We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #6 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Okemos, Michigan, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic hotel”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed here with my wife for a week in late October/early November. Took my wife with me for her first trip to Europe, and wanted a romantic hotel with excellent service. Booked the Rathaus Wein and Design because of the overwhelming positive reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. Arrived at 9:30 am after flying from the US, expecting to leave our luggage until our room was ready. Conrad had our room ready for us, a perfect room on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view of Stephansdom (Sattlerhof room). Got our trip off to a great start.

The rooms are wonderfully designed. Modern fixtures, flat screen tv, windows that fully open, hardwood floors, comfortable beds, and a very fun bathroom and shower. The glowing light above the beds was a nice touch. Rooms are sealed tight. The Cleveland Symphony Orchestra was in town during our stay, and a violinist from the orchestra was staying in the room next to us. We never heard him once.

Location is great. Tucked away on a quiet street, one block away from one of the major routes around the Innere Stadt. Three blocks from the Rathaus U2 station, three blocks from the Volkstheatre U3 station, and a beautiful 15 minute walk through the Volksgarten to Michaelerplatz and Stephansdom in the center of town.

Best part of this hotel, by far, is the staff. Incredibly accommodating and attentive. Every member of the reception staff had a positive impact on our trip, but Conrad and Claudia were particularly helpful and pleasant. Restaurant and coffee house suggestions, directions, U-bahn and train tickets, airport transports, suggestions for shopping (I suggest Mariahilferstrasse and the Naschmarkt, among others), every request was met with a pleasant, helpful answer or suggestion.

I highly recommend this hotel for people traveling alone or for couples. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Sattlerhof room is on the 3rd floor and faces the Innere Stadt to the east. Beautiful views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    217
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
205
717
72
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend to visit the Christmas markets, Lower Belvedere, Schonbrunn, Hofberg, St. Stephens etc etc. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the Rathaus (where the main Xmas market is) & the underground system (a really quick & easy way to traverse Vienna). The hotel is really good & the staff are really helpful & friendly. We enjoyed tasting some of the local Austrian wines in the bar one evening & tried out the wines in our room from the winery Pockl. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend break or trip to Vienna, as it's so conveniently situated & the Austrian restaurant on the corner about 2 mins walk away which the hotel recommended was great & obviously very popular with the locals, so you will need to book to get in. The breakfasts were incredible. I have never seen such a vast selection of juices, cheeses, jams, honeys, pastries etc. Really great breakfasts & the one room service meal we had was also just what we felt like. Great hotel & would stay again if ever back in Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I just enjoyed a weekend in Vienna during the Christmas Market season. I was traveling alone and was very fussy in choosing the right hotel for safety and convence to exploring the inner city. This hotel was perfect for my needs. About a 3 block walk the the Volkstheatre U bahn station. The staff was very accommodating and helpful (all understood english). I loved the stylish rooms and looked forward to coming back to the hotel to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Hotel has a free computer their guests can use in the reception area. The full breakfast looked great but kind of pricey at 17 euro. They also offered coffee and croissant at 3 euro. Well worth it! I would definitely stay again. There are also 2 food markets Spar and Billa on the same block about 1 to 1 1/2 blocks down from the hotel.
The hotel reception also sells the Vienna transportation passes. A 48 hour pass for the city's rail and tram is 10 euro which is well worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrais2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We just came back from Vienna, the wonderful city and fairy tale Christmas Market.
We choosed the hotel with Tripadvisor .
Location is good, not far from city centre(Rathaus), unfortunately the parking garage is 150 m from hotel; witch is understandble for city centre, a little bit unpleasant. While my husband stayed in the car, I checked to the reception , receive a red card and went to the garage. It was not a plesure to find that our car did not fit in the assigned place( the garagist did not wanted to exchange it without a call from hotel , receptionist helped us imediately), another trip to the hotel and back to garage. We tooked the luggages and checked in very easily; received the room 302, on the quiet side, like we asked, with a king size bad.
The hotel is refurbished with nice design, the concept is original and impressive, every room has assigned to a wine producer. We liked the ideea and the breakfast was realy nice and varied( not a very good "regular" cofee, but you can ask for expresso or anything else).
The room-I like the heat most than the cold , unfortunately it was a little cold in the room, on my opinion( not in my husband`s), although the heating system was open all the time( in the night the noise of blowing heat air was not very nice). It was a little bit strange that as toiletries we received only one botlle of shower gel and one of lotion,during our 3 nights stay. Of course we had ours and probably we could received if asked, but there were not so important.
The personal was helpful when we asked information or help.
Vienna is wonderful especialy on the Advent time and we liked it very much, hotel was appropriate for a short stay, like ours.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IIoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I must have stayed there in total nearly 60 nights. Its a wonderful small hotel, very comfortable large clean rooms and it has a breakfast better than most 5Star hotels

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKA100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stated here as a family with our 8yr old daughter for a city break. Lovely hotel and very close to the centre. Our room was excellent and very clean and a bit of an oasis after very long days doing the touristy thing. Would stay again. Lovely breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyandsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We found this gem back in 2007 and have made 4 different trips to the property because mainly we LOVE the breakfast! I believe hotels should be judged on what they are trying to offer and how well they execute that, so while this is not a 5 star property (nor does it claim to be) its location, service and rooms make this a really good option for a central location in Vienna.

I also wrestle with which I like more...Wine and Design or the Hollmann Beletag and they each have their advantages, but we end up staying here more often because we find the staff friendlier. (Both are great boutique hotels and I would encourage people to stay at both if they have a longer stay in Vienna....you get 2 different experiences and see different parts of the city)

We have stayed in the Rudy Pichler room on most occasions, and while it has a tiny bit of an IKEA feel to the furniture, it is roomy and bright and totally functional. The shower is fantastic and this room is bigger than some of the other rooms we have stayed in on the property.

The service in my opinion is a touch above and gives the boutique feel you want when staying in a smaller property. My husband arranged roses in our room for an anniversary stay which the hotel organized and had in our room upon arrival. They also don't have a room service menu, but on multiple occasions have brought amazing salads and light snacks to our room when we were too tired and jetlagged to bother going out for dinner.

BREAKFAST: THIS IS THE REASON TO COME HERE! If you stay here and don't have breakfast, you are missing the whole point! The breakfast spans multiple tables and has all the cold cuts, cheeses, spreads, fruits, jams, honey, juices you could imagine. Additionally, you can order hot items from the kitchen. We usually try and go early and eat for 2-3 hours because there is so much to try and then we can skip lunch! The Liebtauer is my favorite.

Some tips: I recommend trying the wine tasting course one evening during your stay. Its a mellow evening, the food is great, and the sommelier is able to give a educational overview on Austrian wine. When we have had the luggage space, we have purchased a few of the nice wines we tried at the hotel. Also, the Mexican restaurant directly across the street has wonderful margaritas and fantastic food for very good prices....good idea for an evening, especially since good Mexican food is difficult to come by in this city!

I hate to give this place a great review because over the years, it seems the "secret" has gotten out and this place is indeed more popular to stay at. But on our return we saw the service and staff were still providing a good experience for their guests....only down side is they seem to have the demand now, so they don't offer as great of discounts on their rooms, but I still highly recommend 4 years later.

Room Tip: Rudy Pichler room is spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wienchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,300 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,444 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Property: Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing