We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Wine Themed Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #8 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Modern Wine Themed Hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located away from the tourist areas, but within 10 minutes' walking distance to the national museums area. Our room was spacious with a high ceiling and had modern furniture and fixtures. In our opinion the toilet was separated a little too far from the wash basin in our room (303). The bathroom fan can get quite loud and annoying. There is no fitness center on-site. Each room in the hotel is named after a local wine. Instead of drinking the wine provided in the hotel room, we were able to find and buy a bottle of wine from the same winery at a local market at a fraction of the what the hotel charges. Complimentary coffee/tea drinks are delivered upon request. An extra star for the laundry service of 12€ per wash/dry/fold load (ironing is extra), which is an absolute steal compared to what we have paid in other hotels. The breakfast buffet (18€ per person) was nice. The staff members were polite enough, but not as approachable as we would have liked.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alviemsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guests from San Jose,

thank you for your recent stay with us and also for taking your time to write a review on TA.

Good to know you had an overall good impression of our hotel. I hope you can understand that prices in our minibar and our winelounge are higher than if you buy the wine in the supermarket on the street, whereas I doubt it was the same wine as in our hotel, because we have the premium wines here and the Hillinger winerey (the patrons of your room 303) have also a supermarket-line..., but anyway, as long as you had an enjoyable stay, everything is fine! Regarding gym: we do not simply have the space here for that, our hotel is too small! But for all gym lovers: there is a very professional gym just a 6-7 minutes walk away from the hotel, named John Harris. We will give you the guidance how to get there. For all other sport lovers: run along the Ring and through the city parks, then have a refreshing shower and enjoy our oppulent buffet breakfast :)!

Cordially,

Conrad Schröpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    215
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
195
701
71
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This boutique hotel provided us with a memorable 4 nights in Vienna. Our room was wonderful although the open plan bathroom (not toilet!) was a little different. The staff were exceptional. We especially liked the effort they made to recommend restaurants and make bookings for us (incidentally all top choices - the food generally in Vienna was a stand out albeit not that cheap). Unlike CarrieSue802's review, our room was air conditioned very effectively. We walked everywhere in Vienna from the Hotel except the Schonbrunn Palace when we took the train with tickets purchased conveniently from the hotel's reception.

But mostly this was a fun place to stay - just enough quirkiness, just enough luxury. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As the rooms are named after Austrian winemakers, select a favourite before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is a delightful experience. Every detail has been considered in the design of the hotel and the staff were friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The location is an easy ten minute walk to major attractions. The courtyard area is a lovely outdoor space. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is named after a local wine maker. Ours was Huber and looked out over an internal space. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I would not call this a luxury hotel; however, it is a nice hotel & I would stay again. Pros: decent priced room service, location, cleanliness, friendliness of staff. Cons: no coffee maker in room (also a pro at times-they will deliver coffee/tea to you at no charge....however one time they were busy and I had to go down to the reception area to get my liquid life), shower door is frosted but you can still see through-this can be an issue when traveling with a teen), and initial (interior) stairs to get baggage up. I will stay here again if I return to Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The outstanding feature of this superb hotel are the staff. They are unfailingly helpful, polite, friendly and professional. We arrived by car from Slovenia and were very tired but the staff arranged for secure, close by car parking and gave us such a friendly welcome we felt at home instantly. Although they do not have a restaurant, food and drink (exquisite local wines) are always available ( the pesto and gnocchi is very good). Cleanliness is first rate. Rooms are large and decorated tastefully.

The only slight fault is the breakfast! Although the quality is excellent and the breadth of choice large it is at times a little disorganised. The breakfasts are charged extra, and there are various levels to choose from. However nobody explains what is available (cooked eggs for example) or checks your room number.

Room Tip: Room 405 superb wet room Italian shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

When we tried to check in reception had our dates wrong, but the Manager handled the situation quickly and professionally and ensured we were well looked after (and compensated) for the rest of out stay. Service was great and rooms modern and comfortable. Location was also ideal for museum district and walk into old town (15 mins). I've seen the prior comments about apparent "rudeness" of staff and think maybe this may be just a cultural thing - the staff were great to us and very helpful (in that direct Austrian way :-) )

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MelbaTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guests from Melbourne,

thank you very much for your stay with us and thank you for your response.

Thank you also for giving us the opportunity to balance out the little mistake regarding your arrival date. Yes, there are still people involved here who might make a mistake when booking in a room.... :) but everybody here is also more than pleased to assist before, during and after our guests´ stay. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the friendlyness of our staff, I hope most of our valued TA-readers will agree, unless another guest felt free enough to write two negative responses regarding our understanding of service. No hard feelings!

Best regards to downunder,

Conrad Schröpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had an excellent stay in this unique hotel. Our room was spacious, updated, clean, air conditioned and so comfortable. We had a large bed and a full/queen(?) pull out bed for our daughter. Large room so not crowded. The staff very accommodating. The desk and wine bar open 24 hours. Wine bar is fabulous with great food as well. The 24 hour operation is helpful when you arrive late and need a bite to eat and again when you are leaving at 4 in the morning to catch an early flight. If you don't want the breakfast, there are cafes near by. Great location for exploring Vienna. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsport61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#7 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Property: Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing