We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #7 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Just returned from 3 nights nights in lovely Vienna at the Rathaus. We have chosen it based on the good reviews and we can only join the experiences by others: great hospitality at an affordable price. The hotel is not too big (which we liked), staff is super-friendly and helpful, breakfast is excellent, design & interior of the rooms is very nice (wine theme) and perfect walking distance from the center. So if you want to visit Vienna, this is ab-so-lu-te-ly the place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

i was in rathaus last july good experience very friendly environment and helpful stuff small walking distance from the city center (around 10 minutes) nearby the shopping malls i highly recommend this hotel if you want to relax and have time for your self

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emad887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We have just returned after four nights in Vienna at the Rathous. I can only join the former positive opinions of my predecessors . This is an excellent hotel that provides an experience of hospitality at an affordable price . The design of the rooms, the attention to detail and the fact that this is not a big hotel , but small and intimate hotel make the differnce . In terms of location, the Rathaus is in excellent location - within walking distance of all the attractions in the old city . Location outside the ring actually becomes an advantage, since it is within walking distance from quiet streets with restaurants and shops . had the Hotel managers wanted to make the experience even more perfect , they were considering to put tea and coffee making facilities. However, it is still a wonderful place with professional and courteous staff . We enjoyed staying in the Rathaus very much! ! !
The Weinbaum

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were close to the purple line underground and we were at a walking distance of Stephanplatz.

All of the rooms have an Austrian wine name. Ours, was the Pöckl Room (406). It was a very quiet room, spacious and functionnal.

Breakfast was excellent. Lots of fruits, good variety of cold meat, cheese, vegetables, jams. Excellent coffees. They would prepare eggs the way you wanted them. They had Viennese pastries, yogurt, juices etc.....

The personnel were always smiling and helping you with any requests. We asked that they booked restaurants on 2 occasions and we really enjoyed their picks. We would definetely go back.

Room Tip: Found a nice Italian restaurant called "Oliva Verde" not far from the hotel. Worth trying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belsou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Though unprepossessing from the outside this hotel in beautifully designed within. Our room was very spacious and felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. Two bottles of very reasonably priced wine were in the room and a mini bar. Only a couple of minor criticisms - the room took quiet a long time to warm up, there were no extra blankets in the room at night and a kettle would have been nice.
The reception staff were very laid back and friendly. On our arrival we got lots of good 'insider' information on the Christmas markets. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were outstanding - very cheery (as demonstrated by my boiled egg which arrived in a woolley hat with a happy face drawn on).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJB145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Arriving later than expected due to delays on our way down to Vienna, we were welcomed by the news that we were upgraded to the suite.
We could not wish for a more appropriate room to celebrate my wife's birthday in.
Luxurious and spacious as you would expect, but there is one small thing which would have been nice to have in the room; a water boiler and the possibility to make your own tea or coffee.
The selection of wines partly made up for that, though..
Super friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and great location.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We've stayed three nights and we've got an excellent experience.
Closed to the center city (ten minutes walking), quiet and elegant rooms, awesome breakfast and they're even pet-friendly (we have a cocker).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrannyLovesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,553 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,893 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#6 of 358 in Vienna
2,508 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 358 in Vienna
1,124 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 358 in Vienna
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £105 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing