We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #9 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had an excellent stay in this unique hotel. Our room was spacious, updated, clean, air conditioned and so comfortable. We had a large bed and a full/queen(?) pull out bed for our daughter. Large room so not crowded. The staff very accommodating. The desk and wine bar open 24 hours. Wine bar is fabulous with great food as well. The 24 hour operation is helpful when you arrive late and need a bite to eat and again when you are leaving at 4 in the morning to catch an early flight. If you don't want the breakfast, there are cafes near by. Great location for exploring Vienna. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsport61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    209
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
189
683
68
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent three nights in this hotel and had a very enjoyable stay. From the moment we arrived we experienced a very warm welcome from all the staff who were charming. We arrived before lunch and the rooms were not ready but the hotel was happy to store our luggage so we could start to explore the city. It is located about 6 or 7 minutes walk from the tube network which gives you access to the whole of the city. A 15 minute walk will take you to the museum area.

The road this hotel is on was very quite with little passing traffic. The rooms are modern and well furnished and the 'wine' theme of the hotel continues throughout the rooms. Furniture is modern and the shower (wet room) is terrific. TV provided aver 40 channels but only two English (BBC world news and CNN). Never mind, we were not there to watch TV!.

The beds are two singles pushed together single mattresses and two duvet covers. Not ideal but that is personal taste. My only complaint about the bedroom is that the towels are rubbish. Very thin and hard. Changed every day but very poor quality. The room also provided slippers and dressing gown and complimentary drinking water, albeit straight from the tap and put into a carafe.

A very good selection of breakfast foods was available but if you go for the full buffet it is quite expensive at 18e per person. We settled for the continental which included fruit, cereal and fresh roles. The cakes were also wonderful and I recommend the cheesecake.

The bar stocked a very comprehensive wine selection and the connoisseur would have a field day. I stuck to the red Syrah which was superb.

We really enjoyed our stay in Vienna and this hotel was a major contributing factor. Would recommend.

Room Tip: There are no nice views from this hotel so don't worry to much about room selection. In some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alancohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed for two nights in July. First of, the staff could not have been friendlier our more accommodating. We arrived at 8 a.m. so our room wasn't ready but we were able to shower in a room and freshen up. We requested a room with a tub in the bedroom (from above on TA). We got the tub at no extra cost. While it takes away from space within the room, it was great to be able to take a relaxing bath after sightseeing each day. The hotel staff made great restaurant recommendations and they even had train tickets to sell. Finally, the wine selection was fantastic! Thank you, Conrad.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelF1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed recently with my husband and son, we reserved here because of the excellent reviews in the 4 star category. VERY BAD CHOICE (especially considering the Hilton was the same price including breakfast). The main points were:
1) No parking on site, no valet. This would not be SO bad if at least there was a door man to help with luggage.
2) There is no one at the door to assist you with your luggage!! So you have to drive around the block looking for a spot and carry your luggage all the way back, or double park, run it UP STAIRS (no elevator on main level). I am not sure how a hotel obtains 4 stars without this basic door man service.
3) Breakfast is an additional 18 Euro, but it is only bread, cereal, yogurt and fruit (and coffee) - no hot dishes offered at all. This is a total rip off.
4) We were only there 1 night, so checking out the next day - YET ROOM SERVICE KNOCKED AT 8;30am, waking up my son when they entered the room (we did not hear them knock). WHY WOULD THEY COME TO SERVICE A ROOM YOU ARE CHECKING OUT OF??
5) The room was very oddly set up and not convenient at all, the toilet was on one side of the room and the sink on another. The area where the sink and shower were are completely open, no door, no nothing.
6)The staff was less than welcoming both at night when we checked in and when we checked out. Not rude, but certainly not winning any type of award for friendliness. (even the reply of the manager to other posts on here is amazing. No apology, only defense. Not a 4 star attitude. That alone should keep people away)
7) Lastly, it is not a great area of town, there are MUCH better locations for lesser or same price.
In conclusion, it is a waste of money (unless you go for dinner at the wine bar - that is all it is good for). I would never stay there again, and certainly do not recommend it, especially for families.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_L_M_S2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guests from Dubai,

normally I start my responses with a "thank you for staying" with us, even then when the responses include some criticism or a guest was not satisfied. Those responses are always helpful. BUT: to write two almost similar responses with two different "psydonyms" is unfair and can only have the aim to demage the reputation of a business.

Again, I am always open to constructive criticism...!

Obviously the only thing you had in mind is to spread your disappointment about - whatever it was - to the whole world. And in order to hit us twice you did it two times.

I won´t waste my time to respond to your detailed descriptions.

I am sorry we were not the right hotel for you and I hope the readers of TA-reviews put their trust in many other positive or at least constructive reviews we got from more than 600 guests who enjoyed their stay with us.

You are, however, more than welcome to send me an email and I shall be glad to respond personally.

Nevertheless I wish you all the best for you and your family.

Conrad Schröpel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a perfect stay in vienna
This is the place
Hotel ultra modern with spacoius rooms
Sevice is unbelievably good and nothing is too much trouble
Great beakfast and location make this a must hotel and good vslue
For value i. A great city we recomend this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank howardgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The service we received in this hotel was more than you'll receive in a five star hotels. They're genuine service is what makes them unbeatable! Not to mention their nicely designed spacious rooms, very comfortable beds, generous toiletries, lovely healthy breakfast and quiet neighborhood made our Vienna holiday very memorable and wonderful. Definitely coming back to this hotel.

By the way, they also have a "wash & go" room for guests who checked out but needed refreshing in the afternoon/night - Wonderful!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with inside view, you dont need view in this hotel, you need a quiet side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheaWindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is an unusual hotel located near the City Hall offering a fine selection of wines 24 hours a day! Service is friendly and excellent! It is located in a quiet residential area with convenient access to high quality local restaurants. Within easy walking distance to the Hofburg, Kunst Historisches Museum, Heidenplatz, and even shopping along Mariahilfe Strasse. The annual Rathaus Food and Film Festival provides a wide range of entertainment options each night (during the summer months).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Property: Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing