We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #7 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Style & Service”
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We just returned from a wonderful staying in this stylish hotel! Indeed, it was not only the particular style of the design but also the professional friendly service of all the personnel (my son even received a big chocolate from the St. Nikolas...) but also the spacious, very well decorated & cleverly organized rooms and the more than full of home made choices breakfast.

Only one disantvantage: We stayed only for one night, but I promise myself that very soon I will return!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StefPap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    216
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
205
715
72
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2008

My husband and I visited Vienna for 3 days in November and enjoyed our stay at the Rathaus. This is a hip, stylish boutique hotel located out of the city center but very close to the U-bahn and an easy and enjoyable walk into the city center. We stayed on the second floor in the Kloster Am Spitz room. Our room was extremely clean, large and very comfortable. The beds were great, the walk-in shower was the best, I loved the design of our sink, parquet flooring, big windows facing the front, floor to ceiling window coverings, high ceilings and a mini fridge containing wine of our wine maker whom the room is dedicated to.
Check-in was very smooth, the woman (unfortunately I did not get her name) was very helpful in recommending nearby restaurants, organizing U-bahn tickets as well as any of our questions we had. Breakfast was plentiful and served in the breakfast room/wine bar with white, high-back leather banquet seating and chairs, clean-lined wood tables and parquet flooring (very fresh and minimalistic style).
I really enjoyed our stay here and would return no doubt to the Rathaus Hotel.

  • Liked — Walk-in shower
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank esbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We have just left the Hotel Rathaus Wein and Design after a wonderful four night stay. The accommodation was excellent, the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful and the atmosphere chic. The breakfast was unbelievable and needs to be experienced as a once in a lifetime event. We would return tomorrow - if only we could. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

I stayed at hotel Rathaus for a week. Staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is amazing: The wine list provides a choice of half bottles to help tasting of excellent Austrian wines. The hotel well exceeded my expectations and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Design
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NLBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Travelling back to the UAE from Croatia, my friend and I decided to spend a night in Vienna. Based on T.A. reviews, I booked at the Rathaus Wine and Design .... hey anything that deals with wine makes me happy. The cab dropped us off and as I hauled my bag up a flight of stairs to reception my heart sank .. what on earth had I gotten us into?! Reception however was warm and friendly.

We had planned to share a room but upon discovering that no twin beds are available (and that our room had a big glass "romance-me" shower at it's heart) we decided to get a second room.

We were prepared to pay two rates but reception gave us a special deal for both - we were most pleasantly surprised!!

That evening we dined at the bar and the meal was a total highlight - Charming CONRAD led us through a generous wine tasting accompanied by delightful tapas. I probably would have retained more of Conrad's teachings about Austrian wine had I not gone for that final glass of tempting pinot.

The breakfast buffet - which is stellar - was served the next morning in the same room, or we could eat in the darling courtyard if we prefered.
All in all, the hotel well exceeded my expectations and I would not hesitate to stay here again (esp if travelling with my husband!)

  • Liked — Excellent service and food
  • Disliked — The walk to reception - it doesn't reflect what's in store for you at the hotel!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank McMaster4004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Every room is designed or themed by a vineyard. Not only a very nice concept - it is executed excellentlyl. Great interior architecture that doesn't only look great but is also very functional, makes you feel at home, and helps you to relax after a long day in the city.

Talking about the city: the 10 min walk from the hotel to the inner city is very picturesque and you will pass several sights (city hall, some museums, and the generally beautiful architecture of Vienna) on the way.

And finally: every interaction we had with staff (from management to maid) was very pleasant and friendly

  • Liked — Location, style, friendlyness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rupi3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights at end of August and absolutely adored the room, the staff , the location and the awesome breakfast. We were a little early to check in but Martina found as a lovely double room with funky design and nice touches. In fact, Martina was a joy at every time we needed her. Breakfast choice superb, wine selection in the evenings a joy. The location may look a little out of it on a map but is only 10 mins walk from main part of city and very peaceful consiering how close it is. You will love it.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — small lift
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 360 in Vienna
2,286 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,440 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 360 in Vienna
1,074 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#5 of 360 in Vienna
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Property: Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing