We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Renaissance Wien Hotel(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Vienna(Vienna)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveller rating
1,099
230
32
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,099
230
32
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaustrian wineswine loversthemed hotelquiet streetmuseum quarterminute walkrain showergreat boutiquecity hallroom was spaciouswalk in showerthree nightsfantastic hotelhighly recommend this hotelloved this hotelchristmas marketspent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

When we tried to check in reception had our dates wrong, but the Manager handled the situation quickly and professionally and ensured we were well looked after (and compensated) for the rest of out stay. Service was great and rooms modern and comfortable. Location was also ideal for museum district and walk into old town (15 mins). I've seen the prior comments about apparent "rudeness" of staff and think maybe this may be just a cultural thing - the staff were great to us and very helpful (in that direct Austrian way :-) )

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MelbaTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guests from Melbourne,

thank you very much for your stay with us and thank you for your response.

Thank you also for giving us the opportunity to balance out the little mistake regarding your arrival date. Yes, there are still people involved here who might make a mistake when booking in a room.... :) but everybody here is also more than pleased to assist before, during and after our guests´ stay. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the friendlyness of our staff, I hope most of our valued TA-readers will agree, unless another guest felt free enough to write two negative responses regarding our understanding of service. No hard feelings!

Best regards to downunder,

Conrad Schröpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had an excellent stay in this unique hotel. Our room was spacious, updated, clean, air conditioned and so comfortable. We had a large bed and a full/queen(?) pull out bed for our daughter. Large room so not crowded. The staff very accommodating. The desk and wine bar open 24 hours. Wine bar is fabulous with great food as well. The 24 hour operation is helpful when you arrive late and need a bite to eat and again when you are leaving at 4 in the morning to catch an early flight. If you don't want the breakfast, there are cafes near by. Great location for exploring Vienna. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelsport61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent three nights in this hotel and had a very enjoyable stay. From the moment we arrived we experienced a very warm welcome from all the staff who were charming. We arrived before lunch and the rooms were not ready but the hotel was happy to store our luggage so we could start to explore the city. It is located about 6 or 7 minutes walk from the tube network which gives you access to the whole of the city. A 15 minute walk will take you to the museum area.

The road this hotel is on was very quite with little passing traffic. The rooms are modern and well furnished and the 'wine' theme of the hotel continues throughout the rooms. Furniture is modern and the shower (wet room) is terrific. TV provided aver 40 channels but only two English (BBC world news and CNN). Never mind, we were not there to watch TV!.

The beds are two singles pushed together single mattresses and two duvet covers. Not ideal but that is personal taste. My only complaint about the bedroom is that the towels are rubbish. Very thin and hard. Changed every day but very poor quality. The room also provided slippers and dressing gown and complimentary drinking water, albeit straight from the tap and put into a carafe.

A very good selection of breakfast foods was available but if you go for the full buffet it is quite expensive at 18e per person. We settled for the continental which included fruit, cereal and fresh roles. The cakes were also wonderful and I recommend the cheesecake.

The bar stocked a very comprehensive wine selection and the connoisseur would have a field day. I stuck to the red Syrah which was superb.

We really enjoyed our stay in Vienna and this hotel was a major contributing factor. Would recommend.

Room Tip: There are no nice views from this hotel so don't worry to much about room selection. In some of the rooms the toilet is the other side of the bedroom to the washing facilities. Not the case in 307
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alancohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed for two nights in July. First of, the staff could not have been friendlier our more accommodating. We arrived at 8 a.m. so our room wasn't ready but we were able to shower in a room and freshen up. We requested a room with a tub in the bedroom (from above on TA). We got the tub at no extra cost. While it takes away from space within the room, it was great to be able to take a relaxing bath after sightseeing each day. The hotel staff made great restaurant recommendations and they even had train tickets to sell. Finally, the wine selection was fantastic! Thank you, Conrad.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelF1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed recently with my husband and son, we reserved here because of the excellent reviews in the 4 star category. VERY BAD CHOICE (especially considering the Hilton was the same price including breakfast). The main points were:
1) No parking on site, no valet. This would not be SO bad if at least there was a door man to help with luggage.
2) There is no one at the door to assist you with your luggage!! So you have to drive around the block looking for a spot and carry your luggage all the way back, or double park, run it UP STAIRS (no elevator on main level). I am not sure how a hotel obtains 4 stars without this basic door man service.
3) Breakfast is an additional 18 Euro, but it is only bread, cereal, yogurt and fruit (and coffee) - no hot dishes offered at all. This is a total rip off.
4) We were only there 1 night, so checking out the next day - YET ROOM SERVICE KNOCKED AT 8;30am, waking up my son when they entered the room (we did not hear them knock). WHY WOULD THEY COME TO SERVICE A ROOM YOU ARE CHECKING OUT OF??
5) The room was very oddly set up and not convenient at all, the toilet was on one side of the room and the sink on another. The area where the sink and shower were are completely open, no door, no nothing.
6)The staff was less than welcoming both at night when we checked in and when we checked out. Not rude, but certainly not winning any type of award for friendliness. (even the reply of the manager to other posts on here is amazing. No apology, only defense. Not a 4 star attitude. That alone should keep people away)
7) Lastly, it is not a great area of town, there are MUCH better locations for lesser or same price.
In conclusion, it is a waste of money (unless you go for dinner at the wine bar - that is all it is good for). I would never stay there again, and certainly do not recommend it, especially for families.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_L_M_S2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guests from Dubai,

normally I start my responses with a "thank you for staying" with us, even then when the responses include some criticism or a guest was not satisfied. Those responses are always helpful. BUT: to write two almost similar responses with two different "psydonyms" is unfair and can only have the aim to demage the reputation of a business.

Again, I am always open to constructive criticism...!

Obviously the only thing you had in mind is to spread your disappointment about - whatever it was - to the whole world. And in order to hit us twice you did it two times.

I won´t waste my time to respond to your detailed descriptions.

I am sorry we were not the right hotel for you and I hope the readers of TA-reviews put their trust in many other positive or at least constructive reviews we got from more than 600 guests who enjoyed their stay with us.

You are, however, more than welcome to send me an email and I shall be glad to respond personally.

Nevertheless I wish you all the best for you and your family.

Conrad Schröpel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews