We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #6 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We certainly would recommend this hotel. Great staff, reasonable price, good housekeeping, quiet location...The staff will readily deliver coffee to room if you call for it but seeing how busy they were, we were hesitant to call so end up having coffee outside. Perhaps have coffee making facilities in room?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear guests from Australia!

Thank you very much for staying with us and to share your experiences with the TA-community.

I am happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the coffee (outside), too... :)! But why to hesitate to call for coffee delivered to the room? Our funny mug in your room bar invites you for complimentary coffee or tea!

For all other readers, who have seen this mug yet, please check with July´s review "Quirky cool hotel..." Those guests have posted a photo!

Why we do not have coffee making facilities in the room? Because we believe in fresh brewed coffee and in service and (according to my experiences) those machines in the hotel rooms are mostly not really sexyand we are more focussed on wine. But again, coffee and tea are always available, 24 hours a day... :)!

Best regards,

Conrad Schröpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel where the emphasis is on "less is more". Each room is completely individualisticly designed. Lightweight bistro serving excellent foods matching the wines.Wine bar Open 24 hours. Comfort level of the highest degree. Only hotel I will use in Vienna. Looking to try out their other hotel in Salzburg.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HanZiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guests from Eching / Germany!

Now you have told others about us and we are not a secret location anymore... :)!

Thank you very much for sharing your good impressions with the TA community. I hope you will enjoy your stay in our Hotel Rosvenvilla in Salzburg, too.

Best regards from sunny Vienna,


Conrad Schröpel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is located just outside the central area. You can walk in 20 minutes or less to most of the central museums, shopping streets, parks and so on. Volkstheater underground station is about 500m away.

Efficient, friendly reception.

I'm teetotal so the wine theme of the hotel did nothing for me, but it was not overwhelming either.

My room was very large. Modern decor. Lots of open-fronted storage. Safe, minibar. Very quiet - my room looked onto a light well and I heard no noise from outside or inside. Large window. Window blind was opaque but morning light came in round the edges. Pleasantly lit (though not that good for reading). Washing area in an alcove, separate shower room (with effective rain shower) and WC. OK toiletries (liquid soap, shower gel/shampoo, moisturiser), decent towels and dressing gown. Clean.

Breakfast served in quiet, light, airy room, cheerful staff, with the possibility of sitting outside in a light well. Two grades: a Wiener breakfast for €12 gave cereals, fruit, bread and jam, cake - all well presented and high quality; a full buffet for €18 also gave cheese and cooked eggs.

I'd stay again - after checking that the places I wanted to see would be in easy walking distance or need an underground journey anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Honestly, I was a bit hesitant to book this hotel because the price seemed too reasonable. So glad I did and here are the reasons why:

Location: Perfectly located on a quiet side street and yet only a 5-10 minute walk to major sights. We were there in August 2014 so there was a musical festival going on with great spots to eat for a quick bite. We walked everywhere from our hotel.

Service: We stayed there for 4 nights and received 4 excellent restaurant recommendations. Our family of four, to include a 14 & 16 year old, are very picky eaters as we only like fine dining at a reasonable price. Each restaurant selected matched our needs perfectly.

Room: These rooms were the largest we have had in Europe and this is our 7th country we have visited. The shower was amazing and loved the robes and slippers provided.

By far one of our favorite hotels. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sailsfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guests from Newport Beach, and also all other unnamed TA followers!

Summer season is getting to its end. During July and August the hotel has been fully booked almost every day. We had so many nice guests from all over the world and would like to thank all of you for choosing our little boutique hotel and also thank you to all of you, who have taken their time to write a review on TA.

If you, dear friends from Newport Beach, say "you must stay here" then it is not on us to say anything different :)! Everybody who prefers to enjoy the personal atmosphere in a private run boutique hotel is more than welcome to stay and we assure you our utmost attention for a perfect stay and will always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Cordially,

Conrad Schröpel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is located away from the tourist areas, but within 10 minutes' walking distance to the national museums area. Our room was spacious with a high ceiling and had modern furniture and fixtures. In our opinion the toilet was separated a little too far from the wash basin in our room (303). The bathroom fan can get quite loud and annoying. There is no fitness center on-site. Each room in the hotel is named after a local wine. Instead of drinking the wine provided in the hotel room, we were able to find and buy a bottle of wine from the same winery at a local market at a fraction of the what the hotel charges. Complimentary coffee/tea drinks are delivered upon request. An extra star for the laundry service of 12€ per wash/dry/fold load (ironing is extra), which is an absolute steal compared to what we have paid in other hotels. The breakfast buffet (18€ per person) was nice. The staff members were polite enough, but not as approachable as we would have liked.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alviemsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guests from San Jose,

thank you for your recent stay with us and also for taking your time to write a review on TA.

Good to know you had an overall good impression of our hotel. I hope you can understand that prices in our minibar and our winelounge are higher than if you buy the wine in the supermarket on the street, whereas I doubt it was the same wine as in our hotel, because we have the premium wines here and the Hillinger winerey (the patrons of your room 303) have also a supermarket-line..., but anyway, as long as you had an enjoyable stay, everything is fine! Regarding gym: we do not simply have the space here for that, our hotel is too small! But for all gym lovers: there is a very professional gym just a 6-7 minutes walk away from the hotel, named John Harris. We will give you the guidance how to get there. For all other sport lovers: run along the Ring and through the city parks, then have a refreshing shower and enjoy our oppulent buffet breakfast :)!

Cordially,

Conrad Schröpel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This boutique hotel provided us with a memorable 4 nights in Vienna. Our room was wonderful although the open plan bathroom (not toilet!) was a little different. The staff were exceptional. We especially liked the effort they made to recommend restaurants and make bookings for us (incidentally all top choices - the food generally in Vienna was a stand out albeit not that cheap). Unlike CarrieSue802's review, our room was air conditioned very effectively. We walked everywhere in Vienna from the Hotel except the Schonbrunn Palace when we took the train with tickets purchased conveniently from the hotel's reception.

But mostly this was a fun place to stay - just enough quirkiness, just enough luxury. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As the rooms are named after Austrian winemakers, select a favourite before booking!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is a delightful experience. Every detail has been considered in the design of the hotel and the staff were friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The location is an easy ten minute walk to major attractions. The courtyard area is a lovely outdoor space. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is named after a local wine maker. Ours was Huber and looked out over an internal space. I...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Merrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,371 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,088 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £108 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing