good. It was a bit out from the city, but just a few steps from the metro. Very clean rooms, some funky shapes, but good furnishings. No views at all. The breakfast was very good, as were the owner's special scrambled eggs. The desk staff were helpful and very courteous. Had A/C which can be important.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Their breakfast was my favorite. It was fresh and has many selections to choose. I really enjoyed every morning.
The hotel location was fantastic. It is only 2 minute walk from U-Bahn station and only 4 stops away from the city center (Cathedral).
The room was always clean and nicely prepared.
I would recommend this place for anybody who are visiting to Vienna and I would come again if there is any chance to visit the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina_P90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good location.Stayed in family suite with kids, good sized, air-conditioned room with view of the garden/business district. Comfortable beds with good speed WiFi. Street parking just by the entrance was safe and easily available.Staff was very courteous and helpful. Good breakfast, served by attentive waitstaff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saguaro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
752 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,300 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 362 in Vienna
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Property: Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Address: Hainburger Strasse 19 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned boutique hotel / B&B in the hearth of Vienna. Spacious, bright, and elegantly furnished rooms of timeless beauty with heated stoneware flooring and large bath tubs in all rooms are what makes us special. Very comfortable beds, Air-conditioning, and included breakfast are standard. In one of the best residential areas of Vienna, located in a quiet back street in a (in 2002) remodeled old (originally built just before 1900) house of classical style, yet directly at an underground stop just a few minutes away from all important places in Vienna, we are the perfect place for your stay in Vienna - no matter if for business or pleasure (or both). Allergy friendly hotel according to ECARF-Standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiess And Spiess Appartement
Spiess & Spiess Appartement Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing