We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #6 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Langen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Liked this hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is great, it's exactly as we saw it on the net. The staff was friendly and kind (we asked for a baby bed and it was in our room when we arrived), our room was spacious and our son enjoyed it very much (10 month old). I loved our room's design which was designed after a winery (as the other rooms), the bed was comfy, we had free wifi, big shower.
There were 2 annoying thing:
1: there were some stairs to achieve the reception, so it was hard to get there (or the room) with the baby stroller (by the way they always offered their help). 2: plugs...we had to pull out the lamp to use our baby phone (we couldn't find any free plug), but it got electricity from the switcher (witch handled 2 or 3 different lights) so we had to sleep the light on (other way the plug didn't work).
Anyway it was a great day and I recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    214
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
201
709
72
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is perfect, it is one of the best 4 star hotels I have ever stayed in. The rooms were very well planed and laid out everything were it should be. The bathrooms just the right size and lots of shelves. The staff were so helpful giving advise all the time. Breakfast is one of the best we have ever had a truly 5 star breakfast.
This is the perfect hotel for Vienna also near so wonderful restaurants and near all the sites

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaundenTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a very unusual hotel. The rooms are named/designed after differnent wineries and they are some of the biggest hotel rooms I've seen. Only 3 of the 40 rooms have bathtubs so if that's important to you make sure you ask for one. We asked, and were surprised when they didn't try to charge us extra as that happened at a different hotel we had stayed at in Vienna. We got a room with a huge bathtub and were really happy. Our room had fun window seats where we could curl up with a book and relax. Only two complaints are 1) the breakfast was not as good as we had experienced at the other Viennese hotel we had stayed at. The fruit tasted like it came out of a can and there wasn't much to choose from if you didn't want meat/cheese. and 2) we walked up to the bar to order a drink and the bartender kept us waiting several minutes while making small talk with some other guests. He saw us standing there and continuted chatting away without any intention of coming over to assist us. I thought that was rude. Otherwise a great hotel and we would definitely return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgelbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear guests from Dublin,

thank you very much for staying with us recently and your review.

Indeed, room n°3, dedicated to the Markowitsch winery, is also one of my favourites and the reading lounge infront of the windows was one of my ideas on a lazy Sunday afternoon... :)!

Regarding your two little complaints: I GUARANTEE that every single piece of fruit is hand-cut by our staff. The nightporter starts around 3 a.m. to prepare the fruits for the next day. As you can imagine it is quite a lot of work to do to prepare about ten different bowls of fruit every day for about 60 breakfasts we have on average. To use tin fruit would be easier, but this is an absolutely no-go for us! Also our cakes are homemade and most of our approx. 100 items we have on the buffet each morning are organic. I know that some other (mostly bigger) hotels have also "live cooking stations" etc, bur our little hotel simply doesn´t have to place for that.

I am more than sorry you had to wait in the evening for your drink. Although I do not really know about the situation between our staff and other guests, I can only imagine they were interested in wine and needed more explanations and our staff is always willing and enthusiastic to share our knowledge about Austrian wine. But I absolutely agree it would have been more sensitive to stop talking for a while, caring for your needs and then to return to the other guests.

Thank you for letting me know that, I will certainly discuss this with our bar staff.

We shall be more than glad to welcoming you resp. other guests from wonderful Ireland in the near future.

Sunny regards from Vienna,

Conrad Schröpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First time in Vienna and staying at the Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design was part of the pleasure. Lovely hotel, spacious rooms, comfy beds and pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Extensive breakfast options and late bar. This would the place I would come back to when next in Vienna without a doubt :D

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmJay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, primarily because of the excellent service but also the excellent choice of property location and local amenities.
We came to stay for four nights but extended to eight. We didn't want to leave, we were enjoying our stay in Vienna too much.
The hotel is located in a residential part of Vienna (8th district) so all of the amenities like restaurants, hairdressers, supermarkets, etc are geared and priced for locals, not tourists. The hotel made a point of supporting the local small businesses too.
The local eateries were cheap, superb and varied. Service was excellent everywhere.
Best of all we could walk to all the sights in the 1st district or get to the underground and tram in minutes.
My wife particularly enjoyed a glass of excellent local wine in the late afternoon after returning from hiking around the galleries and museums.
Thank you for an enjoyable stay. If and when we return to Vienna we will come and stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great hotel and great staff. Bed not the most comfortable but, I have a bad back. Afternoon checkout we had an hour before we had to leave for the train station so we went in the comfortable/stylish bar area and had a glass of wine. Upon leaving asking for the check the woman behind the front desk said it was on the house because it was our last day. Breakfast really delicious, Vienesse pastries!! Great wine selection but, what do you expect. Would definitely go back to this convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reginastocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria123
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. The room was spacious, well designed and very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They recommended sights to see, restaurants and the wonderful Mozart/Strauss concert (this was only minutes away from the hotel). Wonderful 4 nights stay in Vienna. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Hard to give a tip as all rooms have been designed and apparently are all very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevellerCumbria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 360 in Vienna
2,223 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
841 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Property: Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing