We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthy winner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #7 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Though unprepossessing from the outside this hotel in beautifully designed within. Our room was very spacious and felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. Two bottles of very reasonably priced wine were in the room and a mini bar. Only a couple of minor criticisms - the room took quiet a long time to warm up, there were no extra blankets in the room at night and a kettle would have been nice.
The reception staff were very laid back and friendly. On our arrival we got lots of good 'insider' information on the Christmas markets. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were outstanding - very cheery (as demonstrated by my boiled egg which arrived in a woolley hat with a happy face drawn on).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJB145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Arriving later than expected due to delays on our way down to Vienna, we were welcomed by the news that we were upgraded to the suite.
We could not wish for a more appropriate room to celebrate my wife's birthday in.
Luxurious and spacious as you would expect, but there is one small thing which would have been nice to have in the room; a water boiler and the possibility to make your own tea or coffee.
The selection of wines partly made up for that, though..
Super friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and great location.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We've stayed three nights and we've got an excellent experience.
Closed to the center city (ten minutes walking), quiet and elegant rooms, awesome breakfast and they're even pet-friendly (we have a cocker).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrannyLovesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed in the penthouse suite, room 501 from 11/25-30. Negotiated breakfast to be included in room rate. Their breakfast is filling, great quality and all you can eat. They serve incredible made-to-order eggs and a well stocked variety of coffees, teas, cereals and cold fare (think antipasti) to be included in rate. Three to five blocks to U-Bahn (subway), Imperial Palace attractions (Treasury, Albertina, Butterfly Museum, etc.)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilverLake2TheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear guests from California,

thank you very much again for staying with us in November.

I hope you have enjoyed your stay in Vienna, although it was rather cold here (November!) and you were used other temperatures from California... :)!

Thank you also very much for reviewing our hotel so positively, may I, however, correct one thing: we are a 39 rooms boutique hotel. Maybe some guests, when reading we have only 13 rooms, think that it wouldn´t make sense to send an enquiry to us... :)! We are, however, always happy to receive enquiries for our wine themed hotel and love to share our wines and all the stories about this wonderful drink with as many guests from all over the world.

Enjoy the Christmas time at home and all the best for the coming year for you and your family!

Cordially,

Conrad Schröpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

On arriving at the hotel for a weekend with my partner we were upgraded which was a nice surprise. We were put in a HUGE room at the top of the building with a lovely roof terrace (lovely even though it was November). The room was stunning with a gorgeous bathroom and shower and the staff were really smiley and helpful. It was about 10 mins walk from the centre of Vienna, had lovely local restaurants and pubs and the breakfast was well worth the extra. I wish every place I went turned out as lovely. Thank you so much for a beautiful first trip to Vienna.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms but the top room we stayed in was just stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-MV_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We love the hotel and the location is quite convenient. The staff are very pleasant and will do their best to accommodate requests. The family room is large and the beds are very comfortable. We chose this hotel based upon other TA reviews and the similarity to the reviews of the Hotel General where we stayed in Prague. No disappointments at all! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eiffeltexas76049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Nice boutique hotel, unusual room design, but fine. Good location for museum area (4-5 blocks). Staff is outstanding. Set up personal guide as we requested (excellent); several restaurant reservations; train vouchers to go to Schonbrunn Palace, etc. Extremely helpful, very friendly, couldn't ask for more.
Very limited restaurant, more like snacks, but great for relaxing at night with some wine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,488 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,514 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 359 in Vienna
2,421 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,109 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £105 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing