We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #9 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A great place to stay, with spacious rooms and friendly helpful staff. The breakfast was amazing! Although it's not in the heart of the old city centre, this in some ways makes it better because you get a chance to see more of the "real Vienna". It's maybe a 10 minute walk to the Rathaus and Hofburg, and close to two u-bahn stations as well as tram stops so it's no trouble to get anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    215
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
195
701
71
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent a most enjoyable week at this hotel and were hugely impressed with the quality of service. Staff were uniformly friendly, helpful, courteous and cheerful. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and stylish lighting. Breakfasts were incredible - delicious with a huge selection of every dish imaginable, all beautifully presented and providing food to suit every palate.

The hotel is perfectly situated and within easy walking distance of the amazing historical centre of Vienna - so much to see and experience - a place not to be missed!!

Room Tip: We occupied the Heribert Bayer room which looked down the street towards the city centre - very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Though it was our first visit to Vienna, Hotel Rathaus made us feel completely at home. It's central location is perfect for sightseers yet just enough off the main streets to be quiet and peaceful. The room seemed built just for me with comfy reading nooks, great lighting and a huge bathtub, not to mention the selection of excellent local wines! For my husband and I, as budding wine enthusiasts, this was the best place we could possibly have stayed. The lounge was staffed by a very knowledgeable sommelier who was eager to show our taste-buds around the regional wines. (Thank you Leticia!!) The breakfasts were lovely and all the staff were attentive to details. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Just contact the staff by email and give them some hints about what you like in a room and just a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_and_Traci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotel Rathaus was a great choice. Very nice rooms, design everywhere, friendly service, excellent quality food, nice bar, all in one. It is ideal for people who want quality, top notch comfort, with a fair price. Due to a special circumstance, the management upgraded us to the “Atelier” suite on the 5th floor, which is huge, has a private terrace, extra-large rooftop windows, sound system, electric blinders, gigantic modern bathroom full of mirrors... in short: Amazing.:) By chance we also got to see the standard rooms and they were very nice anyway. Here the pluses (lots of) and minus (just one):
+ very clean, modern, comfortable rooms, with all features of the best 5 star hotels
+ very nice bathroom with lots of towels and amenities. Ours had shower and bathtub.
+ bar open 24 hours, but quiet. You can chill with your company, a glass of wine and nice background music.
+ breakfast till noon...yes, noon, that’s how it should be everywhere.:) At least on the weekends, people should have the option to get up late and in Rathaus they do! Freshly baked bread, croissants and cakes, fresh fruits, yogurts, jams, nutella, peanut butter, cold meats, cheese, juices, cappuccino, tea, eggs made to order... You name it, they probably have it. Excellent quality.
+ good location, walking distance to the heart of the city, about 15 min. Good to start the day after being pampered with the large breakfast
+ very quiet, there is no noise at all, neither from the outside, neither from the hotel itself
+ In-room minibar with wine from Austrian producers. Bottles cost between 20 and 30 EUR and the one we had was quite good. Very good price/quality ratio, for the standards of a hotel minibar.
+ very good air conditioning/heating system. Very fast to get to the desired temperature, even though the room was huge.
+ the hotel has a cute inner patio, with tables outside, connected to the bar/breakfast room. Should be nice in the summer and also enables you to go out for a smoke, when you are at the bar.
There is only one thing the hotel should seriously consider, for further improvement: Even if you ask for a king size bed, you will get 2 separate individual matrasses … The bed structure is that of a king size bed but they do not have king size matrasses, only individual. The same with the duvet, 2 separate ones. Apparently this is typical in Austria.
Last few items, just as an information: The blinders for the windows are not blocking the light 100% and there are no curtains. Not a big deal for us, we slept late anyway, but to be taken into account if you like 100% darkness in the room. Also, there is only one elevator, old style, but fully renovated. It was usually quite quick but maybe when the hotel if full may take a bit of time, because there are 5 floors.
All in all, we strongly recommend Hotel Rathaus. Hope you find this review useful, do not hesitate to ask us questions.

Room Tip: If you are up for a special treat, or you have a special occasion, consider the Atelier suite. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masha_and_luckybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This little boutique hotel is in a great location, has lovely uniquely designed, spacous rooms. The staff are phenomenal, so friendly and helpful! A buffet breakfast is on option each morning, there is a lovely garden for sitting out and having your coffee or wine. It's a great hotel if you love wine and wish to try some local wines, which are on offer in every room. The only drawback was there was 1 flight of steps to reception and the lift, so could be a little tricky for less agile guests, but a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing break. The staff could not be nicer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreedomFighterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in the enormous Penthouse Atelier Suite. The room itself was great with bottles of Austrian wine dotted all around the room. The price on the wines were very reasonable and we tried (and enjoyed) a few of them!! The staff were professional, friendly and most of all extremely helpful. My girlfriend fell ill on the day we were due to leave and the staff were great - letting us keep the room, helping us locate an out-of-hours pharmacy and sending up tea and supplies as required. We had a fabulous time (subject to the illness) and would very much recommend this great hotel. We intend to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The company I work for always books this hotel as it is not far from our Vienna office, and as we are in the wine logistics branche it couldn't be suited better, as all the rooms are named after Austrian wine estates!
I stayed in 'Paul Achs' and the room was very spacious and conveniently and tastefully decorated/equipped.
The breakfast buffet offers -apart from sushi and pizza maybe- anything you can think off for breakfast, and you can order other items (eggs etc) on the side.
The hotel choses to use high quality products, organic and/or from small local farmers where possible and everything tastes lovely.
My only hope now is that I have to go back to Vienna for business! (or pleasure, or both)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guest from Cape Town,

it is always great to get reviews from guests from the other end of the world and to learn they obviosly enjoy our way of hospitality, too.

By coincidence, I will fly into Cape Town next week, maybe we´ll meet... :)!

Whenever either your business plans or your private travel plans will bring you to Vienna, we would be more than happy to hosting you again.

Cordially,

Conrad Schröpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Property: Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing