We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Ranked #7 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Stayed for one night. The hotel arranged our transport from and to the airport, and confirmed late checkout. Service at the front desk was very helpful, and breakfast was amazing. Room appeared a bit stark at first, but proved to be large, airy, and the bed surprisingly comfortable. The price was more than reasonable, so altogether a very good city hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HYNDOsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

I read a review that said staying at the Rathaus was like staying at a friends apartment and I would agree. The hotel as a lot of design features and everything about it was great. We really enjoyed our stay here, walking distance to all of the major sights, food was amazing rooms are like apartments every detail was exceptional. We stayed over NYE and had a ball, lots to see and do the staff are very helpful and pleasant start to finish.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fellowtraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Best place for Vienna visitors and wine lovers.
NO SMOKING hotel.
Very professional and kind frontdesk (Ms.Anja)
Spacious, well designed and equipped rooms.
Breakfast was always a pleasure for us there.
Wi-Fi have been stable and fast enough.
Some flaws unfortunately are present there:
Old fashioned heating/air conditioning system doesn't allow get comfortable temperature at all time.
Cleaning ladies missed some spots, things to do.
Steps at entrance just killing when you in/out with bulky luggage and there is no bell boy there.
Otherwise, this is gorgeous hotel in heart of beautiful Vienna.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexanderGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Very nice boutique hotel, in central location, with excellent service and staff. Reasonably priced, comfortable, clean and great breakfast. Expert wine recommendations - a lovely touch

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanagogo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

A lovely hotel nicely situated in Vienna. Being a first-time visitor in Vienna it was nice to have walking distance to pram and underground, and also a short walk away from maybe the biggest Christmas market in town - The Christkindle markt in front of the Rathaus (town hall). The hotel room we stayed in was big and nicely decorated. The only thing we missed was a small sink in the toilet and a bath tub. Nevertheless the shower was amazing :) The hotel has a wonderful breakfast with a huge selection of food. One is also given the choice to order eggs anyway you like it. The hotel has its own bar with the oportunity to arrange a wine tasting with Austrian wine. We tried that, and it was very lovely. Together with the wine tasting they served anti pastis and a cheese platter. The same thing can be ordered for anyone coming to the bar. The hotel staff was verykind, helpful and accomodating, and the helped us with whatever question/request we had :) The hotel has no elevator from the ground floor and uo to the 1st floor where the reception area is located, but from there and up there was one. A few tips at the end: Be sure to book a table at the Bernhauers restaurant in Pfeilgasse 2 (3 min walk from the hotel) - gourmet food for a very nice price. I celebrated my birthday there and was treated like royalty! Vienna has many Christmas markets aroung town, and even though the one in front of the Rathaus is the most known one and well worth visiting, we enjoyed the slower paces in the markets located in Shönebrunn schlosspark, Karlsplatz and Spittelberggasse. Vienna is a great town , and I am definately going back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akling80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

My husband and I travel plans had changed immensely throughout our travels, and I was lucky enough to find this wonderful hotel in Vienna.

Conrad the Operations Manager was a delight on all levels. We first exchanged emails to actual make our hotel reservations, and I knew that he wants to give the best service possible to all of his potential customers.

The hotel itself just sparkles from the beautiful design of the hotel. We were very fortunate to stay both nights, in the gorgeous suite. It was like living in a very classy loft with all the amenities you could possibly imagine. There is no need to stay at corporate hotels in Vienna. Your first and only stop should be at Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design Wien.

The staff was so helpful and nice that you feel the warmth of the hospitality the entire visit. The collection of wines that they offer are the best any country can offer. My husband and I had already been on the road for almost a month by the time that we got there, and we were exhausted. But we felt right at home with the beautiful layout of the room, and we hardly wanted to leave our hotel room.

One thing to mention for any traveling from the US to Vienna, is that you have to have a certain chip in your ATM card to use the machines there. Lucky enough the hotel actually gave us 100 euros in cash, and just billed it to our room when we were there. But be aware to make sure you have plenty of cash on hand in Vienna. I thank the staff for understanding our plight, and helping us!

I completely recommend this hotel to everyone, I personally can't wait to go back!

Thank you so much Conrad, and Kristian!!

Best,
Elischa and Larc

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFDef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

My friends and I chose this hotel after I had reviewed trip advisor. I was not disappointed! The rooms look nothing like a hotel room and have pleanty of space. It felt like we were staying at someone's flat rather then at a hotel. The staff were extremley friendly and provided great recommendations and directions. The shower was amazing (large rain shower with great water pressure), however one warning for the room we stayed in: the glass shower door faces the room so there isn't any privacy. The bread in the afternoon is wonderful to have with a glass of their wine and breakfast in the morning is huge! If I ever return to Vienna I will definitley not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisa_L99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,488 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,514 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 359 in Vienna
2,421 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,109 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design

Address: Lange Gasse 13, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £105 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vienna's one and only wine themed hotel is looking forward to hosting all wine lovers. All our 39 rooms are dedicated to Austrian premium winemakers and are featuring clear and state of the art design and function, enhanced with a lot of love for the details and some quirky things, too. Don't be surprised!!! You will find the wines of your partner vintner in your room and all the other wines from all the other winemakers in our wine lounge. We serve, of course, wine 24 hours a day. Our attic suite (80 sqm with private rooftop terrace) is dedicated to German vintners...! Why? Because weeeee loooove Riiiisling!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rathaus Wein And Design Wien
Hotel Rathaus Wein Design Wien
Rathaus Wein Design Wien Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing