We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to all the positive reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Ranked #1 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lived up to all the positive reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This is a great place! The rooms are large, modern, and clean, the staff is courteous and friendly, the location is fantastic (on top of a subway stop so very easy to get anywhere quickly), and the breakfast is lovely, fresh, and generous. Our family of four (2 small children) stayed in Vienna for five days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and wholeheartedly recommend it. The baby cot provided in the room was clean and well maintained, and the sheets and blanket were changed with housekeeping service, which was such a nice touch.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 28watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    68
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
140
286
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This nice small hotel is situated in nice neighborhood and is easily access by public transport. The décor is white and nicely stylish but still cosy. I had a garden side room with a balcony. I liked a lot the excellent light and make-up mirror in bathroom. The bathroom had also quite large corner bath tube. Free wifi was available in the rooms, but it didn’t work perfectly in every room. The breakfast room had also nice and calm atmosphere. Nice surprise was freshly pressed orange juice.

Room Tip: The garden side room may have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine76_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Three of us, a couple and a single, stayed for 3 nights. We had a lovely 2 bedroom apartment (NB although called an apartment the kitchen facilities were limited). However, the breakfasts included in the price were wonderful. The price wasn't cheap but we didn't mind paying for quality and convenience. The apartments are located in a quiet street, two metro stops from the centre of the old town - the metro stop is just a short walk along the road. We loved our stay here. Our only complaint would be the difficulty accessing the Wifi from the annex where our rooms were. But as this was a problem we encountered throughout Europe it would be unfair to let this affect my review of Spiess and Spiess.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the apartments in the annex behind the main building. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The reviews speak the truth. Arrived here from a very small room in Budapest. Our room was huge with a balcony. So nice to be able to spread out. Great location, excellent breakfast. Vienna is a great city and has a lovely feel to it. I miss it already!

Room Tip: Room 14. Nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is my second stay in this hotel. I had really good comments in my last review because I genuinely had a good experience with this hotel. But not this time. I got to this hotel at 2:30 pm after a long transatlantic flight. Yet, I was told that my room is not ready and that it will be available in 1 hr. A group of tourists was told the same thing but their wait was only 10-20 minutes. Since I came several minutes before they got there, I have been wondering what that apparent bias was all about. As tired as I was, I waited patiently only to be told that my room is not ready, after about 1 hour. After a negotiation, I was offered another room which apparently has been available but which costs 10 Euros more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPIESS-Team, Inhaber at Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest!
First of all thank you very much for providing feedback and taking the effort and the time to write two reviews! Thank you for pointing out also the positive experiences!
I am very sorry to read that you have been disappointed by the check-in experience on arrival.
I would like to apologize to you hereby.
We can assure you that this is not the rule, but a rather rare exception.
We strive to guarantee a CheckIn by 2 pm. On that particular day a string of unfortunate events led to the inconvenient situation - we had departures and arrivals in all our rooms that day - something that happens only rarely.
We will work in our team to assure that such situations will be handled in a more convenient way for the guests.
Nevertheless I hope we can welcome you again in our house!
Best regards,
Jean-Philipp Spieß.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spiess & Spiess was a wonderful surprise. Our room was large, no no no huge, great views, very clean and quiet. The staff was exceptional, very friendly and helpful with restaurant and things to do suggestions. Being one block from the U-Bahn metro stop made getting around Vienna very easy and convenient. The breakfast was amazing, easily better than anything you'll find in a restaurant - be sure to try the scrambled eggs! They were able to do our laundry at a very fair price. A wealth of good restaurants are right nearby, as is an ATM.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is truly and exceptional hotel. The breakfasts are as good as you'll get in the best restaurants. The staff is friendly, courteous, helpful and efficient. The room we stayed in was clean, spacious, and comfortable, with a bathroom you would love to have in your own home. The most noteworthy amenity of our room was, by European standards, the BIG shower in the bathroom - what a treat! You get a lot for your money at this hotel, which was VERY reasonably priced. The public underground transit is located a short minute / minute and a half walk right at one end of the street. VERY convenient! I can't think of one negative about this hotel. Excellent place to stay. 5 gold stars for every category rating!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vernon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension

Property: Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension
Address: Hainburger Strasse 19 | 1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned boutique hotel / B&B in the hearth of Vienna. Spacious, bright, and elegantly furnished rooms of timeless beauty with heated stoneware flooring and large bath tubs in all rooms are what makes us special. Very comfortable beds, Air-conditioning, and included breakfast are standard. In one of the best residential areas of Vienna, located in a quiet back street in a (in 2002) remodeled old (originally built just before 1900) house of classical style, yet directly at an underground stop just a few minutes away from all important places in Vienna, we are the perfect place for your stay in Vienna - no matter if for business or pleasure (or both). Allergy friendly hotel according to ECARF-Standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel SPIESS & SPIESS Appartement-Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spiess And Spiess Appartement
Spiess & Spiess Appartement Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing