We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The coolest hotel I've been to!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #6 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The coolest hotel I've been to!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

It's all-location,price and quality! Plus its own special style,everything design and wine! Excellent service as well. No dining options,but tapas,antipasti available with your 24h wine bar(and mini-bar). 10min walk from Museum Quartier. Cool,cool,cool!

Stayed September 2014
Helpful?
Thank kkatriina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    217
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
205
717
72
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The Hotel Rathaus is a lovely small hotel a 10-20 minute walk from the Museum Quartier and the Hofburg Palace in Vienna's inner city. The rooms are very spacious for a European city, all named after local vineyards and uniquely furnished. The staff was extremely helpful including recommending airport transportation and restaurants. It is also very close to an Underground train station and a surface tram stop, both easy ways to get around Vienna. Breakfast was excellent but a bit pricey. However, if just coffee or tea are enough to get you started, the staff will deliver it to your room for free every day (no coffee/tea available in the rooms). Each room does have a mini-bar and wines that care for sale. Would definitely stay at the this hotel again. And the price was very reasonable again for a big city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redjack16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Were here for six days. Excellent little hotel. Just a few streets away from the Rathaus, of course, and about 10 to 15 minutes of a walk from the Palace, museums, and other sights. Service is also fantastic. The front desk were helpful to set up day trips or with directions/cabs/suggestions etc. We had a family room, which was large enough for 2 adults + an energetic 2 year old. Very trendy, modern design. Lovely breakfast buffet (even if a bit expensive). All in all a great stay and I wish I could go back!!

Room Tip: They have some family rooms, which are excellent for a small family to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Just sat in the airport on the way home from a few days in Vienna. Had three nights at this hotel, and I thought it was excellent... The staff are undoubtedly the highlight, very friendly, knowledgeable, and nothing seemed a bother. The room was superb, wonderful en suite, super comfy bed, and huge in all dimensions! Located just behind the parliament building, it's in one of the quieter areas of the centre, but right in the centre never the less. It's certainly boutique in nature, a great breakfast selection, but they don't do evening dinner (so many fine places to pick from within 20 min walk anyway) I would certainly stay again...

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Tezza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We certainly would recommend this hotel. Great staff, reasonable price, good housekeeping, quiet location...The staff will readily deliver coffee to room if you call for it but seeing how busy they were, we were hesitant to call so end up having coffee outside. Perhaps have coffee making facilities in room?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guests from Australia!

Thank you very much for staying with us and to share your experiences with the TA-community.

I am happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the coffee (outside), too... :)! But why to hesitate to call for coffee delivered to the room? Our funny mug in your room bar invites you for complimentary coffee or tea!

For all other readers, who have seen this mug yet, please check with July´s review "Quirky cool hotel..." Those guests have posted a photo!

Why we do not have coffee making facilities in the room? Because we believe in fresh brewed coffee and in service and (according to my experiences) those machines in the hotel rooms are mostly not really sexyand we are more focussed on wine. But again, coffee and tea are always available, 24 hours a day... :)!

Best regards,

Conrad Schröpel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eching, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel where the emphasis is on "less is more". Each room is completely individualisticly designed. Lightweight bistro serving excellent foods matching the wines.Wine bar Open 24 hours. Comfort level of the highest degree. Only hotel I will use in Vienna. Looking to try out their other hotel in Salzburg.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HanZiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oderwitz, Manager at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guests from Eching / Germany!

Now you have told others about us and we are not a secret location anymore... :)!

Thank you very much for sharing your good impressions with the TA community. I hope you will enjoy your stay in our Hotel Rosvenvilla in Salzburg, too.

Best regards from sunny Vienna,


Conrad Schröpel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (England)
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is located just outside the central area. You can walk in 20 minutes or less to most of the central museums, shopping streets, parks and so on. Volkstheater underground station is about 500m away.

Efficient, friendly reception.

I'm teetotal so the wine theme of the hotel did nothing for me, but it was not overwhelming either.

My room was very large. Modern decor. Lots of open-fronted storage. Safe, minibar. Very quiet - my room looked onto a light well and I heard no noise from outside or inside. Large window. Window blind was opaque but morning light came in round the edges. Pleasantly lit (though not that good for reading). Washing area in an alcove, separate shower room (with effective rain shower) and WC. OK toiletries (liquid soap, shower gel/shampoo, moisturiser), decent towels and dressing gown. Clean.

Breakfast served in quiet, light, airy room, cheerful staff, with the possibility of sitting outside in a light well. Two grades: a Wiener breakfast for €12 gave cereals, fruit, bread and jam, cake - all well presented and high quality; a full buffet for €18 also gave cheese and cooked eggs.

I'd stay again - after checking that the places I wanted to see would be in easy walking distance or need an underground journey anyway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,306 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
866 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Property: Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing